We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“breathtaking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Spice Plantation

Tropical Spice Plantation
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Ponda
Attraction details
Near London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is a must visit. It shows how the spices are in their true enviroment. The tour is very leisurely allowing you time to take in what you see.
The guides are of course so knowledgable as thiis is not only their job but their life.
Be prepared for the cold water down your back, WOW do you jump but feel great after. The food on the palm leaf is the climax of the tour, unless of course you visit the elephants on the way out.
A real treat and well worth the visit

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank roadster47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    119
    37
    16
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We eat so much and so much spice goes into it! A trip here will give you an insight about how much it goes to cultivate the spices, the times involved, the health benefits (though they are all not true, but its very interesting). While at Rs 400 for entry it is rather expensive, it included lunch and the guided tour. The lunch was very simple, but tasty, it had two meats in the buffet, which included the vindaloo, a Goan Specialty and a fish that was not great. The vegetarian dishes were also few, but like I mentioned, they were nice. The guides have been trained to explain well and they tell you some interesting stuff about coffee, pepper, etc. Most tour operators will include this trip as part of the south goa tour but the entry is usually not included, so if you make a trip to DudhSagar falls, and you need to have lunch, this is not a bad idea.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChennaiFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice and beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place is very unique, one of its kind which has huge variety of plantation of different spices and fruits. I saw here Reddish-Pink friuit (female) of Pineapple. Also saw "bird of Paradise" plant with very beautiful flowers on it. We also saw beans of Vanilla(very expensive).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NeerajVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good & worth for foreigner"s”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Very traditional place and welcoming is to warm most go if you wanna know the real culture of goa an different plants of spice a lot of spice verities ...

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Legend709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
188 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Had a great time, very interesting for foreigners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I was a little skeptical at first, seemed a little pricey and was nervous about food safety, being from America. This place was fantastic, worth the price and the food was great. The tour was well done, informative and interesting. We saw, smelled and touched many spices in their natural environment. I was also impressed by their use of natural items... The plates were leaves, the cups wood and there was virtually no plastic in use and no trash hanging about. I highly recommend a visit

Helpful?
2 Thank jswTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Spice Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Tropical Spice Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing