We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'Holesome' experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Masara Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mandarmoni
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A 'Holesome' experience.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was my second visit to Mandarmoni and like my last trip, this time also I did not get a booking in Rose Valley (the most popular hotel in Mandarmoni). As far as the room tariff is concerned, Masara charges same or may be a little more than Rose Valley. There are a few cottages on one side and a bigger two storied building on the other side. In this building the ground floor rooms are "Garden view rooms" and the 1st floor rooms are "Sea View rooms". We had booking for "Sea View", however upon reaching the room we saw that the sea is not visible from the room and you need to go out in the corridor to get a view of the sea. The room is brightly lit and specious. The bed and other furniture are good. Bathroom is clean and fittings are top class. The AC worked flawlessly.
Now the most bizarre part. There was big hole (approx 4 feet in diameter) in the roof which opened in a small attic like room above. This small overhead room was empty and had a single door which opened in the roof. This door was open and anybody could enter the attic room from the roof and can peep through the hole to check on us !!! I went to the roof, entered the attic room and peeped to my room through the hole to confirm the same. One more surprise was that the attic room can only be locked from inside and there were no means to come down to my room through that whole after locking it. It was a straight drop of 10 to 12 feet.
I called the staff and found out that there are future plans of having a swimming pool on roof. There will be a spiral staircase in the room which will provide a private access to the pool through the attic. This grand plan failed to amuse me, because in its present condition it was a serious threat to my privacy. We were considering the option of cancelling our reservation at Masara and checking other hotels for a room. At this point a room attendant brought a ladder, climbed through the hole, locked the attic door from inside and again climbed down through that ladder. The guy had to use all his acrobatic skills, as the ladder was much shorter than the height of the room. However, finally the issue was resolved and I reconfirmed that it would not be possible to enter the attic from the roof any more.
The rest of the stay was comfortable and I don't have much to complain about. The 42 inch Sony Bravia mounted on the room wall was brand new. The sleep quality and food were good.
There are some under construction and unfinished areas in the hotel premises, but those are hardly a botheration.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sayandip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    20
    14
    6
    11
See reviews for
31
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The resort is awesome with good quality food except only bengali food at very affordable rate and excellent service i recommend this resort as excellent but just i rated it as very good since its still under construction way far better than rose valley at room department,food quality,etc

Room Tip: for 2 person deluxe room is good but if add an xtra bed in the deluxe room for 3 person in my point...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaushik826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Visited Mandamoni June 29-July 01 and stayed at Masara Beach Resort. First, reaching the resort is a big pain. It is not advisable to drive on the beach once the monsoon sets in as the beach is full of mud. A number of cars got stuck up and the local help comes at a price tag Rs 5000. There is a kachcha (morum) road on the back side. The road is narrow and, at some places, it may test your driving skills when another car passes by. Driving through this road we reached Mandarmoni end and hit the beach to once again drive back towards the resort. During high tide, there is no way you can reach the place. The worst part was, reaching the resort we found there was no ramp to drive up the resort. There were only a few boulders. We tried with some sand bags but those were not sufficient for my Maruti Ritz. Finally, we could negotiate through a small sand dune and field to get in- fortunately the field was dry.
Heavy construction is on and the resort does not look like that shown in the picture on their website. However, the view from the resort is nice, the rooms are reasonably well-arranged and clean, food quality was good, and the staff very cooperative.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pratik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I went there with my son who was vacationing in kolkata in December 2010.I was not sure when I searched for hotels in mandarmoni because the usual preconceived idea about the beaches in India to most visitors is that they are not kept clean and most like Puri are very crowded and shabby.
Mandarmoni is just the opposite I have to say.The electricity supply has not yet reached but most of the hotels and resorts have generators.The sunset was exotic.We saw it on a ride on the local van ....a novelty.Since we walked and spent a lot of time on the beach,we got late for dinner at the resort and that brought us a unique opportunity...once in a while kind.we walked in the dark to a nearby dhaba...the only lights that guided us back and forth was from passing vans.Hot fish fry ,dal and rice with some salad provided us the greatest joy and filled our stomachs to the brim.
the alu dum and puris at the resort for breakfast ended up as a great surprise...too tasty for words.Our room was a cottage style one ..very pretty giving us a the great view of the pristine beach and fishermen at work with fish,crabs,dhows etc.Overall it was one of my best trips.

Room Tip: Cottages are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FannyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We booked this hotel for a weekend mandarmani trip on last august. The location of the Hotel is very good. In the front side of the hotel there is a lawn from where you can see the beach very well. We had spent some leisure time by lying on big chairs of the front lawn in morning and afternoon.
The hotel has cottage style room, every cottage has 2 adjacent rooms with attached bath. We had booked one cottage. The rooms and bathrooms are good by looks. But in bathroom there were some cockroach and big ant.
The dining room is a different cottage. But the number of table was not sufficient because at the time of lunch and dinner sometime there were a queue for food. The food of this hotel was good especially the Bengali dishes ware good. A big team of foreigner was staying in the hotel that time, I think for that reason in dinner one/two item was short as they were not prepared for that much of people. We had taken room service for dinner as the dining room was full, the service was fine. The cost of the food is bit costly but quality was good.
We saw the sunrise from the beach in front of Masara the sunrise view was nice. There is a ‘mohana’ (end of a river to the sea) 10 min away from hotel, the communication is by local three wheeler (‘Troly’ in local language). We saw some red crab there. We saw sun set there. The weather was bit cloudy that time. I think shiny weather will be more pleasant in Mandarmani.
For Mandarmani Trip Masara Beach resort is good, the location of hotel is good for sea beach view and within the hotel/resort its good for evening walk, the reception adjacent little pond and plum tree add some village like looks. Normally the tariff of masara resort is bit high but got some discount that time, the discounted price was ok. Allover it’s good to family/friends trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kolkataReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandarmoni
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dolphin
Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 21 in Digha
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amarabati
Hotel Amarabati
#2 of 2 in Bakkhali
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cozzet Hotel New Digha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rohini International Digha
0.0 mi away
The Ffort Raichak
The Ffort Raichak
#1 of 2 in Raichak
315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aqua Marina Drive Inn
Aqua Marina Drive Inn
#1 of 15 in Mandarmoni
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masara Beach Resort

Property: Masara Beach Resort
Address: Sonamue, Mandarmoni 721455, India
Location: India > West Bengal > East Midnapore District > Mandarmoni
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mandarmoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Masara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masara Beach Resort Mandarmoni, West Bengal, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing