We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to impress” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenda Rossa

Tenda Rossa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to impress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a very nice restaurant that sits in front of the sea on one side, and the road on the other. The menu is all worth trying if you love seafood. During the summer the terrace is the ideal location. Great place for a romantic dinner or business lunch. Prices adequate for the overall quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EdoardoJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    78
    30
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great views, pleasant staff, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The location of this place is amazing, along the coastal road, on a cliff above the Adriatic sea (you can only access it when driving from Devin/Duino towards Trst/Trieste). We stopped here on a winter Sunday, so the place was rather chilly. The heaters were on full blast, but I guess they should have turned them on beforehand. The staff was very nice and they all spoke English. The menu is quite short, largely fish-based, although there are also some meat dishes, and it is on both English and Italian (take note that the order of dishes in both menus are not the same). We had some seafood pasta and it was very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Slovenia-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monza
Level Contributor
133 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Location, which has amazing views of the Gulf and its proximity to the castle means this place is pricey. However we had an excellent meal and enjoyed the views. Obviously fish specialities.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Argillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“View with food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Reason to stop here is a view, nothing else. Overprized food. Also they charged us 5 euros extra, for bread that we didn't order or eat. And they didn't give that 5 euros back to us when we mention that we didn't even touch the bread. Don't go.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
273 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“80 euro dinner and still we left hungry...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

The location of this restaurant is fantastic, terrace overlooking the Trieste bay which is their main strong point. The food was OK, fresh, not bad but the portions were too small compared with the price rated for the dish (example, from 10.00 to 17.00 euro seafood starters but on the plate only few pieces; main dish 18.00 euro a small seabass). Well, I guess is just that, pay for the view!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenda Rossa also viewed

Trieste, Province of Trieste
Santa Croce, Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to Tenda Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing