We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice short stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mandarmoni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Candlewood Park beach resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Mandarmoni B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice short stay”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We traveled between Durga Puja and Lakshmi Puja and most of the hotels were totally booked. So we were not left with much choice. Luckily we were fortunate to stay here though we had to pay 60% more than the normal rate. We stayed in the couple of beach front villas as there were no rooms available to accomodate 5 person.
Pros :
Great sea view. Rooms are quite large with fair ammenities and can easily accomodate 3 person. Though we were advised to have food from outside, we tried our luck here during dinner and unlike other reviews, the food was great. But that all depends on the cook who was temp over there. Playground and Beach was quite easily accessible and fairly clean.

Areas of inprovement :
AC was outdated but was working fine. More time should be given to clean the room between previous checkout. Restaurant needs renovation big time. There are no fixed rates for the rooms and you have to very much depend on your bargaining skills, but that is the case with other hotels in the area as well.

Overall, I would recommend others to try out this place.

Room Tip: Try to book a villa near to the beach. Its better to reach early in the day and book on spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debananda_Sarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    100
    28
    9
    15
See reviews for
122
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I visited mandarmani in the month of september and booked an executive ac room from d kolkata office.property is good and at a good location but need some maintanace.
Whicha can be pointed out to the management in following points:
1)air conditions control should be done properly as most of the time it is not working and staff kills hours to check wheather it is working or not.
2)food quality is not upto the mark as it is little expensive.
3)they sud provide atleast complimentry breakfast and mineral water.
4)although there is a bath tub in all rooms but that is not well mentained and no one would like to take bath in that bathtub.
5)staff should be well trained as per hospatility industry.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guwahati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

one of d best beach resort in my life...we people spend most beautiful moments in there that will never forget in my life...mainly in the beach where we have done lots of fun and with a special 3 wheeler scooter. Thanks to THE CANDLEWOOD PARK and your stuff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jUbIn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

on the beach. Rooms are bigger than other hotels. But lack of proper maintenance.
food is not good. u cant expect all types of foods u wish. to get service, need to go to balcony to call hotel guys; intercom phone device is there, but no dial tone. 4 hrs per day, AC connection will be disconnected. if you are there in weekdays, u may face so many problems, due to less service.
I think you can get better option for the amount you are paying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aveekin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

nice hotel with good location and well maintained big rooms. food service and quality was excellent. the view from balcony is the best. kids enjoyed the private park more than anything else. awaiting the spa service to start. overall impression is value for money and highly recommended.

Room Tip: 1st floor south side rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anishdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I would advice my fellow traveller's to shy away from this place. It is a shame indeed because given this hotel's location which is bang on the beach it could have been excellent had they run it well. We only chose this place as most other hotels were full.
The rooms are dusty, lights do not work and they didn't even bother to change them. The bathroom was unhygienic. They charged INR 2300 for an AC room but the AC did not work half the time as they would switch off the main power. We had to toss and turn when it would get warm at night.
Don't even get me started about the service. Every time we ordered a meal or tea or snacks they would take a lifetime to serve. The food was sub-standard.
When we visited Mandarmani, the weather was nice and breezy. We loathed the hotel as much as we loved the beach so we ended up sitting outside our rooms most of the time and went in just to sleep.
Also, some guests decided to play loud unsavoury music till the wee hours of the night and the hotel management (whatever there is - seems to be run by a security guard) did nothing about it!

Room Tip: Stay away. But if you are left with no other option then select the room G1 or those near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukeEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandip M, Manager at The Candlewood Park beach resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2015
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. I shall definitely look into the matter and go to the depth of the incident which you faced in your holiday vacation. I will provide necessary training for the same to avoid the complaint we would be happy to welcome you once again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

been there in last week of feb with my family, well decorated property.very friendly staff ,
good quality food spl Bengali cuisine.my 5 yrs old daughter got a royal treatment .
only few yrds away from sea beach ,wide open space for all for relaxing ,,
really enjoyed those few days. i m referring all my frnds to go there and enjoy there hospitality..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debarshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandarmoni
0.0 mi away
Masara Beach Resort
Masara Beach Resort
#8 of 9 in Mandarmoni
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Dolphin
Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 21 in Digha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Marina Drive Inn
Aqua Marina Drive Inn
#1 of 14 in Mandarmoni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sea Sand
Hotel Sea Sand
#5 of 14 in Mandarmoni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Digante Resort
Digante Resort
#8 of 14 in Mandarmoni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ajoy Minar Hotel
Ajoy Minar Hotel
#2 of 19 in Mandarmani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Candlewood Park beach resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Candlewood Park beach resort

Property: The Candlewood Park beach resort
Address: Post Dadan Patra Bar | Village Sonamui,, Mandarmoni 721455, India
Location: India > West Bengal > East Midnapore District > Mandarmoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mandarmoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
The Candlewood Park Beach Resort Mandarmoni, West Bengal, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing