We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful gardens, don't know about the schloss”

Schloss Schleissheim
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.76*
and up
Munich City Pass: Admission to 45 activities and...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We roamed the gardens one morning & they were just lovely. Enjoyed watching the many ducks & swan as well...you could tell they are frequently fed, but we couldn't oblige that morning.

We didn't visit the schloss, as it wasn't open at the time, but I"m sure it's a lovely building to visit if you have the time.

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank LookingForFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"old palace"
in 6 reviews
"aircraft museum"
in 3 reviews
"nice place to visit"
in 4 reviews
"s bahn station"
in 3 reviews
"three buildings"
in 2 reviews
"palace grounds"
in 2 reviews
"beer garden"
in 4 reviews
"sunny day"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful park"
in 2 reviews
"city centre"
in 2 reviews
"collection"
in 7 reviews
"nativity"
in 3 reviews
"emanuel"
in 2 reviews
"porcelain"
in 4 reviews
"castle"
in 9 reviews
"biergarten"
in 5 reviews
"stroll"
in 5 reviews
Filter

51 - 55 of 211 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice, relaxing, uncrowded with two beautiful palaces. I really loved walking there every evening. In the summer the park closes at 8, so plan another route if walking back!

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank alm5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We live just down the street from here so I never gave this palace much thought. Recently, we went on an excursion to all of the Munich palaces. I was surprised that this is my absolute favorite (Neues Schloss). It is often practically empty, so you feel like you own the place. It has a massive garden in the back that leads to Lustheim which houses a porcelain collection. The Altes Schloss houses a nice museum but the Neues Schloss is the real gem. The entry is also super cheap. Don't miss the big hall, staircase and gallery.

Date of experience: June 2013
2  Thank asarnoci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I found this palace outside of Munich well worth a trip. Unfortunately, I think most public transportation won't take us there. This is probably the most under-rated sight in Munich as we practically had the whole palace to ourselves where you can pretty roam around on our own. There is a grand staircase with beautiful frescoe ceilings as well as a beautiful grand room on the second floor. Other than that, there are his and hers regal apartments on each side of the palace and many, many painting collections on display, almost like a mini museum.
I think this is much more interesting than Nymphemberg Palace and the garden is more beautiful too. Fortunately, it did not get destroyed in WW2.

Date of experience: May 2013
3  Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This Palace garden was right next to where we stayed in the Chalet zum Kurfurst....in fact our Chalet was in the Schlosspark wall! We arrived in the dark the night before after a long flight to Munich Airport, so we got a wonderful surprise when we looked out our window the next morning, right into the Schlosspark itself! Right after breakfast we entered the park from the gate right next to our hotel and enjoyed a very relaxing & beautiful walk through the stunning palace gardens. This was the best start to our visit to Germany!

Date of experience: August 2012
1  Thank Ros-Ann13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schloss Schleissheim also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Schloss Schleissheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing