We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarahan Srikhand”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarahan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Srikhand (HPTDC)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sarahan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We reached this place after a long and tiring journey from Tirthan valley. From Tirthan one has to come to Banjar and then cross the Jalori Pass. The road from Banjar till Jalori Pass (Shouja) is in really bad shape - what should be a one hour drive took us two hours +. From Rampur for Sarahan - one has to take a u turn from Jeori and then Srikhand is located right next to the Bhimakali Temple. The hotel is the best located one in the town and the rooms are spacious and airy. Linen is clean and the views from the room are excellent. The service is poor and HPTDC really needs to pull their socks up - the staff are lazy and unattentive. The bath was clean - hot water takes a long while - so the best idea is to tell them in advance to turn the geyser on and hope that they do so.

The food is good - but service time is long. Overall it is a good hotel with good inventory but bad management. The cheaper and better value for money alternate is the Bhimakali Temple Guest House. It has good clean rooms and cost one sixth of Srikhand - views are better and the when you pay so little you are expected not to be very fussy about your room.

They have a six bed dormitory where our driver stayed - the beds were clean and the the dorm had two clean baths. They charge INR 165 for the dorms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avijit26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for The Srikhand (HPTDC)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 183 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stay: Stayed there with family for a night in July 2011.

Location: One of the perfect locations in Sarahan. One gets the complete view of the himalayan range from the hotel and even from the rooms. Also, Bhimakali temple is just a stone throw distance from the hotel.

Rooms: We took 2 deluxe rooms. The condition of the rooms was average. Since we went in the monsoons, there were lot of insects that were creeping inside the rooms through the balcony door. The TV has few channels, not clear though, however, we were hardly interested in watching it anyways. Another point i noticed was that the main door of few of the rooms are not made from seasoned food, so one may have difficulty in closing them. Washrooms are big and clean, with 24 hrs hot water.

Food: We thought of trying a Dhaba outside hotel, but there are very limited options outside the hotel. There are few small shacks, but i doubt how fresh there food would be as Sarahan do not attract huge number of tourists. On the contrary, food (we are vegetarians) at the hotel is good. Do not expect to much masala in the food, the preparation is simple.

Payment: We did advance booking through the internet. For rest of the charges (meals, Taxes), we paid at the hotel through cash. Note, there is no credit card machine there and there are no ATMs nearby, so carry sufficient cash along with you.

Alternate options: After reaching there, i came to know that Bhimakali temple also offers rooms for stay. The rooms are clean and cheaper (Rs. 300). There is a temple cafe as well that serves Breakfast, lunch and dinner for guests.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wild_Styln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Sarahan is a place where you can't expect star rated hotels and all the comforts. Its a place with very limited resources. But you can find atleast peace of mind @ The Srikhand. Its standing just opposite the Bhimakali temple facing each other. Enjoy the beauty of Great Himalaya from your room or from private balcony. This hotel is good for all travellers who love nature and peace.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ranadhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Good HPTDC Hotel in Sarahan with great views of Shrikhand Mahadev Range. The peak is visible from most of the rooms and also dining area and lawn. Get up early for early morning sunlight which makes the peaks golden.
Sarahan temple is right next to the hotel that is also an advantage.
Food was good. We booked through HPTDC website. Booking and check in process was smooth.
There were room heaters in some rooms and some didn't have. When we asked for the heater, one person told us that it is not part of the room charge, while other person brought it to us without any charge.
Make sure all water heaters, sanitary fittings work when you check in the room.

Also booked adjoining Shrikhand Cottage. The Cottage rooms are very spacious, but the bar is right in the middle of two rooms. The cottage has three rooms, the third one was available for 500 rupees when we booked. Please don't go with this room as it is extremely untidy, no views and stinks.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank godbolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Diana_NL_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nordtiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azurLanguedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarahan
0.0 mi away
Parvati River Cottage
24.9 mi away
Tirthan Holidays Camp & Cottages
22.9 mi away
Tirthan View Homestay
Tirthan View Homestay
#1 of 49 in Kullu
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camp Whispering Waves
Camp Whispering Waves
#2 of 15 in Spangmik
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mulkila Adventures
Mulkila Adventures
#3 of 6 in Sarchu
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Srikhand (HPTDC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Srikhand (HPTDC)

Address: Distt Shimla, Sarahan 172102, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Sarahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sarahan
Price Range: $20 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himachal Tourism's Hotel Shrikhand is named after the majestic mountain that faces the hotel and 5,536m high Shrikhand peak. The building's architecture has drawn inspiration from the fascinating forms of the famous Bhimakali Temple. The rooms of the Shrikhand hotel over looks the majestic view of the Shrikhand peak and apple orchards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing