We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real vacation spoiler”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kinner Kailash (HPTDC)
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kalpa
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“A real vacation spoiler”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had booked the cozy double bed room deluxe on line for a 2 night stay thinking that since its the costliest available room (after the 4 bedded one) it would be having the best view of the Kinner Kailash and how wrong I was. After a long and hair raising journey of numerous land slides and obstacles, I reached Kinner Kailash to find that they had no dormitory for the driver. The journey had been tough on the driver and it was in my interest to ensure that he had adequate rest so that he could take me back on those roads. So the first hour went by humting for a suitable acco for him. I found it quite strange as in all other HPTDC hotels the hotels has suitable arrangement for the driver and here it was non existent when it was needed the most.
Anyways after having settled this issue I was taken to the room (No 306). The room was huge and well maintained but I was disappointed within as there was no balcony or open spaces. Infact even the tiny little window had a wire mesh fixed to it. The view was also being obstructed on one side by the next room. Anyways we settled down and ordered for a late lunch of Butter chicken and Karahi Paneer. The food quality was appalling. The chicken was chewy and spicy and the Paneer was tasteless. The rotis too were thick and hard. But what was most distressing was the quality of service. The food took a long time to arrive and the same happened at all times. We placed the order for dinner and requested to give us a call in the room when the same was ready. However there was no call even after an hour and so we walked to the restaurant to find that the same had been overlooked. In fact same was the situation at all times. The room had a small flask for water that got over after 4 glasses and the refill did not happen. It was very irritating. The food quality and the lack of service made us to cut short our vacation to 01 night only and forfeit the remaining advance and move to another hotel.
Views :
Lot has been written about the views from this Hotel. Well the view is good but a number of hotels at Kalpa have the same if not a better view. The disadvantage with HPTDC is that you have to view the mountains through a glass as they do not have any open window or balcony and its like seeing a tiger at the Zoo. Most of the hotels at Kalpa have an attached balcony from where viewing the Kinner Kailash is much more pleasurable. So take your pick - you wanna view the Tiger at Ranthambore or at the Zoo. :)

Room Tip: The deluxe cozy room had its views blocked at one end by the adjoining room. Room 305 should have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vinayMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    57
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
76
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Best hill station hotel I have stayed so far. This Kalpa HPTDC property is located at about 3000m above msl and gives excellent view to Kinner Kailash range of snow mountains. Though being here you do not bother for food, but it is worth to mention that the food quality is very good and well served. Rooms are spacious with modern antique wood finish.
The road to this place is also good (from scenic beauty) but road condition is poor due to frequent landslides. Best place and probably only decent place to stay in Kalpa

Room Tip: Go for DBR Delux rooms (there are 4 rooms facing mountain).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShantanuChatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location overlooking the Kinner Kailash range. The cottages are well located and have an amazing scene just outside the window. Also, the restaurant is also great overlooking the Kinner Kailash range. The service is good and food is also great. We got great Jain Chinese food there.... All in all very good hotel and worth every penny !!!

Room Tip: Cottages on Kinner kailash mountain side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaumyaSheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Motorcycling across India. Stayed here got moonshine...apple alcohol home made.
Rooms ok.
Good food. Reasonable price. Amazing views.
Coffee and breakfast overlooking the kinner kailash.
What more do you want.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handlebarmush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed with my wife in Kinner Kailash for 3 days in April 2012. The view is magnificent—particularly at dawn and on moonlit nights. Room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. he food and service are OK. There is parking space. The only drawback is that you have to walk a bit to reach their dining room. It is a good place to use as a base to go to Nakko, or rest and walk around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZHusain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The best place to stay in Kalpa for clear, all day long view of kinner kailash. Rooms are clean, spacious and well kept. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I needed to change the date of booking and they were very happy to help with the changes. If you are driving, there is ample space for parking.

Food is not that great compared to other HPTDC restaurents on the way to Kalpa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Located at a prime location at Kalpa with a good, I would rather say the best view, of Kinner Kailash. The Property overshadows other hotels/resorts located at Kalpa. I stayed here during my road trip to Himachal & Punjab during Monsoon i.e. Mid Aug’12 with my family. As usual, we searched for the best location at Kalpa & finally decided to stay at HPTDC Kinner Kailash, Kalpa.

The hotel has ample parking space near the main building.

We booked a cottage, located just above the main building (reception). The cottage consisted of main room with a double bed & a single bed for a kid. The room had a TV along with a room heater (which was very much required) & the Cabinet & the dressing table was located at lobby (Small room) adjacent to bathroom near entrance. The bathroom was average size with a geyser & English toilet.

The view outside the cottage was mesmerizing with the Kinner Kailash ranges & apple orchids all around. We have had a few apples from the orchids & they were really amazing.

The restaurant is located at the main building above reception & the only thing which i didnt like about the hotel was the food, which was not at all up to what I expected & the option of getting food around is very few & they are all small dhabas serving Chinese & some of them also serves dal, chapatti & rice & are located around 2 kms from the location at Kalpa Market. The other option would be at Recong Peo located at around 10 kms from the property but again to no avail as I didn’t find a good restaurant there as well.

Note: the way to cottage does not have light & even the lobby didn’t have light, though I requested but to no avail.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms available in the main building at the entrance of the hotel. The room tariff diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpa
0.5 mi away
Kinner Villa
Kinner Villa
#1 of 6 in Kalpa
53 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kinner Camp Sangla
Kinner Camp Sangla
#2 of 9 in Sangla
161 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Madhu
Hotel Madhu
#5 of 13 in Sangla
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Batseri
Hotel Batseri
#1 of 13 in Sangla
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Whispering Waves
Camp Whispering Waves
#2 of 14 in Spangmik
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kinner Kailash (HPTDC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kinner Kailash (HPTDC)

Property: Hotel Kinner Kailash (HPTDC)
Address: HPTDC Tehsel Kalpa, Kalpa 172107, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Kalpa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing