We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But With Some Quirks & A Little Worn Around the Edges”
Review of Hotel Limmerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Limmerhof
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Taufkirchen
Reviewed October 1, 2009

I stayed here for 5 days in September 2009 for work. A nice, traditional hotel. Staff was very friendly and communicated well in English. Room was large and comfortable, but furniture and finishes are in need of a serious updating and a fresh coat of paint. Bathroom was relatively clean, but the shower curtain was moldy. The toilet flushing mechanism was functional, but the cover was obviously broken and never repaired during my stay. The box of facial tissues ran out on the 2nd day and was never replaced. I had consumed 4 bottles from the minibar on my first two days but the empty bottles were never removed (when left on the counter) until I placed them in the trash can. A large shipping box that I had discrded next to the trash can was never removed. Found these "oversights" rather odd! Lighting in the room is dismal if you're trying to read and/or do any computer work. Wireless offered through T-Mobile and worked well. Found the 30-day package for Euro 29 was most economical for my needs. A few small wall fixtures didn't provide enough bright light. Breakfast buffet is very nice and the coffee some of the best I have ever drunk. Had one dinner at the hotel and it was also very good - although the lone waiter had to take on a large group and it took over 30 minutes to pay my bill. He was very apologetic, though. Hotel is a convenient walk to the S5 S-bahn into Munich - but a little too far if you have a lot of luggage to haul. An OK hotel, but I might look into others nearby. The Holiday Inn nearby might be better suited to my needs as a business traveller. If you're a soccer fan, the local Munich soccer team often stays at the hotel - it's kind of fun to watch the local kids (and many adults!) crowd around them begging for autographs.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 60 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2008

Recently I had the chance to stay four nights in this hotel while visiting a company in the EADS/Bosch complex in Ottobrunn.

In general I was very pleased with this hotel. The grounds and hotel are very pretty; it is built in a traditional Bavarian “Hof” style (does not look like an office building). The staff were very warm and friendly and made us feel very welcome. When a few of our party were late flying in or had to cancel altogether, the hotel was completely relaxed and cooperative about the changes – unlike other hotels in the nearby Ottobrun area.

This is an independent hotel and it has the strong feel of being run by local people. Many of the staff are young German locals. Even the maids seemed to be local.

Strong Points
1. Warm relaxed service – as mentioned.
2. Room furniture was charming if somewhat worn.
3. Bathroom was sparkling new and spotless.
4. Laundry service was prompt and effective. In fact, it seems to be hand done on site by the hotel’s own staff (very unusual in Germany!) No plastic wrappers – your laundry simply comes back neatly folded and/or hanging in your closet. The “form” is simply a little pad of paper with a few check boxes. No complex, fill out in triplicate forms. They even have flexible service to iron something quickly as needed.
5. Local town is pleasant. Exiting out the rear gate from the property and turning left you are in a nice, quiet little neighborhood with young families and nice sidewalks. Walk 10 minutes and you come to a small business center with several restaurants, bank, small supermarket, pharmacy and so on.
6. Free parking and plenty of it. There is also an underground garage, but we did not use it during my stay.
7. Bathroom has a fan that turns on and off automatically.
8. Wireless LAN access is very good and reasonably priced. The service is provided by T-Mobile and 29 Euros buys a 30 day pass.
9. The restaurant in the hotel was very nice for dinner.

General Points
1. In car navigation devices recognize the hotel address and bring you right to the door. The EADS/Bosch complex in Ottobrun is about a 15 min drive in the morning.
2. A taxi from the Munich airport costs around 85 Euros.
3. There is a S-Bahn train station near by, but I did not use it during my stay.

Minor Weak Points
1. The telephones in the room are some sort of non-standard Siemens PBX which means that curiously even though they seem to use standard RJ-11 plugs, in fact nothing else can connect in place of them. These non-standard phones do not have a speakerphone function and you cannot replace them with your own speakerphone. That means long, late-night calls are going to be with the phone handset which can be a bit tiring.
2. Breakfast service was good on some points (a young man makes eggs to order) but weak on others (the staff is slow to refill things that run out on the buffet)
3. The in room television is old and small (although it does work well enough).
4. No clock in the room (not unusual for a German hotel)
5. There is an in-room minibar, but it was oddly only partially stocked and the refrigerator was not on. I did not use it.
6. The maid cleaned nicely, but was oddly reluctant to replace towels or soap that had run out. However, this was not a big problem. The selection of towels was generous and there was enough soap for a week or so. Furthermore, if it had been a real problem I am sure an inquiry at the front desk would have fixed it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DJH-in-Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Gerry205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Am besten ein anderes Hotel wählen
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kerstin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: gute Verbindung nach München in Richtung Salzburg
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richy1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Jörg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Markus-Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taufkirchen
0.9 mi away
Hotel Demas Garni
Hotel Demas Garni
#6 of 7 in Unterhaching
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching
1.7 mi away
Hachinger Hof Hotel
Hachinger Hof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Oberhaching
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Landhaus Sixtmuehle
#2 of 4 in Taufkirchen
8 reviews
31.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel am Hof
#3 of 3 in Taufkirchen
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Limmerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Limmerhof

Address: Muenchener Str. 43, 82024 Taufkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Taufkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Taufkirchen
Price Range: $142 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Limmerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Limmerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing