We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beilliant location with typical problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Contessa Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Szilvasvarad
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Well, a wonderful castle, nicely renovated with a wellness and a confetence center added. Almost perfect. But the attitude and friendliness of the personal of the hotel remains the same as thirty years ago: below average.
The food is ok, the waiters also, but the reception...
:(

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InnSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 99 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

I visited as external guest this hotel, that is, I didn't stay overnight, so no experience about rooms.
But, during this day I had the opportunity to use the spa and the restaurant of the hotel.
The restaurant was excellent, finest service, super delicious meals. The spa is quite an average one, with three saunas (with different temperature), a Turkish bath and an interior and outer pool. Here the staff wasn't very kind, at times they had to be asked to switch on the sauna or steam bath that weren't functioning constantly.
The hotel building itself looks fascinating, renovated about 5 years ago and the environment is calm and green.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were in Autumn at La Contessa, and it had a very nice ambient, watching the yellow leaved trees from the luxurious wellness department.
They manage the hotel very professionally. We were late for check-in, and for our dinner, but they waited for us exclusively, and let us have our lunch at 9.30 pm.
The hotel rooms shed mediavel ambient. You feel like prince/princess amongst the beautiful fretworked furnitures.
You may take a walk at the near forrest. In October it was covered with beautiful yellow and red leaves all over the place.
As well, a few minutes drive away is the Szalajka Valley, with the veil waterfall.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building have the mediavel ambient, still feels new and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

It was our second hotel in the vacation. The hotel and the garden is very nice, perfect. Only the food is little pure. We have tried more hotel in Hungary with 4*, but the food could be better. To have a choice in a breakfast you must weak up early.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glaskatze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

4 nights in a beautiful castle hotel with luxury circumstances in green hilly position

Details speak about meeting high standards and managerial care. Recommanded both for couples looking for a relax or ready to make excursions and for team building company events.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pzs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice recently renovated casstle hotel with very nicy wllnes area, frendly rooms and a great cousine with lokal specialities. The staff is frendly, polite,but some professional training is still required. It is strongly recommended make excursions in to the mountins and try local food - traut and pálinka - outside of the hotel as well:-)))) There are freindly family run restaurants in the villige too.

Room Tip: Some rooms do have sauna as well. I suggest to stay in the old part and not in the modern. The feeli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tibor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Szilvasvarad is beautiful and I recommend to stay at Contessa when you visit it. The castle hotel has been recently renovated and it is really nice. The rooms are spacious and many of them includes a sauna. The staff is polite and helpful but not fully professional.
The food is good, they have some local meals too. Beware, the drinks are very expensive and they automatically add 12% service charge.
The wellness area is nice but the pools are too small. For example the children's pool is only 2 square meters and the swimming pool is not separated from the hydro-massage.

If you arrive by bus or train then expect 10 minutes walking because they do not give you a lift...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nagytibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Szilvasvarad
0.1 mi away
Szalajka Liget Hotel
Szalajka Liget Hotel
#1 of 2 in Szilvasvarad
40 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Palota
Hunguest Hotel Palota
#1 of 1 in Lillafured
203 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Eger & Park
Hotel Eger & Park
#3 of 22 in Eger
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
125 reviews
18.3 mi away
Levay Villa Panzio
Levay Villa Panzio
#4 of 16 in Miskolc
39 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bambara Hotel
Bambara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Felsotarkany
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Contessa Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Contessa Castle Hotel

Address: Park utca 6, Szilvasvarad 3348, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Szilvasvarad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Szilvasvarad
Price Range: $129 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Contessa Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since February 2009, reborn into its earlier magnificence, situated only 25 kilometers from Eger, La Contessa Castle Hotel**** awaits its honored guests in Szilvásvárad.The neo-barock castle, situated in a 7-hectare botanical park offers the elegant and relaxing atmosphere of old times.The hotel consists of 45 double rooms providing palatial pomp; the comfort of modern ages is represented by a wellness division of 650 square meters and by two conference halls that are perfect venues for smaller training sessions and presentations. The constantly updated wellness packages of the hotel and the local sights and programs offer a relaxing experience you will always remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Contessa Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing