We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jayesh”
Review of Maikal Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bargi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maikal Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Bargi B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

it was a nice place. we enjoyed cruise and boating over their... the see view is very beautiful. .. we saw bergi dam and marble rock places near the resort............ we enjoy water fall near the resort. ..

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Jgheewala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 29 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

The stay was fantastic. MP tourism does all the best it can do. The location of resort is just above the DAM. At night you hear the water hitting the walls. Wake up at 6 am, to enjoy the locale. Walk down to main DAM site, to see water gushing and hear the thunderous sound. The best time to go is POST monsoon. The best was sighting the SPARROW. The only issue is night flies which fill the CORRIDORS.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATULDADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The only negative thing I can say about the hotel is that it is 40 km from Jabalpur, but the travel felt unending, especially since we were driving from Pachmarhi. For around 15-20 km, there is absolutely nothing on both sides of the road.
Having said that, the rest of the experience was really good. The rooms are spacious and open out into the lovely nothingness of the Bargi dam. Just what you need to relax! The room service is good, and once you call up the reception they are prompt to respond. The food (vegetarian only, not even eggs) was the best we had had in all the MP Tourism hotels, was served hot, and was wholesome. The breakfast took some time in coming, but if you are there to relax, you can easily overlook the fact. The property has only 6 rooms, at present, but guests are well looked after.
One can enjoy water sports at the dam after 11:00 AM.
Our parting gift came in the form of a wonderful, soul soothing, lazy sunrise...and was like a farewell gift as we were ending our MP tour at Bargi.
If you are looking for some hustle bustle and being near the city, this is not a good option. But, if you want to get away from the noise and get some peace, the Bargi resort is the perfect option.
A round trip to Jabalpur from Bargi will cost you Rs 2200 (for six hours); SUVs will cost Rs 2500.

Room Tip: The hotel has only 6 rooms, but room 106 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alokananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

we stayed at Maikal resort on 6th jan 2014 only for one night and kept wishing if I could extend my stay there by at least one more day. The resort is MP tourism property and the price at which it was available, it was a steal.... It is situated right on the bank of the river with balconies of the room extending over the river bank. It is in close proximity to the Bargi dam and the hotel (perhaps the only option available) is situated right on the reservoir. The hotel has around six rooms and are well managed, clean and staffed well. The bathrooms are hygienic, room linens are clean , room service is good, quality of food is also good. Right next to hotel, guests also get the option to board jetty and take a round of the reservoir for almost 45 mins at a reasonable cost. The hotel also has children playing area with some basic rides available for kids. Hotel rooms give excellent view of the sunset and sunrise.. I would personally recommend the hotel stay for 1-2 days if one is travelling this part of the country.

Room Tip: all the rooms give excellent views, so no particular area has not specific advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank madhup_bansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Resort - It is located right on the banks of Bargi dam. I have visited many beach side hotels/resorts. But none of those had rooms right on the waterfront. This resort has rooms right on the waterfront such that the podium/terrace of the room has pillar right in the water. This gives an excellent view of the Bargi dam. The location is just fab. People come here mainly for water sports for a day visit. Very few come for the stay. They have only 6 rooms. There are some more rooms under construction. But, MP tourism has done a great job by building up this resort. The resort has small area for kids to play. We went there from Bhedaghat. The short-route to Bargi was broken so it was closed. So we went through Jabalpur. The short route is in really bad condition. So avoid it. The road through Jabalpur is comparitively good. Still it takes around 1hr to reach Bargi from Jabalpur.

Rooms - Rooms open up on the dam side. The wall facing the waterbody has 70% glass. So when you open up the curtains, it gives a fantastic view of the waterbody. The dam is huge. So it appears as if your room is on a sea-shore. The resort is away from the busy city. There is so silence in the environment that if you stand in the terrace, you can hear the sound of waves striking the shore. Each room has been provided with a terrace which opens up exactly on the waterfront. The room is very spacious with all required amenities. There is a small attached room for storage and a big bathroom. Everything is neat and clean. Rooms are facind South so from the room you can observe both Sunrise and Sunset. I had got-up from 5:30AM just to experience the morning bliss and it was wonderful as the sun started coming out...

Food - Food was OK. Not very great but good. They serve only veg food and have very limited choices. The breakfast was also nice.

Staff - Staff is nice and always smiling. They have done a great job keeping the resort in a wonderful condition.

Overall, it's a fantastic resort and everyone visiting MP should take a day off to visit this place and spend a night there. It is just 30KM away from Jabalpur.

Room Tip: Any room, it's fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kedar-KeKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

MP tourism has done a great job with this place. They have only 6 rooms. So the place is very cosy. All rooms have wall length windows that overlook the Narmada river to the eastern side. So make sure you go to bed with the curtains opened for an absolute treat in the morning. The speed boat was fun. We also did a 45 minute cruise on the river. They need a minimum 20 people for that. Its pretty inexpensive. So if u really want a nice time on a cruise with a small private group you can just book the entire cruise and have a great time. Food was good. Not great. You can walk on the dam in the morning and evening for a great view. Extremely friendly staff who always wear a great smile and make sure their cheerfulness is infectious.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Jayanth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were to stay in Jabalpur for one night , so the MPTourism marketing off.suggested that instead of Jabalpur why not give Bargi a try........and yes it was 100 % upto the mark. We reached late at night by 8pm since our flight from Bombay got delayed. This place is 30 kms. form Jabalpur. It was dark when we reached the place , but the next morning was a scene out of the world. We were literally staying on water. Thge location is very good, food & service excellent..........and a place where u get to relax. I suggest 2 days max.at Bargi , nothing much to do thruout the day as it gets preety hot...but evenings r too good over the cool waters....The place is a little isolated from Jabalpur city & I suggest u have ur own car. The rooms r well equipped with AC,a Mini Fridge & a TV. Very clean well manitained rooms. Boating facilities start at 10 in the morning.

Room Tip: all the rooms are facing the backwatres and have an excellent view of the dam , if u have elders wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Madhumeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maikal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maikal Resort

Address: Bargi, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Bargi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bargi
Price Range: $40 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing