We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money and wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landhotel Krone

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heitersheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Landhotel Krone
Ranked #1 of 2 Heitersheim B&B and Inns
france
Level Contributor
226 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very good value for money and wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

It was the 3rd.time that we stayed in this hotel. Last time it was summer and this time midwinter!
It doesn't matter when you are staying. One of the best not far from the Swiss and the French border. Rooms very comfortable and bathroom even better! Food excellent and breakfast is "amazing". The bread was so good that we asked where to buy it! And we did in the village of Heitersheim.
A very relaxed and pleasant stay!
,

Room Tip: Rooms on the other side of the main road are maybe quieter during the summer! But not much traffic i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FranceMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    21
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
30
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
220 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We know this place many years and we came back to spend a night during our trip to Switzerland. We got a large room, renovated in the old building. Clean, big perfect bed and very quite. We had a perfect dinner with local wine, perfect food and friendly service. Breakfast great .... Service friendly. The kitchen gets better and better !!! The daugther of the old owner (still arround and friendly) and her husband are doing a great job ! We will come back ...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_and_Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
487 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had luck to get the last room in mid January. It seems that this town is a busy business centre. The room was very large and comfortable with a good sized patio on the first floor in the new wing, with the spa on the ground floor. The breakfast was terrific. Everything that one could expect from a German hotel breakfast, apart from the usual boiled eggs. The choice if hams and jams and muesli were very good.

Dinner was really good. A fine dining restaurant at not unreasonable prices. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I often stay at the Landhotel Krone for Business.
The rooms are huge, with comfortable beds and great facilities. No Wifi though unfortunately.
We often eat in the restaurant which has superb selection of evening meals on offer, all at very reasonable prices. The last time we stayed we splurged and had the 7 course menu which was fantastic.
Not advised for disabled people as there is no lift to the upstairs rooms in the main house.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband's business required him to travel to the area of Heitersheim in March of this year -and I was fortunate to be able to travel with him. We stayed at the Landhotel Krone for 2 nights, and had a great experience. We arrived in the late afternoon, tired from a long overnight flight and then a train ride from Frankfurt. We called the hotel upon our arrival to the train station (less than 10 minutes away) and they sent a car for us. A lovely young woman checked us in. We were very hungry since we hadn't eaten since early in the morning on the plane, so we asked about their restaurant. And although it was closed (it was between lunch and dinner hours) she escorted us right in and told us the staff would be happy to get us a bowl of soup and some tea. It was great...such an attentive gesture

As a previous reviewer mentioned, there is no elevator here. We stayed on the thrid floor and it was quite a haul with our heavy luggage. (my only negative for this place) The building is old and charming, and reminded us more of a B&B you might find out in the country in the States, rather than a hotel. Our spacious, clean room had 2 beds under the sloping ceiling. We like quirky places, but others might be a little put off by this.

We ate breakfast in the hotel's restaurant both mornings. There are several rooms, all very pretty. There was a nice variety on the buffet tables, great bread, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, yougurt, granola, vegetables, all delicious.

The town area surrounding the hotel is very picturesque and very pleasant for walking around. (We were fortunate to have great weather during our stay.) There is a bank only a few doors down if you need to exchange money, as well as several wine shops and a very large ReWe grocery store just up the road.(I love to go looking in grocery stores in foreign countries, so this was fun for me while my husband was working!) Since it was a few weeks before Easter, everywhere we looked, we saw spring flowers and beautiful German Easter decorations.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here before moving on to our other stops in Germany and wouldn't hestitate to return again in the future!

Room Tip: Pack light, or ask not to be given a room on the 3rd floor, unless you're up to the physical cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellzangelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a great little hotel which one can use as a base when visiting the Schwarzwald. Spent a few days there. Very friendly staff, excellent food and spotless accommodation. Not for those who cannot carry a heavy suitcase upstairs though. Did trips to Staufen (very pretty township), Freiburg and the excellent Vitra Museum near Basel. Also visited the Beyerle art gallery,but found this expensive (they also refused to take my card loaded with Euro! - Swiss).
The longer one stays, the better deal one can get.
For those travelling by train, Heitersheim has a station, 1.5 km from the hotel.
For the gourmet, one can get terrific food in the area. The Swiss come over the 'border' to
enjoy wonderful food which is value for money.

Room Tip: Spend time here exploring the Schwarzwald
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tishbarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Beryl and I stayed at Krone for three nights...our first visit here. Room was superb, large and quiet, well appointed. Generally good service in the hotel, a little slow in the restaurant. But the quality of the food and drink made up for the wait. Restaurant should have a Michelin star, in our opinion. Wines are all local and the chardonnay was unique, not at all French or American but superb. Fine breakfast selection and parking is, of course, free. Regret that the local musems weren't open until April 1, but that's not the fault of the hotel. Did appreciate the fact that internet access was good, fast and free and our room had a fine bathtub....always preferable to a simple shower. We stayed in one of the so-called "artist" rooms, which was a "best buy", we though. Definitely would recommend, sure to stay here again one of these days... G. & B. Ray, Wichita, Kansas, USA.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpax23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heitersheim
0.1 mi away
OX Hotel
OX Hotel
#1 of 2 in Heitersheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.3 mi away
Die Krone
Die Krone
#1 of 4 in Staufen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
4.8 mi away
Alte Post
Alte Post
#1 of 3 in Muellheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Waldhotel Bad Sulzburg
Waldhotel Bad Sulzburg
#2 of 2 in Sulzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Kreuz
Hotel Gasthof Kreuz
#2 of 2 in Heitersheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
3.5 mi away
Eden Hotel an den Thermen
Eden Hotel an den Thermen
#1 of 13 in Bad Krozingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhotel Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel Krone

Property: Landhotel Krone
Address: Hauptstr. 12, 79423 Heitersheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heitersheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Heitersheim
Hotel Class:4 star — Landhotel Krone 4*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing