We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Srikhand (HPTDC)
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Krish Rauni(Shimla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
62
90
27
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
90
27
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate balconyshrikhandbhimakali templeplace to stayhotel is locatedexcellent viewsnow clad peaksexcellent propertyspacious roomclean linenquality of foodcomfortable staycourteous staffwalking distanceample parking spacescenic beautygovernment run
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 189 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel has an amazing location, with the snow capped peaks clearly visible on a clear day. The staff is also quite helpful and welcoming and the food is of good quality. This is the best option to stay in Sarahan. All the other hotels are cheap, dirty and don't maintain a high standard. However, the major drawback of this place are the frequent power cuts. We were there at the end of March and it was almost zero degree with strong winds. But the one night we stayed, there was no electricity the whole night, from nine thirty in the night till about seven thirty. Our stay was not at all comfortable. Given the fact that Sarahan gets very cold and is also an extremely windy place, the hotel needs to most definitely have a power back up. Apparently power cuts are a regular occurrence, but the hotel was totally ill-equipped to deal with it. If one is looking for a comfortable stay this is not the place to go to when the temperatures are close to zero degrees or below that. Sarahan is a small village town and should be visited for the views of the snow capped peaks, bhimakali temple, and some short hikes such as the one to the bird zoo, and the nearby villages beyond sarahan which offer a much better view of the Himalayan range. All in all, the whole experience was just about okay.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are better for catching a view of the Himalayan range.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank world_80explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Well finally i cud travel beyond shimla.... With parents and my 5 yr old kid in tow i decided to venture till sarahan with the only aim of relaxing on a hill top. We decided to drive straight to sarahan from New Delhi (Is not recommended at all, best done with one stop atleast), booked 02 of hotel srikhand's cottages through the simple and incredibly efficient hptdc website for three nights. It took almost 12 hours to reach sarahan. The route and landscape beyond shimla is so enticing, that we just felt like going on and on. The road are in very good condition at this time of the year. Reaching sarahan and entering the hotel compound was an experience in itself. The hotel had ample parking, surrounding very clean and extremely welcoming staff. Hotel is perfectly located overlooking the srikhand peak, nice garden in front of the cottages, sweetly names angoori bar and a beautiful and ethnic looking main building. Rooms were well kept with clean linen and bathrooms. The service provided by the hotel was exemplary and the food was very very good. All day meals were served in the lawn letting us enjoy the wonderful sunshine. My son especially did not miss his mom for all the three nights we stayed there.

Overall the stay at srikhand will always remain in my top ten best hotels list...

Room Tip: Cottages are the best with a garden in the front.....
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for an overnight(my nth visit) as a stopover while visiting Sangla Valley. Booked 2 rooms through HPTDC website (a delight to browse and book) and got exactly what was promised. Perfect location, well appointed rooms, wall to wall carpeting, large bathrooms, very courteous staff, nice and pure aura of the town. Felt completely dissolved here. Strongly recommend it as against very poor, dirtier but cheaper hotels nearby. Restaurant was a bit of walk from the room but worth it. The food was too good. Holy temple was just a 20-30 meters walk from this property. I always chooses HPTDC property while opting for stay in lessor known Himachal as HPTDC offers best value for money with excellent views!! Will recommend Sarahan Town as a stopover rather than Rampur while travelling to Kinnaur\Sangla and strongly recommend Srikhand in Sarahan!!

Room Tip: Go for rooms with balcony!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We reached here late evening on our way back to Shimla from SPITI Valley this October.
Sarahan is a small place at Hill Top ,and Shrikhand Hotel with Bhimkali Temple at close vicinity of 5 minutes.
Large Spacious Room with cozy beds and clean blankets was more than Welcoming....the kingsize Bathroom was antiseptic clean with Hot water running 24 Hrs.
The Room Heater made the Room comfy cozy and the interior was transformed into a dreamy love nest ..me and my wife along with my 2 years son we all slept like babies after our harsh tiring and brutal (on back ..sitting in car fro long hours) travel from Nako lake we werehappy to be treated such grandly.

The restaurant food was prompt and quick good and tasty ...we had a great evening over Ginger tea and pakoda ..followed by Beer and steaming hot crispy baby corn and chicken pakoda and awesome North Indian Dinner.

The Hotel Staff was very courteous helpful and polite ...they helped us with the luggage carrying my son .........a heavenly place to take rest revive and get back on the roads.

A MUST and RECOMMENDED place for family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTravellingSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Being a fan of himachal tourism's properties ... this one's no different either !
Didn't stay at the property though but was there for lunch after visiting the bhimkali temple ... which is at a stone throws distance from d hotel.
Again ... as with every himachal tourism's property ... d location is the best part of d property ... with it being located on a hill top with a magnificent view of the valley below n the snowcapped mountains across the valley !
The hotel has 2 wings ... the old one has a couple of cottages with a superb n tempting lawn in front of them n then there is the new multistoreyed building which has the majority of the rooms n d restaurant ... which is clean n modern though lacking d character of d cottages right besides d new building.
The cottages were so tempting that made us cut out some extra time from our return to Delhi for an overnite stay there .... which unfortunately couldn't materialise.
The food was good n the service was quiet decently paced.
There is surprisingly a bar also in d hotel ... on d other side of the new building which has a nice portico with chairs n a lawn swing to keep one occupied ... drinking or not ... n again offering gr8 views.
Another must visit property from the sarkari stable ... which must admit r ever so reliable with good staff

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kbahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews