We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
28
16
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
16
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbungalowopportunitieswoodspoolwintervalleysauna
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 50 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The hotel consists of main building with reception, restaurant and spa center with pool and several houses/bungalows. We had a house for 4 persons – very nice and comfortable. Two bedrooms, bathroom with a window, sitting room and a kitchenette and terrace.
We had half pension and the meals were good and various. The pool was not very big but nice and in spa/fitness there are 5 saunas, salt room, whirlpool, squash room and fitness room.
Szilvasvarad is a nice place for families. You can enjoy various attraction like walking in the wonderful Szlajka valley, small train journey, delicious trots, hours riding, bicycling.
There are several very nice aqua parks in the distance of 30 -50 km from Szilvasvarad, where you can relax in the mineral water pools and you kids can spend time in kids pools and playgrounds.
I also recommend visiting Eger and testing wine cellars.
We had very nice holidays there!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

we spent a week there (8 of us, 4 parents, 4 kids). we had an apartment house (6+2) which was equipped fine even with a hearth. The location of the hotel is great, in a beautiful valley in the middle of the “Bükk” mountains, close to the creek, the railways the horse riding stadium etc. The wellness area was also fine, although the swimming pool was outdoor it was covered during the rainy days (unfortunately the pool could have been larger).
The personnel was very friendly and helpful, except 3 out of 6 waiters in the restaurant which very strange: three of them were very helpful and friendly the other 3 did not even have a smile. No idea why. We lost some belongings there and they sent the items to our address via mail service.
The food was okay (“all you can eat” style), low assortment (2 soups, 3 main dishes) and variety but reliable good food. Drinks were pretty much expensive.

All in all, I would recommend to everyone who wants to have a peaceful time, go out to the green, eat fish. :)

Room Tip: we took a standalona house, I think this is the best choice for groups over 4 persons
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabor_bona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed here as part of a package walking holiday.

Our room faced the Hillside, which was a shame because the view the overway was beautiful. Our room was, clean, king size bed, balconey, Bathroom with shower only. The Hotel has a small Spa and outside pool with a great view.

It is situated about 10 minutes walk downhill to a number of restaurants.

We only had breakfast which was 'buffet' style, no English Breakfast Tea and rather more surprisingly no toaster!

Hotel staff were excellent, the non English spaekers tried hard and the English speakers were very helpful with restaurant tips and advice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grinders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We travelled with our 2,5 years old babyboy. At arrival, the very kindly reception staff asked, if the prepared babycot will be OK, or should they change it for an additional bed. Our room - nr. 114 - was on the first floor (the building has two floors), with a balcony with a very nice wiew to the snowy mountains (in Hungary there are not to big mountains, but they are beautyfull).
The room was enough size for three of us, absolutely clean and modern.
My favourite was the bathroom: for three of us the bathtub offered enough space to relax a bit...
At the restaurant they offered a nice variation of different dishes for dinner (the buffet dinner was including to our roomrate), and they have a good selection of the famous hungarian wines.
About the staff at restaurant: on our second day the waiters called my babyboy on his name... I liked this small gesture! They offered automatically some papers with coloured pencils, when my young boy finished the meal, but we had a half bottle wine to drink. Thank you very much for that 20 minutes (parents with a young baby will know, what about do i speak...)!
The hotel have a really good wellness area as well: we used the saunas, jacuzzi, the pool (which is outdoor, but at wintertime it's under a removable roof), and of course, we took a massage (it was included also to our package roomrate). The wellness are was very clean.
Totally we very more than satisfied with this hotel: the staff was smiled all the time, they really want to assit their guest. At the reception, after we returned from a walk at the surrounding area, immediatly offered us a cup of hot wine or tee free of charge (there was -6 Celsius...).
We were at a lot of hotels, but never met this quality of service and hospitality in Hungary, like at Hotel Szalajka Liget. Thank you, Guys!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2,995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna A, Értékesítési igazgató at Szalajka Liget Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews