We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nalagarh
amritsar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Nalagarh fort resort is very beautifull place for break from hustle bustle of the cities. Rooms have both modern and royal touch. The place is peacefull. Staff is very courteous. They hav badminton ground, table tennis, carom, pool table, swimming pools. Must visit, but best months are november, december , january and February.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasminegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalagarh, Director of Sales at Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2015
Dear Mr Gill,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about us.

It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we are absolutely delighted to read that your stay at The Fort Nalagarh was comfortable and memorable. We strive to create bespoke experiences for all our guests and I happy to read that we were able to attain our target with you. I am glad that every element of the resort created a pleasant holiday experience for you and I thank you for your compliments to our team.

The team and I seek the opportunity of seeing you back soon.

Best regards,

Sanjay Thakur
Head Sales
The Fort Nalagarh
09811559496
sales@nalagarh.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    51
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
48
32
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very nice experience as my kids really enjoy staying here. All the crew members were very helpful and the food quality was very good. If again get a chance to visit Nalagarh...than definitely I'll stay in this fort only. For weekend trip its best place to stay, ambience is very good, full of freshness. It is good place to stay be it for family, couples, friends or official outing. If someone is really looking for recreation, than best place to stay.

Room Tip: Share the requirement with the manager and he'll allocate the best room which will fuullfill you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mukti1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalagarh, Director of Sales at Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2015
Dear Mr Mukti,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about us.

It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we are absolutely delighted to read that your stay at The Fort Nalagarh was comfortable and memorable. We strive to create bespoke experiences for all our guests and I happy to read that we were able to attain our target with you. I am glad that every element of the resort created a pleasant holiday experience for you and I thank you for your compliments to our team.

The team and I seek the opportunity of seeing you back soon.

Best regards,

Sanjay Thakur
Head Sales
The Fort Nalagarh
09811559496
sales@nalagarh.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We reached at 1300 hrs and they were checking out the previous night guests, they were apologetic and instantly upgraded to a Suite. Then they offered us welcome drinks which was fresh.. We waited for half an hour and when we checked in the suite was huge.. Amazing view with 2 small balconies..and well ventilated.. The service was great and so was the food.. and they helped us arrange an anniversary cake for midnight and got it exactly at 12 which really impressed me.. They have a big farm so the food was like home made and really good.. Overall an amazing experience for the family...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamratRawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortNalagarh, Director of Sales at Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2016
Dear Mr Rawat,

Our Team and myself, thank you for taking out your valuable time to share your candid and constructive feedback.

We wish to express our gratitude for the kind words of appreciation you have chosen to describe your stay with us and have shared your comments with the entire staff. It is comments such as yours that motivate our associates to offer even higher levels of excellence and we shall make every effort to continue to live up to your expectations in future as well .

It will be delightful to host you again during your next trip to Nalagarh and we assure you of the best of services at all times.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Thakur
9811559496
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulandshahr, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Been there when I was .. like 14.. thats almost 15yrs back..No idea abt the present status of the resort.. but at that time it was an epitome of heritage.. with huge room and larger than life bathrooms..Good if you stay with atleast 10-15 persons. The place may not have much to offer except for its historical rooms if you go as a couple.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surbhiseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I will strongly protest with those who are writing wrong/misleading information about this property like filthy rooms - staff looking for tips etc. Actually I think these people are back pack travellers who do not want to spend money for holiday and always ask for the cheapest room available and then starts complaining. In every property like this where a fort has been converted to hotel, one can find a wide range of rooms from luxury Maharaja suite - middle suite - luxury rooms to rooms where the servants of previous maharajas lived. I stayed there last weekend and got a superb service right from the moment when we entered. They offered us a suite by the name of Niana Darshan which was very specious with a big drawing room a bed room, two ac's and a really big washroom. One can see the entire Nalagarh - Shivalik range and Niana Devi mountains right from the suite windows. As we have taken the AP package, so they offered us buffet breakfast/Lunch/Dinner which was plenty and good in taste. As they were offering chicken every time, we casually asked for mutton in dinner and forgot. But was really surprised that they have cooked mutton especially for us in the dinner without any extra cost. During my stay I asked them to re-clean the swimming pool and it was done immediately. No body asked for any tip and room service was prompt. They even put up the net for badminton with lights when we asked for the same.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sudipto_bagchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortNalagarh, Director of Sales at Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2016
Dear Mr Bagchi,

Our Team and myself, thank you for taking out your valuable time to share your candid and constructive feedback.

We wish to express our gratitude for the kind words of appreciation you have chosen to describe your stay with us and have shared your comments with the entire staff. It is comments such as yours that motivate our associates to offer even higher levels of excellence and we shall make every effort to continue to live up to your expectations in future as well .

It will be delightful to host you again during your next trip to Nalagarh and we assure you of the best of services at all times.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Thakur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We arrived mid afternoon - we being 5 female "Baby Boomers" to discover that we had to carry our own hand luggage and assorted bags up several very precipitous stone steps although the main luggage was eventually delivered to our rooms. Having toured India in the 80's I have stayed in property like this before but I am sad to find out that they still exist. The food was delicious, hot and plentiful, the wine was good and service reasonably attentive, especially at departure time when all actions were focused on securing a good tip. The property itself is very interesting - an historic fort although much extended but the rooms need a good "Hotel Inspector" make- over. If the pile of spare mattresses in the open store cupboard were indicative of the ones in use - they should have been burned a long time ago. The rooms were very dark and although furnished with a certain old world charm, they were dusty, bleak, uninviting and felt grubby. We chatted to the owner - the 29th generation of his family to live here - but we felt that his focus was misguided. He was proud of the swimming pool and Go-Kart track he had built but we ached to tell him that he would have been wiser to invest his money on the guest rooms and training his surly reception staff. A word of warning don't book here if you have limited mobility - the fort affords stunning views but you won't be able to climb up the steps to see it. I am disappointed with myself that this review is not good but i do mean it to constructive.

Room Tip: Ok for backpackers and those with a sense of adventure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geebee9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The trip was amazing and so was the stay at Nalagarh Fort resort..stayed in one of the Grand family suites...felt like a princess due to their hospitality and grandieur furniture...everything was grand, be it sofa, be it washroom or be it the lavish dinner...Staff is very friendly with quick service. Great location...we.nt to Bhakra nangal dam too from there, 2 days stay was superb and my family thoroughly enjoyed including the swimming pool, badminton court and the lawn tennis court

Room Tip: Suites are the best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunitisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalagarh, Director of Sales at Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about us.

It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we are absolutely delighted to read that your stay at The Fort Nalagarh was comfortable and memorable. We strive to create bespoke experiences for all our guests and I happy to read that we were able to attain our target with you. I am glad that every element of the resort created a pleasant holiday experience for you and I thank you for your compliments to our team.

The team and I seek the opportunity of seeing you back soon.

Best regards,

Sanjay Thakur
Head Sales
The Fort Nalagarh
09811559496
sales@nalagarh.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nalagarh
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Park
18.9 mi away
Winnies Holiday Resort
Winnies Holiday Resort
#1 of 16 in Kasauli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
19.7 mi away
Timber Trail Heights
Timber Trail Heights
#2 of 6 in Parwanoo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Moksha Himalaya Spa Resort
7.3 mi away
Legend Sarovar Portico
2.9 mi away
Hotel Gianz
Hotel Gianz
#5 of 8 in Baddi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort

Property: Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort
Address: Rajmahal, Nalagarh, Nalagarh Tehsil 174101, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Nalagarh Tehsil > Nalagarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nalagarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nalagarh Fort Resort is located atop a hillock with a panoramic view of the Shivalik Hills. Nalagarh Resort rises above a 20 acre estate of forest and orchards and is built on five levels, two of which have well-manicured lawns. The fort and the palace of Nalagarh have a series of structures that are mostly built in the Mughal style of architecture. These have been exhaustively renovated and are now a quality heritage resort. The retreat is closely enveloped by green hills. Nalagarh was the capital of the kingdom of Hindur founded by Raja Ajai Chand in 1100 A.D. It was ruled by the Chandela Rajputs. The Chandela kings were great patrons of art and architecture. Raja Ram Chander, another illustrious ruler of the same dynasty, was also a great builder who constructed the Ramgarh Fort and the town of Ram-shaher. Raja Surendra Singh was the last ruler of Nalagarh and his son, Raja Vijayendra is the present ceremonial head of Nalagarh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nalagarh Fort Hotel Nalagarh
Nalagarh Fort Himachal Pradesh
Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing