We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only "at par" choice for non HPTDC (tourism) stay at Kalpa”
Review of Kinner Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinner Villa
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We visited Kalpa for 4 nights in July. The hotel is a basic accommodation with good staff. Pretty much all hotels are very basic in Kalpa. If you decide to visit Kalpa, you must stay here if you cant get into or dont want to stay at the tourism hotel.

This hotel has 2 floors. The top floor offers better views than the ground floor rooms. The reason being the height of the trees next to your room.The bathrooms are very basic like in a non - star hotel; but then for the isolated place that kalpa is, it is a very good choice to make. The water was hot and beds warm at night. The bedsheets were clean and rooms were cleaned everyday.

Most people staying in Kalpa came to eat here, especially during dinner. The tourism hotel has a limited variety of non-veg food. If you are buying an all meal plan, you might be making the correct choice as options to eat in Kalpa are limited, especially if you are there for more than 2 nights.

To give you an idea of the location of the hotel. If you are facing the kinnaur mountains, the tourism hotel is kind of in the middle of the range and this hotel is to the rightmost end of kalpa in the same line / altitude. The views don't change much except for the angle

I felt this hotels location is better than the tourism's as the areas near the tourism hotel had garbage along its water streams leading into the river / valley.

We had a private sitting lounge in our room (208), but we hardly used it as we sat with other guests in the common sitting verandah facing the entire kinnaur range during bonfires and dinner. They have a den for a single traveller as well.

The manager Mr. Purohit (pretty much a one-man show) is very efficient and remembers all your food & beer choices well. The main chef will cook something out of the menu if you ask him for it, provided the hotel has the ingredients. The owner Mr. Negi stays next to the hotel and is a nice person to talk to.

There is no facility that caters spas and swimming pools and bars in or around Kalpa. this village is home to probably 500 people. Its like being in Ladakh where bare essentials make a huge difference to your quality of stay.

I recommend this hotel to couples, families with small children, friends, etc. When I go back to Kalpa, I will stay here again, without a doubt.

There is a small tea shop in the village which serves good coffee / tea, momos, maggi, eggs & bread. It is frequented by foreigners and backpackers. There's also a small grocery shop where you would find essential supplies such as batteries, tissues, or toothpaste.

I woke up early in the morning at 530 am and roamed around kalpa to get a real sense of this 1 kilometer diameter beautiful world heritage village which makes you feel like you're standing at the edge of the world. The views from my room's window to the end of the village near the school were ever changing and awe inspiring.

Good luck and happy hiking.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor facing the mountain range. The hotel is a 'C' shaped build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChintanSheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 63 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

A lot of hotels can give good service during high season. But in a place where almost all the hotels are closed (because of inclement weather) and refuse to even take a booking, here was a hotel where Mr. Negi (Owner) guided us on the weather. He also called us to let us know that the weather was clear and they are ready to serve us at this time of the year (18-19th December 2012). In sub zero temperature the hotel not only offered us Hot and Cold running water, Room Heater, Clean Blankets, fresh and hot homelike Indian meals but an attitude to service their guests well. They also arranged our trip to Sangla Valley and Chhitkul. I also feel that this is the best located hotel in Kalpa to get the best view of the Kinner Kailash Range. A big thank you to the Kinner Villa team.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new unit are more plush and have a balcony attached
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravellerPuneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

During our visit to Kinnaur Valley in October this year we spent a night at Kalpa and booked our accomodation at Kinner Villa Hotel and which booking was arranged by Banjara Camps authority,since they have no property at Kalpa and HPTDC accomodation was not avaiable at that time. The property and location is good but the structural position is not that good because the view of Kinnaur Kailash, which is the main attraction there, is not available from the rooms except two or three. The extension which is under construction now may provide some more. Otherwise the service is good and food quality is also good. Practically the hotel has got tie up with some travel agencies and during the peak season it is a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ghosebhaskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Awesome Hotel with Best view of the Kinnaur Kailash...we stayed here on our way to tabo..we started from shimla and reached Kalpa by evening .Its New Structure Very Clean and sanitized Rooms,enough warm clean blankets neat bathroom .
Kinner Villa is located in Kalpa. The villa is 270 kms away from Chandigarh Airport. The nearest railhead is Chandigarh Railway Station, which is 270 kms away. It also provides sightseeing packages to the tourists.

Rooms & Amenities
Kinner Villa has 20 rooms and an in-house restaurant. The amenities provided by the villa are Travel desk, Laundry service and Car parking.

Facilities at a Glance
Laundry Service
Parking Facility
Travel Desk
The snow clad mountains all around give a fantastic view. The climate is cool and clean, allows one to breathe pollution free air. Various fruit orchards surrounding the place is a treat for the eyes.The location of Kinner Villa is fabulous. Particularly Room No. 201... The staff were polite and helpful.On every evening the hotel authorities provide a bonfire, which allows all the boarders to defy the cold and come out of their rooms, sing, dance and have plenty of fun.

We enjoyed every bit of Kinnar Kailash view from the hotel Room & Balcony. We were the last tourist guest in that hotel in October. In Our adjacent rooms, there were two British Travellers who came together....the 65 years old lady was riding the Royal enfield Selfish Model like roadies......they left the same day with us on thier mountain biking tour.

The location of Kinner Villa is fabulous. Particularly our Room No. 201.Just at stone throwing distance,stands the mighty parbati peak.

Room Tip: The location of Kinner Villa is fabulous. Particularly our Room No. 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTravellingSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here during our jeep trip through Ladakh and Himachal towards Amritsar. This accommodation was booked for us by the tour desk -Himalayan Adventures-in Manali. Newly built, very clean and spacious rooms. Beautiful furniture, color TV flat screen. The restaurant serves buffet, very nice and honest as much as you can eat. Very friendly staff. There is a computer available for email or skype contact. Strongly recommen

Room Tip: Ask a room with valley view !! Front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great Location, Location, Location…it feels you can touch the peaks from the terrace. OK food and good rooms. Excellent value for money. Nice service. Booked online with money deposited to bank. Overall a great experince. Everyone will love the terrace.

Room Tip: Top floor front rooms and ground floor front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Parthapratim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Certain rooms here get incredible views of the mountains but anyone staying here can enjoy them from the big balconies.

The food is surprisingly good although the atmosphere in the dining room is a little stilted.

The rooms are a good size with a small sofa and tv. The bathroom is basic and you get a bit of noise from adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samurai_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpa
8.4 mi away
Kinner Camp Sangla
Kinner Camp Sangla
#2 of 17 in Sangla
186 reviews
16.6 mi away
Samaa Resorts - Chitkul Heights
7.3 mi away
Hotel Batseri
Hotel Batseri
#1 of 15 in Sangla
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinner Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinner Villa

Address: Village & P.O.: Kalpa, Kalpa 172108, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Kalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kalpa
Price Range: $43 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinner Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kinner Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing