We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - wonderful place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarahan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Srikhand (HPTDC)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sarahan
Certificate of Excellence
delhi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location - wonderful place”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is a first Govt run hotel which we really liked. The location is wonderful - right at the cliff. The views outside the balcony are beautiful.The preparation of food is decent.The room service is quick and efficient.There is a Bhimakali temple at walking distance which is the only go-to place of Sarahan.

Room Tip: Have a room with Balcony. The early morning views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohinikhattar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    81
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
83
37
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We planned a short trip to Sarahan in the month of May and stayed at HPTDC Hotel Sarahan. Apart from the excellent views from the hotel, the service was impeccable. Very well managed and we carry wonderful memories of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhijit_Singh_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Among HPTDC hotels,This hotel is best of the lot apart from the one in Kalpa..The food is great..Al rooms have a nice view to Srikhand mountains.The manager as well as the staffs are good and they expain every detail of the place..Its the best one..

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debadeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel has some of the best views in Sarahan, which itself is a great stopover on the way to points further east in Kinnaur.
However, the hotel left much to be desired in terms of service - the staff were completely uninterested in answering any questions about the surroundings. Luckily we had a car driver who was extremely helpful with that.
We stayed in the cottage and do not know what the rooms look like but we would not recommend the cottage at all - it's a strange layout with a windowless bedroom and is not clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Location : Best location in Sarahan. In the cosy lap of Himalays here comes the small but beautiful HPTDC resort, The Srikhand.
The hotel is a crown in HPTDC chain - no it is not a lavish, exotic hotel - but a small hotel very well managed by the support staffs and the manager. It is one of the best HPTDC hotels we have stayed so far. Rooms are well maintained and nice place to stay. We just had one night stop over in Sarahan, but in future would like to go back again for at least 2 nights. Waking up with a steaming hot cup of tea and snow peaked mountains in front of you is an amazing experience in itself. The lawn outside is very well maintained..you can sit there for hours in the night looking at the millions of light dots that have decorated the valley downhill.

Food : Very nice, freshly cooked and good north Indian dishes. Liked it much.

Cost : Worth the money spent.

Room Tip: If possible request for rooms downstairs.You get the hanging balcony to sit and enjoy Himalayas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subratamondal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is probably the only hotel where you can stay comfortably in Sarahan. Typical HPTDC hotel with basic amenities. Huge spacious room with great views from windows on two walls of the valley below. The floors are designed such that the view is absolutely unobstructed from each floor. The food was best we had on this trip to Kinnaur and Spiti valley.
The Bhimakali temple is at a walking distance.
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayantChauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We reached this place after a long and tiring journey from Tirthan valley. From Tirthan one has to come to Banjar and then cross the Jalori Pass. The road from Banjar till Jalori Pass (Shouja) is in really bad shape - what should be a one hour drive took us two hours +. From Rampur for Sarahan - one has to take a u turn from Jeori and then Srikhand is located right next to the Bhimakali Temple. The hotel is the best located one in the town and the rooms are spacious and airy. Linen is clean and the views from the room are excellent. The service is poor and HPTDC really needs to pull their socks up - the staff are lazy and unattentive. The bath was clean - hot water takes a long while - so the best idea is to tell them in advance to turn the geyser on and hope that they do so.

The food is good - but service time is long. Overall it is a good hotel with good inventory but bad management. The cheaper and better value for money alternate is the Bhimakali Temple Guest House. It has good clean rooms and cost one sixth of Srikhand - views are better and the when you pay so little you are expected not to be very fussy about your room.

They have a six bed dormitory where our driver stayed - the beds were clean and the the dorm had two clean baths. They charge INR 165 for the dorms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avijit26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarahan
23.4 mi away
Tirthan Holidays Camp & Cottages
26.1 mi away
Hotel & Resort Dwarika Residency Shelapani
25.1 mi away
Agyaat Vaas- The Himalayan Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Tirthan View Homestay
Tirthan View Homestay
#11 of 50 in Kullu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Srikhand (HPTDC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Srikhand (HPTDC)

Property: The Srikhand (HPTDC)
Address: Distt Shimla, Sarahan 172102, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Sarahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sarahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himachal Tourism's Hotel Shrikhand is named after the majestic mountain that faces the hotel and 5,536m high Shrikhand peak. The building's architecture has drawn inspiration from the fascinating forms of the famous Bhimakali Temple. The rooms of the Shrikhand hotel over looks the majestic view of the Shrikhand peak and apple orchards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing