We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pet friendly hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mandarmoni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sana Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mandarmoni
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A pet friendly hotel”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We picked up this place so that we could take our dog with us . The hotel has a wide range of rooms , some are good and some just about average. The property is nice to spend a couple of days . It is a beach facing property . A nice getaway for residents of Kolkata but not worthwhile coming from out of the state or the country. Nice place to go with children as the beach is quite shallow and safe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pbirla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    87
    44
    26
    24
See reviews for
111
41
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Sana valley resort is on the quieter side of Mandarmani with lesser hustle bustle around. The lounge is a pretty comfortable area and you have loads of activities that you can do. They have a billiards table, a table tennis table, a gift shop and swimming pool. You can also play badminton in the lawn area or any other sport. The cottages are cosy and look cute from the outside. Room service is good. The resort is well maintained and they have comfortable beds. The restaurant also serves good food.

However, there are problems with electricity at Mandarmani so there are frequent powercuts.There is no running hot water available but if you call room service they will deliver hot water buckets to you pretty fast!

It takes a bit of an effort to get your car inside the resort since there is no pathway and the car tends to get stuck in the sand.

Overall, good fun filled experience at the resort! You can take long walks inside the resort after dark and it is quite safe. The staff is also helpful in answering any queries you have related to the beach!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chandreyi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Sana Beach is away from the chaos of the city live in Kolkata.The place is built keeping a nature theme in mind. There is lots of greenery in the resort and beach is a very shot walk from the resort. Food and service are good. The food is buffet style however you can talk to the catering staff and ask for your personal request to be made available as one of the buffet items. Overall, an amazing experience. Looking forward to a second trip already!!!

Room Tip: If you want a cosy room try the cottage rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank N_Gupta8707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burdwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Direct approach by road is a bit difficult. U have to go through beach if u want to reach comfortably. So check in before high tide in the evening. No running hot water in washroom. Will be given on demand by housekeeping in bucket. Restaurant is very dimly lit. Bengali cuisine is ok. Others are not so much. Hospitality, pool area, childrens area, open theatre and other open spaces are well maintained. Drivers accomodation and food is ok. Overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank csubhamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were forced into an all-inclusive food & board package for Christmas 2012. The food was buffet style and most of the non-indian items were tasteless. All chinese and continental dishes were nothing like the name represented. The dining room is bright fluorescent lit and blaring loud non-classy bollywood music. Due to the all-inclusive package, they directed all their staff to attend to the kitchen which led to ZERO room service. We ordered tea and snacks on 3 separate occasions and did not receive any in room. I had been very polite in Bengali the first day but I had to yell at management in English to get better service. That should not be.
On top of bad service, sub-par tasting food and high cost, they call themselves "Eco-friendly" while using styrofoam plates, plastic cups and dumping them everywhere. The whole village and beach is being destroyed by the hotels and tourists dumping plastic trash everywhere including the beaches.
I highly recommend staying at a decent lower cost place with a better view of the sea and eating at local shops. The prawn and crabs we ate at the little shack outside Sana Resort was much better than anything we had at the Sana resort.
We have traveled in many countries and we always travel with an open mind but this is a rip-off for close to $200/night accomodation. For that cost you can get awesoem hotels in New York city or Hawaii.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ayon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Mandarmoni Sana Beach Resort is about 190 kms from Kolkata. It took us almost 6 hours in the Maruti Zen Car which I was driving to reach Mandarmoni on 6th April, 2012 (Good Friday) -primarily due to a rush of tourists which caused massive traffic jams in the two bridges (Kolaghat & another on the way to Contai) as both were under major repairs. However, on the way back on the 8th, we did not experience such a Jam on the bridges, and it took us around 4 hrs excluding a long lunch break at Sher-e-Punjab Dhaba at Kolaghat. (Excellent food, A/C as well as open air seating - highly recommend that one has lunch/dinner here).
The Road upto Nandakumar (national highway) is excellent. After Nandakumar, the road narrows down to 2-lane. However, the condition of the road is good. Did not experience any Bumps/Speed Breakers. Once you enter the narrow Mandarmoni Road from Chowalkhola, your average speed would, however, be reduced to 10-15 kms per hour as you will experience a series of Bumps/Speed-Checkers every 50 meters or so. Once you land on the beach you need to drive around 5 kms or so along the beach (a great experience), to reach Sana Beach Resort – which is right on the Beach. The tide recedes after around 11:00 in the morning, so there is no point getting there too early, as one may not be able to drive down the beach in the high tide. The tide recedes till about 5 in the evening, leaving about ½ a Km wide beach – and several kilometres long to drive along. You can see the legendary Red Crabs, towards late afternoon/evening near Mohona, which is the confluence of a river and the sea, a couple of kilometres away. If you are not having a Car, you can drive down to Mohona in a Bhat-Bhatia, which is a large motorised Richshaw Van (will charge around Rs 100-150 for a round trip).
We stayed in Room no 109, at Sana Beach Resort. Large spacious A/C Room. But did not expect any luxury, considering the high amount charged. But this property has lots of space to move around and many activities are possible inside the resort, including swimming. We took the AP (all meals included, in the package). The buffet lunch and dinner was a let down. Rather tasteless food. I guess they should keep a good cook, and have more choices in the non-veg menu.
But this was an unique experience. We liked the Sana Beach Resort. It is a very safe place to stay. The staff was good and helpful. In spite of the Resort being fully booked during the time we were there, we did not feel any crowding of the place. Lots of parking place. We could par our car right in front of our Room. Driving for kilometres down the beach was an unique experience. And during the high tide, the sea water reaches almost upto the entrance of the Resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sumitro-Saha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is not a resort I'd recommend to anyone. The only saving grace are the pool and the food.

The rooms lack cleanliness, room service sucks and staff are not helpful. Showers do not work, drinks are priced exorbitantly, and there's an air of neglect about the place.

Stay away, and look elsewhere is what I would recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pushan_Banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandarmoni
8.8 mi away
Hotel Dolphin
Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 21 in Digha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Masara Beach Resort
Masara Beach Resort
#8 of 9 in Mandarmoni
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
10.6 mi away
Cozzet Hotel New Digha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Aqua Marina Drive Inn
Aqua Marina Drive Inn
#1 of 14 in Mandarmoni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Digante Resort
Digante Resort
#8 of 14 in Mandarmoni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sea Sand
Hotel Sea Sand
#5 of 14 in Mandarmoni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sana Beach Resort

Property: The Sana Beach Resort
Address: | Sana Beach, Mandarmoni 721461, India
Location: India > West Bengal > East Midnapore District > Mandarmoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mandarmoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Spa Resort of Mandarmani/Digha. Beach side Cafe- Friterie. Inside Cafe - Sourav. All rooms are AC. Largest Swimming Pool of East Coast Available:- Pool Table, TT, Carom, Chess, Badminton. Volleyball ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sana Beach Hotel Mandarmoni
The Sana Beach Resort Mandarmoni, West Bengal, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing