We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Maryland
Ranked #3 of 17 Zirakpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Excellent place to stay in Zirakpur. The hotel is situated on the Highway. The staff are very well trained. They are polite and extend the best support they can. The offer prompt service. The rooms are well maintained and clean.

Room Tip: More value for less money
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rduraikannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Maryland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 222 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

We made a night stopover at this hotel on the way to/from Manali from Delhi. Stayed in Deluxe Rooms which are nice and spacious. Hotel Breakfast was just ok. Staff were friendly.Hotel is right on the Amabala Highway and there is a big shopping mall near by which has several fast food outlets.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms are nice
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSVelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This property is just outside of Chandigarh, and is literally located on the highway in the middle of a ton of construction and behind a gas station.

I stayed here with all the guests that were in town for a wedding. For India, I would say that this hotel is more than acceptable, but only average by U.S. standards.

The photos on the website are accurate, but imagine they have a little extra "sheen" on them. In other words, don't expect the fit and finish of the property to look like the pictures exactly, it will be a step down. But overall, most Westerners should be fine staying here, and for ~$65 a night, it is not bad at all.

Redeeming quality: The main reason why this got 3 instead of 2 stars is because at the end, I accidentally left my camera bag in the lobby when leaving. One of the front desk clerks (the one who sits on the very left, and the only one who was helpful the whole time vs. the one who arranged overpriced car service with his own markup) called our driver within 5 minutes so we could come back and get it. THANK YOU. I would give 4 stars for this but for some of the other cons.

Pros:
- Complimentary breakfast buffet, with omelette station
- Restaurant food quality is surprisingly good (only tried Indian dishes)
- Bathrooms were clean
- Laundry was fast (same day if you give it to them by 9am or so)
- Internet was free

Cons:
- Toilet paper was like sandpaper
- Air conditioning was basically non-functional-- since it was winter, only heat was available, and windows could not open so the room was basically warm or hot. At night it would get to a reasonable temperature. Probably wouldn't want to open the windows due to the dust and smog anyway.
- Laundry service: clothes came back smelling like mothballs, and they brought me laundry for someone else that had my room number, even though the date was for a day before I arrived at the hotel. In my laundry bag I discovered later a pair of pants that did not belong to me, so bottom line is check your laundry bag and keep a record of what you sent down.
- Internet required a login code that would log you out every five minutes on smartphones (e.g. iPhone), because the system requires you keep a browser window open to maintain the connection. Very annoying, and made things like skype calls from your iPhone impossible for calls more than 2 minutes.
- Arranging car service appeared to go through one of the front desk clerks where he seemed to get a cut, and subsequently, the cost of the car service was inflated. We arranged for a car to do a 3 hour tour of Chandigarh for 1200 Rs, but because the driver got lost on our way to a shop for wedding attire, we only had time to go to that one store and did not get to sightsee at all. We ended up only taking 1.5 hours, and thought 600 Rs was fair, but he charged us 900 Rs after significant discussion. Later we found out 1200 Rs should have been enough to hire the car for the entire day 8-5pm.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Location is on the Ambala highway with ample parking for the cars with security as well. Rooms were very clean and decor like any high ranked hotel. A little noisy as it is on the highway and attracts some local crowds as well who filled up the entrance lobby. Buffet was pretty good but not the best. Reception was helpful and responded to all our calls promptly. Relatively new property and one wishes it keeps up its standards.

Room Tip: Good place to break your journey if you are driving beyond. Clean and comfortable place.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I really feel happy to share my experience for best western Maryland.
The Room service was excellent, the location and view was ultimate.
I would really recommend this to any of my friend, and will try to go again whenever I visit to Chandigarh or Ambala.
My best wishes to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krishna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tekchand, Manager at BEST WESTERN Maryland, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

17-03-2013

Dear Mr Krishna,

Greetings from BEST WESTERN Maryland Chandigarh

We thank you of your stay with us, Its pleasure serving you. We shall appreciate your candid feedback to help us to build on areas where we are doing well and work on those which need to be improved. This will help us to take better care of our guests.

We would be glad to assist you for any further assistance which you may have.

We, at BEST WESTERN Maryland eagerly look forward to welcoming you again next visit at our hotel.

It will be our distinct privilege to serve you in the future .

Thanking you and assuring you of our best services & attention at all times.


Best wishes and warm regards,

Sincerely Yours,

Tek chand
RDM
91 9216885202
fom@bestwesternmarylandhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

A friend of mine was getting married in Chandigarh so a bunch of us made the trip to India for the ceremony which was taking place over a few days. After a dreadful stop at Hotel Kingston(avoid! it was the worst and we fled after one night to here) down the street, we ended up at the newly opened Best Western, as it's the only Western standard hotel near where we needed to be, which was a bit out of town. Repeat: you are a bit out of town here.

That said, it was a relief to end up in the embrace of the Best Western after our horrible night at the previously mentioned Kingston. Staff were generally very nice throughout our four days there, with each helping as needed or when asked. One in particular at the front desk was great, even helping us order some pizzas from Domino's on one occasion and translating our order over the phone. Stoked! We also made use of the laundry services, which while a bit expensive, was done same day. Certainly couldn't beat the convenience or turnaround given that we were running around for wedding functions.

Breakfast at the downstairs restaurant (Flavours) was fine with decent coffee being served. Omelettes were made fresh to order along with some muffins, fruit, breads, Indian fare, etc. We dined there once for dinner and found the food to be okay. Also had drinks upstairs at the bar/club which were delicious. About $5 USD buys you and of the standards, with myself going for long island iced teas on this occasion. As we were the only ones in here at the time, we also got to eat our pizza at the bar which was sweet!

As good of an experience that I had here, I do worry about this place slipping into the abyss of India after another year or two of being open. You could see the little things starting to accumulate into disorder or uncleanliness with another year or two taking this place from serviceable to passable. Tables in the foyers moved to expose holes in the ground or wires, dirt along the elevator, laundry bags with holes, linen that was starting to fray, etc. It was mostly great for our time here but by the time it passes through a few hundred more hotel stays, I wonder how this place will hold up.

Writing this in December 2011 for our stay there last month but if you're reading this a year or so past this post, maybe lower your expectations a bit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed in this hotel with my husband in the first week of December 2011.Being a hotelier myself expected lot more then i got. On arrival found that the bed linen had been recycled, when told it to the guy who came to collect my laundry he just smiled.Ridiculous. Could not sleep well because of the bed bugs....my husband had bite marks all over his body the next morning. Biggest shock was the breakfast. Horrible food....very very bad quality...Vada's were raw and the coconut chutney served with it was full of chana dal....i know chef's use chana dal as an alternate ingredient but it should be used discreetly...Breakfast pasteries were bad....Nobody to wash car....Overall a very poor experience...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PNBoriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zirakpur
1.8 mi away
Park Plaza Zirakpur
Park Plaza Zirakpur
#1 of 19 in Zirakpur
811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velvet Clarks Exotica
Velvet Clarks Exotica
#3 of 19 in Zirakpur
190 reviews
5.9 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#10 of 100 in Chandigarh
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
3.0 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#5 of 100 in Chandigarh
980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chandigarh Zirakpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Maryland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Maryland

Address: Chandigarh Ambala Highway | Opposite Sharma Farm, Zirakpur, Chandigarh 140603, India
Location: India > Chandigarh > Zirakpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Zirakpur
Price Range: $51 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Maryland 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Maryland, Zirakpur (Chandigarh) respite at the front door to the TRi-city of Chandigarh, Panchkula & Mohali is an oasis of peace. serenity and tranquility. The Hotel offer its guest well appointed and contemporary designed luxurious guest rooms, Comprehensive business & Conference facilities, Spa with gymnasium, Banquet Hall for Wedding functions, Multi Cuisine restaurant and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Maryland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Maryland Hotel Zirakpur
BEST WESTERN Maryland Zirakpur, Chandigarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing