We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort??????? give me a Break, 4.5 star?????????????”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mandarmoni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bombay Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mandarmoni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Please someone explain the meaning of resort to the owner of this Guest house, btw this is not even look like a guest house.
I visited this hotel in last week of june 2013. Now i laugh at myself, how did i get fooled by trip adviser reviews...i followed the 4.5 rating and selected the resort without further checking and that was the biggest mistake....
Pros...
1. Superb view
2. Closest to Beach,it cant ask for more.In high tide waves are actually touching the boundry of the guest house.

Cons:
1. Terrible road.... actually there is no road to reach the resort,finding this resort is a tough task.
2. No telephones,yeah landline are there in the rooms but there is no connection,so you have to go to balcony and call the owner/staff for any thing and dont mind if they dont come for next half an hour.
3.No cleanliness, Staff-dirty, rooms- Dirty(due to ongoing constructions),
4.Room Service :- Go to balcony shout out loud,harder you shout faster the room service.
5.No covered parking, Drivers lodging is in complete mess.
6.Kitchen:the worst part is kitchen,menu is awful, alu? potol? bhindi? who eat these in hotels? Taste is as good as Rs. 10 per plate food on the nearby road.There is no restro,no place to eat,only plastic tables.Cook OMG if you see the kitchen or the cook you will go on fast for sure never seen so much mess at one place.
7.Thats it.
Only request - dont follow the rating blindly.

Room Tip: change your plans.....
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vishnu7002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay Beach Re... M, Manager at Bombay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are sincerely sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectation with our hospitality and service provided. Your comments have been shared and addressed with the all concerned for rectification.
However if you had followed Trip Advisor, BBR is clearly listed under Bed & Breakfast category, with all amenities mentioned. Where as the definition of resort - "A place that is a popular destination for vacations or recreation, or which is frequented for a particular purpose". Going by this definition we had named our property as Bombay Beach Resort.
To address your concern point by point :
1. Owing to its beautiful beaches, Mandarmoni is just starting to become a tourist hotspot, hence the infrastructure is still improving gradually. All major Resorts (including 5*) in Mandarmoni have worse road condition leading up to their property. However in our case there are plans to improve the small 200 mtrs. stretch of rough approach road next to our property for better comfort.
2. Being a new property, hence telephone connection was not complete by June 2013. Its ready now.
3. As you have mentioned due to on going constructions, you have felt lack of cleanliness. As the construction of Restaurant is nearing completion, soon the property would be spick & span.
4. With telephone service working, one can get service at the click of a button.
5. No Resorts (including 5* category) have covered car parking in mandarmoni.
6. Our Restaurant construction alongwith Kitchen should be complete by end of next month.
We truly regret any inconvenience caused as a result and hope this experience will not deter you from returning to The Bombay Beach Resort in future.

The Management
Bombay Beach resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Bombay Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 158 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Visited mandarmani on the 16th of Sept'13. My first visit and it was awesome.... what made it even more special was theBOMBAY BEACH RESORT. My first experience at the RESORT will last me all my life.... the waves bouncing off the gaurdwalls boulders facing the beach ... took my breath away. All the rooms face the sea and though we were booked into the Room no B7 .. which was the best... and in every aspect Royalty... the other rooms were as spacious and very clean. We drove in from the adventure road which is a plus point as we did not have to wait for the tide to go back before driving along the beach to get to a resort. I loved the beach... the sea... the waves... the moon at night.... and it was all worthwhile because the staff at Bombay Beach were great and so was the resort... keep up the good work... will be dropping by again ;-)

Room Tip: Room no B7 , B8 ,B9.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank agarwalpreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay Beach Re... M, Manager at Bombay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, would convey your valued feedback to our staff for further motivation.

We look forward to welcome you all back again and wish you until then all the best.

Warm regards,

The Management
The Bombay Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My family trip, last week (6th to 10th sep'13) was one of the best resort experience in Mandarmoni. thanks to entire Resort Team of Bombay beach. Service, location, behaviour of the staffs, value for money ....all were superb & deserves special applause. view from all rooms are awesome , sea wave slashing at the resort boundary. i have no words for the thrilling experience of such closeness to nature. Door step arrangement for para-gliding.

Room Tip: First floor rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vishal_Singh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay Beach Re... M, Manager at Bombay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope it will not take too long to welcome you all back again and wish you until then all the best.

Warm Regards,

The Management
BOMBAY BEACH RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The first look at this property said it all - they are not yet ready for guests. This is not a resort as the name suggests - this is at its best a guest house. But at a very serene location - actually so secluded that a morning walk on the beach may make you encounter many a constipated fishermen in their deep concentrated endeavours.
They don't even have a proper approach road and the way to the beach is over some boulders - not at all a very welcome thought for old people and small kids.
The room when we entered had a wet floor- apparently the plumber had just fixed the bath tub - the toilet had no space left because of that apparatus. I had paid in advance for a cot but what I got was a mattress. But Vineet the owner was gracious enough to provide me three mattresses so that I ended up having a small bed. This was the best room in the hotel but it did not have a telephone, it did not have any toilet hangers in the toilet and soap rack, no geyser and no proper shower - one has to hop into the tub to have a shower. It had a broken tile at the corner which served as an open drain.
The menu was horrible and so was the service. Apparently, you may order what ever you wish for. They then try to source it in the local market. If it is available then it is bought and if not then they don't even care to inform you. You only get to know when you see its absent at the table. Ha table! they don't even have a restaurant - food is always served in the room or out in the garden. there is one sweaty cook for the nearly 15 rooms. You may order hours before but they will serve when they want to and that too after hours of prodding. The manager Pandey ji is a character, who will say that he will resolve all issues in 5 minutes. All those guests with a sweet tooth will suffer badly, no dessert at all as they don't even have a freezer.
The service boys are always smiling - which doesn't make up for their foolishness or lack of training. the will serve omelettes without a spoon, snacks without tissues. They never collect dishes unless they have a severe shortage back in the pantry. Cleaning up tables seems to be a part of the guests job. They don't start the pumps on time and during bath and bed times there is a hue and cry.. Sadly they even forget to switch off the pumps and at the din of the night you can hear the water tank overflowing.
And to top it all, at the end of the stay, I was given a bill - correct to the last paise but in the name of my father who was couple of hundred kilometres away from the place.

But these are petty things - I did enjoy my trip. the view from the room was great, the beach in front clean, the garden looked beautiful at night and the behaviour of the staff was immaculate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gshubho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay Beach Re... M, Manager at Bombay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.
There are few points we would like to point out :
1. Mandarmoni being a new tourist hot spot, hence the infrastructure is still improving gradually. All major Resorts (including 5*) in Mandarmoni have worse road condition leading up to their property. However in our case there are plans to improve the small 200 mtrs. stretch of rough approach road for better comfort.
2. The way to the beach is not over boulders, but by a side lane, which we are surprised and sorry you were not aware of.
3. There has been a misunderstanding with the travel agent because firstly this particular deluxe room was under renovation and secondly we don’t provide cot but mattresses for extra person as is generally done by all resorts. However we did our best to make a small bed to make you feel comfortable.
4. By end of next month construction work (for Restaurant and new Kitchen) should be complete to enable you enjoy your food from our sea facing shack restaurant.
However we assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.


Warm Regards

The Management
Bombay Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Visited Mandarmani from 9-11 Augus 2013t. Right after a year of visiting Goa.The sea looked beautiful the waves were strong.The hotel was so near to the sea. We spent hours at night sitting on the boulders watching the tide. Hotel service was good though there were less working than it was needed.But the best part obviously was the hotels proximity to the sea.I would suggest not to take room A7.The door lock was not working and there was always water logged in the bathroom.though I don't know it is fixed or not by now.

Room Tip: Take room A6 for best view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanusree1435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The place is right on the beach with an amazing view of the sea from all first floor rooms. The beach area in front of the resort is relatively cleaner than other places on the stretch. You can swim and play all day and enjoy the beautiful sunset in the evening.
The staff is very friendly and will get you whatever you want but not on time.
A TT table and fooseball would be great.
I'll visit again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pranay5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Was on a few days holiday in Kolkata from London. Took a trip to mandarmani and pounced upon this place. Right on the beach, quite, clean with superb service, food. Great place and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mohit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandarmoni
2.7 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Mandarmoni
12.0 mi away
Hotel Dolphin
Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 21 in Digha
244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Masara Beach Resort
Masara Beach Resort
#9 of 9 in Mandarmoni
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Rohini International Digha
13.4 mi away
Hotel Santiniketan
Hotel Santiniketan
#4 of 21 in Digha
161 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cozzet Hotel New Digha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bombay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bombay Beach Resort

Address: Dandanpatrabar, Mandarmoni 721445, India
Location: India > West Bengal > East Midnapore District > Mandarmoni
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mandarmoni
Price Range: $12 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Bombay Beach Resort Mandarmoni, West Bengal, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing