We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Local Color”

Hotel Krone Ottingen
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oettingen in Bayern
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Krone Ottingen
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Convenient Local Color”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

This lovely half-timbered building is directly on the Jakobsweg route, and located between the Rathaus and the St Jakob's Church, on the main shopping street in the old part of town. All the main sights are within easy walking distance. Staff was friendly and welcoming, and spoke enough English. Room and bath were spacious, modern, and well-equipped. Hotel restaurant had a smaller menu but the dishes were well executed and tasty. I had the assortment platter, which I would recommend. Breakfast was an excellent cold buffet, as well as eggs to order (fried or scrambled).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitsambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrent, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Pleasant and spacious rooms. Bathrooms are a little bit too old fashioned. I agree with one reviewer who wrote that bathtubs with shower curtains are not anymore of our time. Generally, keep in mind this is the oldest hotel in town. Its origin dates back 600 years. It is since generations in the possession of the Seebauer family. That alone has its charm. Someone critized that the furnishing is 70ies style. I don't agree. The owners just like to collect old stuff and display it. It gives the hotel a certain cosiness. The breakfast is very good and so is dinner (or lunch if you will) with a rich variety of delicious regional fare. WiFi works nicely. There is ample parking behind the hotel for over night, but be advised to display a parking clock behind the windshield marking 8:00 o'clock in the morning. From 8 on the clocks of the city start ticking. You have one and half hour time to park on one location during the day. Five minutes over and you get a ticket. The location is excellent, in the middle of town. However, older folks, especially people who have problems walking, should know: the hotel has no elevators and the stairs are long and steep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmund B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel is located in central position in Oettingen. The historic house does set low hotel expectations, but surprises very positively. The historic rooms are huge and nice decorated. Do not expect new equipment, but it is clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good. The personnel was very, very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgtoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I travel to this hotel every second summer. It is a family owned hotel with a great atmosphere. I can't compare it to another hotel, since I think this is special in a strange way. I love the hotel and the workers there are superb as well!

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank Astrid Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Krone Ottingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Ottingen

Property: Hotel Krone Ottingen
Address: Schlossstr. 34, 86732 Oettingen in Bayern, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Oettingen in Bayern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oettingen in Bayern
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Krone Ottingen 3*
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing