We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Naam Bade Darshan Chote”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Shagun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shagun
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Zirakpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Naam Bade Darshan Chote”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel looks good from outside and the restaurant is also good however below are the issues i faced during my stay at this hotel.
these are the issues even after they shifted me to another room after approx. 1 hour of check-in
1) wifi not working - reason given is strom - accepted
2) washrooms not clean
3) shower not working - the shower pipe was hanging loose on the tap
4) intercom landline phone was not working properly
5) WC flush sometime worked and sometime it didn't
6) AC not upto the mark

this hotel is located on the outskirts of the city, so no other dhaba or restaurant or shopping street to roam around nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRADEEP3214, Owner at Hotel Shagun, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear sir
We tried to serve and satisfy you ti the best of our abilities but we suppose your expectations were too high.the picture of the broken tap is not authentic

Thanking you
hotel shagun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    12
    6
    10
See reviews for
42
14
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is close to Chandigarh airport si I stayed here for a night. The staff is good. There are some issues like ac does not have any control so either you switch on our off and is too noisy since it is a old window ac.
Me and my wife couldn't use wifi. The room is nice and goods ambience.
The shower is old and did not work. At 8 am we didn't had hot water it was just about warm water but as it was summer we didn't care but consider this as a factor in winter.
The restaurant service for dinner was bit slow. In morning breakfast at their restaurant I found a cockroach in the butter served with paranthas. Generally in good hotels of such thing is found as an apology they waive off your bills for the food for bf or lunch or dinner but the hotel staff did not do so.
I would advise be careful about food.
The reception staff was very courteous and helped us.
All in all it is OK option of you are looking to retire for a night but not more than that.
Hotel had to improve a lot in infrastructure only good ambience wont suffice. Please look at small things like shower not working, hot water issue Ac issue.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sagar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRADEEP3214, Manager at Hotel Shagun, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear sir
Thanks for staying with HOTEL SHAGUN .we are happy to see your views about your experience
during your stay. your views are very helpful to other guests ,who are looking for a same catagory hotel at chandigarh/zirakpur.we will look into the areas in which we can improve specified by you
We thanks once again and will be happy to serve you again at HOTEL SHAGUN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singrauli, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Nice hotel, nice location, good rooms and good food. Services are up to the mark. Hotel gave a premium feel good factor through out the stay. Would love to visit and stay again. Tariff completely justified.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhinavverma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRADEEP3214, Owner at Hotel Shagun, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Sir Hi

Thanks for staying with HOTEL SHAGUN .we are happy to see your views about your experience
during your stay. your views are very helpful to other guests ,who are looking for a same catagory hotel at chandigarh/zirakpur
We thanks once again and will be happy to serve you again at HOTEL SHAGUN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srinagar, India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Its not exactly what is seen in the picture. There was problem with AC making so much noise in my room 108.. The tea they serve is worst, problem with cleanliness of tea pot, hardly wash them,The wifi didnt work most of my stay period of two days... The best thing about the hotel is its food served in its restaurant, absolutely amazing..

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SleeplessTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRADEEP3214, Owner at Hotel Shagun, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Sir Thanks for staying with HOTEL SHAGU and shairing your experience with us. We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience .We have checked our wifi ,it was due to unavoidable reasons from the service provider. The noise from the window ac was a little on the higher side .
we have fixed the problem. We have taken your reviews very seriously and assure you of our best trouble free services. We are happy that you enjoyed food at our restaurant during your 2 nights stay
we once again thanks you and would be eager to serve you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

If magnificence is to be somewhere in Chandigarh's vicinity then it is the place that would surely soothe your eyes and rest your senses in paradisal beauty. A marvelous property located at Zirakpur, Hotel Shagun has gone beyond the traditional Indian concept of hospitality. The warm and agile staff, the idyllic ambiance, the delectable food, the homely stay, everything seems to be at its best. Adhering to he 'Guest First' policy, the hotel has earned an excellent rapport in Indian hospitality industry owing to its incessant habit of striving for excellence.
Kudos to the management !

Room Tip: Every room is worth its tariff. Just choose any as per your budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nivesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRADEEP3214, Owner at Hotel Shagun, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Sir

Thanks for staying with Hotel Shagun and taking time for posting reviews .we always try to make every guest comfortable during his stay. Your reviews help other guests to choose our property .
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manali, India
Level Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This Hotel is fantastic choice to stay while in City Beautiful. Located on National Highway on Zirakpur Shimla road this place is just 10 minutes drive to city centre.
Rooms are very well decorated and food is too Good. And top of all reasonably priced.
Definitely revisit.

Vinny

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinihimalayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRADEEP3214, Owner at Hotel Shagun, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Sir Thanks for taking your time for posting reviews on TRIPADVISOR about you stay at HOTEL SHAGUN ZIRAKPUR Your reviews gives a boost to our management team to meet your expectations and leave no stone unturned to make every guest comfortable during his stay.

Thanks and would be happy to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I celebrted my birthday at hotel Shagun .Had a very great party at this place..
The service was amazingly good. There was no complaint or any delay..food was great and all of it was at a very genuine price...the hall was really spacious.
had a very great birthday..
.Everyone enjoyed a lot.
Everything was neat and clean.
Will come back soon..:)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pransh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRADEEP3214, Owner at Hotel Shagun, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear MR PRANSH Hi Thanks for celebrating your birthday at HOTEL SHAGUN
We are happy to see your reviews regarding your function we always believe in best food and best service at affordable price The hygiene and cleanliness is our usp
We will be happy to serve you again for your social functions and stay as well

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zirakpur
3.6 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#4 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mint Hotel Premia
Mint Hotel Premia
#7 of 18 in Zirakpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Castle
Hotel Royal Castle
#10 of 18 in Zirakpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Medallion Chandigarh Zirakpur
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Sevilla
Clarion Inn Sevilla
#8 of 18 in Zirakpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Zirakpur
Park Plaza Zirakpur
#1 of 18 in Zirakpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shagun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shagun

Property: Hotel Shagun
Address: Chandigarh Zirakpur Simla Highway | Distt S a S Nagar, Zirakpur, Chandigarh 140603, India
Location: India > Chandigarh > Zirakpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Zirakpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shagun 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE HAVE RENOVATED THE PROPERTY LAST YEAR THE PROPERTY IS CLASSIFIED 3* BY MINISTRY OF TOURISM INDIA THE PROPERT HAS A FULL HARD BAR ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shagun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shagun Zirakpur, Chandigarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing