We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Satisfactory Experience!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarahan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Srikhand (HPTDC)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sarahan
Certificate of Excellence
Chandigarh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Satisfactory Experience!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for an overnight(my nth visit) as a stopover while visiting Sangla Valley. Booked 2 rooms through HPTDC website (a delight to browse and book) and got exactly what was promised. Perfect location, well appointed rooms, wall to wall carpeting, large bathrooms, very courteous staff, nice and pure aura of the town. Felt completely dissolved here. Strongly recommend it as against very poor, dirtier but cheaper hotels nearby. Restaurant was a bit of walk from the room but worth it. The food was too good. Holy temple was just a 20-30 meters walk from this property. I always chooses HPTDC property while opting for stay in lessor known Himachal as HPTDC offers best value for money with excellent views!! Will recommend Sarahan Town as a stopover rather than Rampur while travelling to Kinnaur\Sangla and strongly recommend Srikhand in Sarahan!!

Room Tip: Go for rooms with balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    84
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
88
37
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We reached here late evening on our way back to Shimla from SPITI Valley this October.
Sarahan is a small place at Hill Top ,and Shrikhand Hotel with Bhimkali Temple at close vicinity of 5 minutes.
Large Spacious Room with cozy beds and clean blankets was more than Welcoming....the kingsize Bathroom was antiseptic clean with Hot water running 24 Hrs.
The Room Heater made the Room comfy cozy and the interior was transformed into a dreamy love nest ..me and my wife along with my 2 years son we all slept like babies after our harsh tiring and brutal (on back ..sitting in car fro long hours) travel from Nako lake we werehappy to be treated such grandly.

The restaurant food was prompt and quick good and tasty ...we had a great evening over Ginger tea and pakoda ..followed by Beer and steaming hot crispy baby corn and chicken pakoda and awesome North Indian Dinner.

The Hotel Staff was very courteous helpful and polite ...they helped us with the luggage carrying my son .........a heavenly place to take rest revive and get back on the roads.

A MUST and RECOMMENDED place for family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravellingSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Being a fan of himachal tourism's properties ... this one's no different either !
Didn't stay at the property though but was there for lunch after visiting the bhimkali temple ... which is at a stone throws distance from d hotel.
Again ... as with every himachal tourism's property ... d location is the best part of d property ... with it being located on a hill top with a magnificent view of the valley below n the snowcapped mountains across the valley !
The hotel has 2 wings ... the old one has a couple of cottages with a superb n tempting lawn in front of them n then there is the new multistoreyed building which has the majority of the rooms n d restaurant ... which is clean n modern though lacking d character of d cottages right besides d new building.
The cottages were so tempting that made us cut out some extra time from our return to Delhi for an overnite stay there .... which unfortunately couldn't materialise.
The food was good n the service was quiet decently paced.
There is surprisingly a bar also in d hotel ... on d other side of the new building which has a nice portico with chairs n a lawn swing to keep one occupied ... drinking or not ... n again offering gr8 views.
Another must visit property from the sarkari stable ... which must admit r ever so reliable with good staff

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank kbahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel location is awesome ... you are on a hilltop, sprawled in front of you is the valley and the HImalayan ranges... the service and food is good.

We were in a group of 5 and we had booked the 2 cottages (joined by a passage). outside our cottage was a lawn, with breakfast table and while sipping your coffee, you overlook the majestic Himalayas....

Rooms are huge in size (at least in the cottage). Cleanliness is poor, but for the price and the view, you won't mind it being unclean.

Staff is friendly and the service is good.

In short: MUST STAY!!!

Room Tip: Book the cottage!!! other rooms are no where close to what the cottage offers you in terms of view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PurPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Every HPTDC hotel is at a great location and Srikhand is the same. Great views, excellent food and very friendly staff. Highly recommended place to stay at Sarahan. It is also very close, walkable distance, to the Bhimakali temple.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Thought the following two words would summarize, i need to write a minimum of 200..... "MUST STAY".

This is off the main highway and the drive is nice....any drive in Himachal is nice :-) the people and service is friendly and warm, the food excellent and served hot.

highly highly recommended

Room Tip: the suite are too good... highly highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramesh957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Went long time ago - in May 2005.
Went with my husband and parents. The rooms overlooked the mountains! It was a great place. Went there on the recommendation of the Himachal Pradesh Tourism employee's suggestion.
Had hired a 4 x 4 with a driver and drover around Himachal. It was a great trip!

Went to Kalpa after Sarahan.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLqvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarahan
24.9 mi away
Tirthan Holidays Camp & Cottages
22.9 mi away
Tirthan View Homestay
Tirthan View Homestay
#5 of 49 in Kullu
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parvati River Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Srikhand (HPTDC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Srikhand (HPTDC)

Property: The Srikhand (HPTDC)
Address: Distt Shimla, Sarahan 172102, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Sarahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sarahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himachal Tourism's Hotel Shrikhand is named after the majestic mountain that faces the hotel and 5,536m high Shrikhand peak. The building's architecture has drawn inspiration from the fascinating forms of the famous Bhimakali Temple. The rooms of the Shrikhand hotel over looks the majestic view of the Shrikhand peak and apple orchards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing