We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Mandarmoni
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mandarmoni
Reviewed July 12, 2013

rooms are shabby....toilets not all properly maintained....the a.c doesn't work properly....they are not a.c rather coolers.... the restaurant is a disaster....they cook "milkmaid prawn" instead of "prawn malaikari."......over priced....i have never stayed in such a horrible hotel before....don't go by the name of the hotel....its a terrific place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambika_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 177 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

after u enter the hotel u will find the bad response of the receptionist.the floor manager and room service is the worst .the food is also of bad quality all sort of stale foods. the hotel is not clean and cleaning the hotel is not done once in a full moon also.
there is no rule in the swimming pool
peoples are jumping in the pool with the shoes and with cottton vest...

their motto is to take out the $$ from your pocket without providing a good facility.

i prefer not to visit it anytime

Room Tip: in this hotel the rooms are big but all the rooms are dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanmoym8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

• We reached the hotel at 12:45 pm and were forced to wait in the scorching sun as the rooms were not ready, although the check-in time is 12 noon.
• When we entered the room the sight was horrible (it’s a premium room with charges of approx. 4000 per day). Foul smell, spider-webs, dirty walls, dirty linen etc. We were forced to supervise the complete cleaning activity to make the room clean.
• Room service is equally horrible. I had to make 10 calls to the room service to get a cup of tea.
• When we reached the hotel we were informed that the room air-conditioner will not be working for four and a half hours every day. I think it is MakeMyTrip’s responsibility to convey this information to customers about this hotel.
• On the second night we saw that the hotel lawn was rented by a group of youngsters who got drunk and danced making it impossible for people to take a walk in the hotel premises with families.
• You have to request the hotel room service many times to get the bed-sheet and towels changed every day. They were equally reluctant to clean the room every day.
• The swimming pool water looked very dirty and the group of drunken youngsters were swimming like crazy...
• On the second day the toilet cistern stopped working and they spent three hours working on that..
• Last but not the least, our experience with the hotel was horrible and i would request everyone to stay away from this hotel...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Basav_Mitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked this hotel in one days notice in Mandarmani. We wanted to leave overcrowded Digha. There is no doubt that this hotel is having a pleasing ambiance and spread out very well. Plenty of space to walk inside the hotel perimeters and dotted with benches to rest, well manicured lawns add to the grandeur. We got sea front Premium A C Deluxe in 2nd floor offering unobstructed ocean view. Even when the power is not there the gust of sea wind makes up for the absence of AC. Yes the power is a problem for all hotels in Mandarmani. There is load shedding both morning and evening. The DG power is only for light and fan. This hotel has its own swimming pool. The room service is satisfactory.
The restaurant smells of fish. As breakfast is complement in CP so one can not get breakfast in the room. The buffet spread of BF is not much to talk about.
The restaurant does not match with the hotel .
The last 5 to 6 kms of road is really bad as one has to travel by kuchcha road by taking a detour behind the hotel. There is hardly space for vehicles to cross each other coming from opposite directions. The development authorities of that area better does something about that road. I am mentioning it hear so that hotel management can bring pressure otherwise during rainy season this road will be responsible for accidents.
On the whole our stay was quite comfortable and enjoyed the unobstructed ocean view to the hilt.

Room Tip: The front rooms 205,206 in first floor and rooms 305,306 in 2nd floor are sea facing and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The location of the hotel is good. Rooms are ok but no comfortable sitting arrangement in room. Room service is good. Food is also ok. But the reception people are hopeless. For check in it takes atleast 2 hrs to get a room (inspite of 100% advance paid booking) which is very painful after such a long drive. Same at the time of check out. You have to stand in a "q" and they will start adding up your food bills since you checked in, which they could have kept ready before.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nroy_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel rooms offer an excellent sea view. Stayed for two nights.The atmosphere is serene and tranquil. The rooms lack comfortable seating arrangements.The place is excellent but not properly maintained. Food is of run of the mill types.Should also have recreational facilities for children.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panchali13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is situated right on the water front, probably violating numerous rules and regulation, like almost all the hotels of this place.

ROOMS : We had a so called premium sea facing room,which situated at the back of the property. From there you can see the sea as the "conditions apply" print in a offer in the smallest possible font size. The entrance to this building is through the washroom of the restaurant. The rooms are spacious, but all other things are missing. the rooms are ill maintained, the cistern and other fittings in the bathroom generally do not work. We had two rooms and faced this problem in both the rooms, The bathroom are made in such a way that all the water from the shower spills all over the bathroom which then tends to enter the room. They tried to imitate the bathroom of Novotel, Vizag, but they failed miserably. The water flows slowly and if you want to take a both after bathing the sea, you should keep the buckets filled beforehand. The AC is kept off by the management twice a day.

Restaurant : In a word, below average. Only quality food was the crab. One suggestion, never order which is suggested by the waiter. They always try to sell the excess from earlier order. They dont have a bar!
.
Room service : WORST ever seen by me,

Front Office : Unprofessional, misbehaving staffs. Can you imagine that after paying the bills at the reception, the security will block your car at the main gate, 5m away to check your bill whether you have paid the bill or not, none from the front desk will inform the security that this car is to be allowed to go and the bills are settled. When I charged the receptionist, he said that it is the system all over the world. I don't know, which world he was referring to.

Others : Sometimes part of the hotel is booked for corporate events. By chance if are there at that time you are going to face 100 times worse experience, whatever you may ask for will be delayed and the excuse will be "we were busy with the package guests". There will be loud musics long into the night. The lawn and front sitting area will become off limit to you. So you will be a second class resident, but paying the same, if not more than the package people.

Summary : DON'T BE HERE

Room Tip: No tips, just one thing. Don't be here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Saikat1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandarmoni
2.7 mi away
Bombay Beach Resort
Bombay Beach Resort
#4 of 9 in Mandarmoni
159 reviews
59.1 mi away
Massara Beach Resort
Massara Beach Resort
#9 of 9 in Mandarmoni
54 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Dolphin
Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 22 in Digha
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel Santiniketan
Hotel Santiniketan
#5 of 22 in Digha
164 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Rohini International Digha
11.1 mi away
Cozzet Hotel New Digha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonar Bangla - Mandarmoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla - Mandarmoni

Address: Mandarmoni Beach Road | Kalindi Post, Dist. Purba Midnapu, Mandarmoni 721455, India
Location: India > West Bengal > East Midnapore District > Mandarmoni
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mandarmoni
Price Range: $35 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonar Bangla - Mandarmoni 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonar Bangla - Mandarmoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Mandarmoni West Bengal, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing