We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Writer's Hill

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sirmour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Writer's Hill
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sirmour
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I had gone to this place in decemeber for two days with my husband and two other friends, the place is secluded and a perfect place where one would want to relax, well defined spacious room. A perfect place to enjoy doing nothing. The food was served to us was home made and provided to us in unlimited quantity. The place was so natural that we were always hungry and ate unlimited aloo parathas made by two staff. We enjoyed paranthas and chai early morning in the garden. Staff were so courtetous that they allowed to use their kitchen and we made maggie and peanuts masala for evenings. This place is good to visit if you want to rest at a secluded place, there is nothing near by to visit , renuka ji lake and mandir is there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nupur09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    24
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

me nd my husband stayed at this resort.... it was an amazing experience.. food was tasty nd made with love.. full privacy given.... all small requirements were filled.. will sure go again nd take others too..

Room Tip: honeymoon suite is the best for couples...very aloof and complete privacy granted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed recently at Writers Hill and i must say i was in for surprises.. Writers Hill is hidden in the beauty of nature.. You surely can be at peace with yourself..You cant see the cottages even from far away from any part of the highway.. The roads are nice and its a pleasure to drive... Cottages are clean and spacious out here.. Food is tasty and served hot... Staff is equally warm and courteous(Munish is the man for you).. You can explore nearby to Renuka Ji, Nahan and Ponta Sahib. Renuka Lake is close by and you can feed some really huge fishes.. You can boat along with the fishes in the lake..Its a religous lake (So u need to remove your shoes while cycling the boats). Mobile networks are always in shortage.. Its a bliss;) Do visit them and

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishant79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We visited Writer's Hill in June of 2013...chose the hotel purely by what we read here and most importantly, the name of the hotel and the concept it stood for...and wow !! What an amazing experience...the hotel was hard to locate and maybe that's what one needs on a holiday of this nature...to get lost amidst the best that nature has to offer and service...totally personalised and absolutely not intrusive. The manner of service...totally warm and welcoming...one feels like a guest in your favourite friend's home and food is made to your choice and delicious....Munish the owner of the property has done such a marvellous job in having books and dvd's in every room...sit in a corner with a good book to read if you don't want to go out into the mountains...a memory worth re-visiting, for sure.

Room Tip: At the time there were three cottages and each one of them equally good...the sizes do vary and that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anu_Madan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I visited this place at the end of August'13 with two of my other friends. The place is on the way from Jamta to Renuka Ji, which was a problem for us as some websites wrote that it was in Nahan. Therefore, we had trouble reaching the place as we had hired a taxi till Nahan and the driver would not go any further. It is another 24 km from Nahan.

If you go there you better have your own car, coz the taxi rates are very high in that region and as it is in the middle of no-where there is no way you can go anyplace unless you shed loads of money on a taxi.

Anyways the place is simply beautiful! It has three cottages and we stayed in the one which comes first when u walk up to the cottages. There is no hustle bustle, no crowd, just peace and greenery. The cottages are decorated very beautifully with small knick-knacks as you would put in your own house. The size of the cottages is also big and spacious. However, it wasn't properly cleaned as we saw a few cobwebs here and there in the room with the spiders in them! The food was average home cooked food. Not bad, but nothing great either. Home cooked food can be made delicious too. Firstly, we had no idea that this place was no close to any market/shop; secondly, we had no transport; on top of that the resort was out of soft drinks the next day! And they could not arrange it either. This was bad service. But otherwise, the staff there is a family that takes care of the place and also cooks. They are nice people :)

All in all, apart from the location issue (as we were not aware that it WAS NOT in Nahan), average food and spiders I would still love to go there again, coz of the location (as now I will be better prepared), its cottages and the peace. It is truly a Writer's Hill :)

Room Tip: They have three cottages, all are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Small, Nice and very beautiful cottage style hill resort with 3 cottage rooms, good green lawn, hygienic kitchen and fruit trees (peach & banana). It really gives you the feeling that you are staying in your own holiday home. It is different from other regular hotels and holidays. It is just 6 hrs, derive from delhi. we stayed there for 2 nights but after reaching there we felt that our holiday should be for min. 3 nights. we stayed in honeymoon cottage (one step behind). it is very beautiful with good space and big bathroom. you can enjoy beautiful views from your rooms window with a cup of tea or you can read a book from a big and nice collection provided in room..joginder ji & cook Ramji along with his entire family is always there to serve you as per your choice. they are really very helpful. food was very good and hygienic. fresh and homely style. badolia temple waterfall is just 1 km. away from writers hill. one can enjoy trekking also. we reached at the top of the temple after 20 min. hard trekking but after reaching there we found a holy pond from where waterfall starts. views were very beautiful from there. we went to renukaji temple. we did boating there. There is a mini zoo near lake which is spread in around 3 kms. area. and if you dont want to walk you can take your vehicle there after paying just Rs. 50 as entry fee for vehicle.Really very nice experience. we would love to go again and again. thanks to Mr. Munish pal who allow us to come even after we postponed our holiday. Great hospitality. 110% recommendable place. Please go for 3 nights if going from delhi.

Room Tip: If you are going with kids of in family of 4person you should take the super luxury cottage (my name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelhiNeeraj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The place is not very far from NCR and thus the ride was comfortable. There are 3 very tastefully decorated and highly spacious cottages. The bedroom is huge with a separate area for reading with lots of good books already there for you to choose. Separate sit-out to enjoy nature. The bathroom are equally big and very clean. Home made food is delicious though there is less variety or options.
We enjoyed the beautiful water fall which just 1 km from the resort. The whole atmosphere is very refreshing and rejuvenating. People who want to take a break from busy life and just rest, this place is ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paramita_Mukh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sirmour
0.5 mi away
The TOY Hotel
The TOY Hotel
#5 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#4 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
#3 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Winnies Holiday Resort
Winnies Holiday Resort
#1 of 16 in Kasauli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
2.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Writer's Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Writer's Hill

Property: Writer's Hill
Address: Near Renuka Lake | Writer's Hill, Sirmour 173022, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Sirmour
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sirmour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Writer's Hill Sirmour, India - Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing