We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spices and Elephants. Good value for money.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Spice Plantation

Tropical Spice Plantation
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Ponda
Attraction details
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spices and Elephants. Good value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited the spice plantation in December and had a really good day. Unlike the "Jungle book" attraction, the spice plantation was a friendly place to visit where the staff could not do enough to help. They even managed to take the payment in a nice way, instead of hassling you for everything!

The guide was very good, and very knowledgeable about the spices, he managed to tell us all about many spices in an enjoyable way. He told us numerous medicinal uses for many spices and we even tried the cashew fenny drink!

An acceptable meal was included in the entrance fee - which was not a huge amount of money - from memory it was about 400 rupee per person.

Where this place excelled with the spice tour, and the elephant wash / splash. This was a lot better than the jungle book attraction's offering od a wash / splash. There was no pressure to have an elephant experience, and at 700 rupee was reasonably priced, the elephants looked happy and appeared to enjoy all the attention. Having had a bad experience at the jungle book elephant attraction a week before, this place was exceptionally good!.

We had a wash / splash without being hurried and were never made to feel as if we should leave! After the wash, they even waited for us to pose with the elephant for a photo!

I would visit this place again!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    119
    37
    16
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our family group of 14 decided to take a tour. We had 3 children with us (ages 6 and 8) and wanted to do something educational with them. The kids enjoyed the walk and learning about the spices. Our guide was very knowledgeable, and upon my request conducted the tour in both Hindi and English.
The cost for the tour and lunch was Rs 400/person with kids free. The lunch was ok, a bit bland for my taste, which is ironic being that it was a spice plantation. The cleanliness of the bathrooms was decent for India standards.

Be advised that this plantation is on the outskirts of town and may take a while to get there.
We decided not to do an elephant ride or bath because of the cost Rs. 600 for a 10 minute elephant ride.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ushastry70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“a great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This plantation runs guided tours where one gets to see/feel /taste the spices and also get to know the other benefits of the spices other than the culinary uses.They also sell spices from the little shop and lunch is included in the entry fee. For those interested in the spices and the condiments this is heaven.Watch the chap Prakash climb the trees with great ease and jump from tree to tree.The elephant ride was the highlight for us but I wish that they were free.We did not take the bath with the elephants,my only regret .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ozind95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A bit too commercial”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited the spice plantation in November.
The plantation tour itself was quite interesting and a pleasant way to pass an hour.
The lunch was acceptable, and as it was included in the price of the admission was value for money.
However, the elephant shower was very disappointing. The elephant was brought to stand in a giant shower tray and you sat on his back and he showered you with water. This was not what I was expecting and next time I think I would rather go on the jungle book trip where the elephants are in a more natural habitat in a lagoon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
202 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Spices and Species :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Tropical Spice Plantation, a 450 year old 5th generation spice farm that was set up during the Portuguese times and is still maintaining its tradition. Eat authentic Goan Hindu food served in little trays made of beetle leaves. Take a tour of the farm and learn about the various spices and condiments. Watch Prakash, the local "Mowgli", who climbs these trees with the agility of primates and even gives a victory cry akin to Tarzan's LOL. And finally, have a deep spoonful of natural spring water poured down your back which will really tingle you all over.....All this for Rs 400. And finally, don't miss out on bathing with the elephant....my oh my! That was the highlight of my day....these gentle pachyderms will thrill you with the sprays from their trunks and drench you to your last bone. And guess what....when you kiss him goodbye, he actually lets out a little trumpet telling you a heartfelt Thank You.....what an adorable mammal!!! The elephant bath will cost you Rs 600, but I would truly recommend this.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zenobia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Spice Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Tropical Spice Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing