We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely week in Szilvasvarad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Szalajka Liget Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Szilvasvarad
Neauphle-le-Chateau, France
Level Contributor
269 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A lovely week in Szilvasvarad”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked our stay through a timeshare exchange. There were 4 of us, although we could have fitted 6 by using the living-room folding bed. The kitchen corner is small and not very well equipped, but we had no problem adjusting our cooking to it; one night, we even roasted sausages on a barbecue fireplace right outside the house. The bedrooms were comfortable and the bathroom quite spacious. There was a balcony with a nice view of the surrounding hills. Parking was easy and close to the house. The swimming-pool was a real treat especially for our 9-year old grand-daughter who spent as much time as she could in it. There is also a baby pool, a recent addition as a result of the sugestions made in past years by families with young children. The jacuzzi was also appreciated. We did not try the other spa amenities or the restaurant. A nice bonus: free wifi at the pool!
The location is superb, with plenty of outings to do : the Lipizzan Stables, the train ride (and the quiet walk back) in the Bükk Nemetzi Park, the climb to the look-out tower, the scenic road to Lillafüred through the hills (althouh do not bother driving to Miskolc which we found too dilapidated), and the nearby baroque city of Eger.
We wish to add kudos to the management team who responded in a wonderful way to our problems after a serious car accident. They packed all our belongings and sent them along to Eger hospital where we were treated. They even came back later to check on us. Wonderful people!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regis_in_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The hotel originally was not a wellness hotel, therefore its's wellness sections is quite small. So if someone would like to travel there only for wellness purposes, should select a different hotel. However if you go there also for hiking, or enjoy the nature around, this hotel is just excellent. It is basically right next to the national park of Bükk, it is also close to Eger, famous wine region in Hungary. Rooms are also good, however ours was right next to the children's playing room, so you can imagine... The staff and service was also very good, food was okay, and I really liked that it has an own squash room. I will definitely return, because many points of interest were left unexplored.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksscsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The hotel consists of main building with reception, restaurant and spa center with pool and several houses/bungalows. We had a house for 4 persons – very nice and comfortable. Two bedrooms, bathroom with a window, sitting room and a kitchenette and terrace.
We had half pension and the meals were good and various. The pool was not very big but nice and in spa/fitness there are 5 saunas, salt room, whirlpool, squash room and fitness room.
Szilvasvarad is a nice place for families. You can enjoy various attraction like walking in the wonderful Szlajka valley, small train journey, delicious trots, hours riding, bicycling.
There are several very nice aqua parks in the distance of 30 -50 km from Szilvasvarad, where you can relax in the mineral water pools and you kids can spend time in kids pools and playgrounds.
I also recommend visiting Eger and testing wine cellars.
We had very nice holidays there!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

we spent a week there (8 of us, 4 parents, 4 kids). we had an apartment house (6+2) which was equipped fine even with a hearth. The location of the hotel is great, in a beautiful valley in the middle of the “Bükk” mountains, close to the creek, the railways the horse riding stadium etc. The wellness area was also fine, although the swimming pool was outdoor it was covered during the rainy days (unfortunately the pool could have been larger).
The personnel was very friendly and helpful, except 3 out of 6 waiters in the restaurant which very strange: three of them were very helpful and friendly the other 3 did not even have a smile. No idea why. We lost some belongings there and they sent the items to our address via mail service.
The food was okay (“all you can eat” style), low assortment (2 soups, 3 main dishes) and variety but reliable good food. Drinks were pretty much expensive.

All in all, I would recommend to everyone who wants to have a peaceful time, go out to the green, eat fish. :)

Room Tip: we took a standalona house, I think this is the best choice for groups over 4 persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabor_bona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed here as part of a package walking holiday.

Our room faced the Hillside, which was a shame because the view the overway was beautiful. Our room was, clean, king size bed, balconey, Bathroom with shower only. The Hotel has a small Spa and outside pool with a great view.

It is situated about 10 minutes walk downhill to a number of restaurants.

We only had breakfast which was 'buffet' style, no English Breakfast Tea and rather more surprisingly no toaster!

Hotel staff were excellent, the non English spaekers tried hard and the English speakers were very helpful with restaurant tips and advice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grinders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We travelled with our 2,5 years old babyboy. At arrival, the very kindly reception staff asked, if the prepared babycot will be OK, or should they change it for an additional bed. Our room - nr. 114 - was on the first floor (the building has two floors), with a balcony with a very nice wiew to the snowy mountains (in Hungary there are not to big mountains, but they are beautyfull).
The room was enough size for three of us, absolutely clean and modern.
My favourite was the bathroom: for three of us the bathtub offered enough space to relax a bit...
At the restaurant they offered a nice variation of different dishes for dinner (the buffet dinner was including to our roomrate), and they have a good selection of the famous hungarian wines.
About the staff at restaurant: on our second day the waiters called my babyboy on his name... I liked this small gesture! They offered automatically some papers with coloured pencils, when my young boy finished the meal, but we had a half bottle wine to drink. Thank you very much for that 20 minutes (parents with a young baby will know, what about do i speak...)!
The hotel have a really good wellness area as well: we used the saunas, jacuzzi, the pool (which is outdoor, but at wintertime it's under a removable roof), and of course, we took a massage (it was included also to our package roomrate). The wellness are was very clean.
Totally we very more than satisfied with this hotel: the staff was smiled all the time, they really want to assit their guest. At the reception, after we returned from a walk at the surrounding area, immediatly offered us a cup of hot wine or tee free of charge (there was -6 Celsius...).
We were at a lot of hotels, but never met this quality of service and hospitality in Hungary, like at Hotel Szalajka Liget. Thank you, Guys!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Szilvasvarad
0.3 mi away
La Contessa Castle Hotel
La Contessa Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Szilvasvarad
88 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Palota
Hunguest Hotel Palota
#1 of 1 in Lillafured
180 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bambara Hotel
Bambara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Felsotarkany
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harmonia Wellness Villa Szilvasvarad
0.6 mi away
Magyar Route 66
Magyar Route 66
#1 of 14 in Szilvasvarad
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Szalajka Liget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Szalajka Liget Hotel

Property: Szalajka Liget Hotel
Address: Park St 25/a, Szilvasvarad 3300, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Szilvasvarad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Szilvasvarad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Szalajka Liget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Szalajka Liget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing