We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St.James Club lived up to expectations..enjoy your holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
St. James's Club & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“St.James Club lived up to expectations..enjoy your holiday!”
Reviewed March 16, 2006

As you scan through the reviews it's a pitty a few of them cast a doubt in your mind before you get there!..have we made the right choice?..what if the stories are true?.. some slightly negative reviews tend to be our American cousins!..(they need to chill..relax!)

However..after an 8 hour flight...just before landing at Antigua the plane circles & turns over the island you catch the beaches out of the window if you are lucky.. & you know you are in for a relaxing treat so ignore the negative reviews!

My wife & I stayed at St.James Club, we booked a premium room, flew virgin Premium econ (not worth the extra cost for the day flight..overnight yes!) went by one of the many mini vans to the resort..through little hamlets of weatherboarded houses.. then after 30mins.. approx we then saw the resort in the distance & the closer we got the better it looked!

Everything was clean, gardens spotless, staff very warm & friendly..even the buggy drivers! check in was no problem, our first room had a leaky loo... no problems to change there too! we asked for a fridge in the room..no problems..it was there.. extra towels.. no problems!! the staff look after you very well indeed!

The resort is split into three sections. The main hotel complex, the beach club & the villa section (some of these on timeshares) There are two beaches.. atlantic side.. breeze.. beautiful but beware the sun gets you! the lagoon...is like a pond, no breeze..just very calm & VERY HOT!! plently of sun beds & shade!

We went room only..hired a car to explore the whole island & found lots of very nice restaurants scattered around English harbour & about 2 mins from the hotel = The hideaway (book in advance). Prices good in all the restaurants on the island.

We ate at the Rainbow for breakfast only (cost for two per day room only = $36)..good buffet..plently to eat & great banana cake! we dined at piccolo mondo & never thought it was exceptional..the atmosphere compensates. The dockside restaurant looks great..we had drinks there & everyone on all inc seemed to be well fed.. its a shame though going AI as there are so many restaurants to select from on the island.

The island itself is tiny... you can easily cover in the day. St.Johns is ok.. safe, very busy, not many great shops..ok ones scattered around the dock. Around the island plenty of beaches to admire..they say there is a beach for every day of the year... there must be a pot hole for every person on the planet! Go to jolly beach & Darkwood Beach via Fig tree drive.. beaches amazing. Halfmoon bay is deserted..so if you want to escape from the crowd head there. Shirley Heights looks good.. went there Sunday eve for the sunset.. along with half the island! Nelsons dockyard worth a visit..very quaint... though try to avoid the cruise ship brigades!

Oh we hired a car from a firm called TITI in Falmouth Harbour (excellent service) look them up!

One other good thing.... we ventured to the NW of the island & looked at Rex "wreck" resort and Sandals "Scandles" ... with st.james you've got a great place to stay! Both the mentioned hotels were terrible, went into Rex & it was like a run down 1970's butlins hi di hi camp... phew... glad we never went there... it would have been virgins 'check in check out' with me! and the sandals place... well check for yourself... its not what its cracked up to be!

Ok.. well whoever reads this..enjoy yourself..it's a great island, we've done a few Carib's now (St.Martin still the best) but you have picked a great resort, in a very lovely spot on a very quaint and attractive island with people who make the island very friendly!

As virgin say.."check in & chill out" we did & hope you do too!

Oh.. finally... one negative... the telly in the room is either CNN, CNN, a movie channel, a sci fi channel or gospel channels galore! still the americans are happy! praise be! ;-)

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
65 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,710
    1,047
    330
    167
    81
See reviews for
940
1,584
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,007)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2006

Returned from a week at the Beach Club on 12th March after a really enjoyable holiday. The resort is well organised, with beautiful grounds and a good variety of activities.
We've visited Antigua before but wanted a larger hotel this time with more going on for our kids and we were certainly not disappointed. The St James has 4/5 bars, 4 restaurants, 4 pools and 2 beaches all of which are looked after very professionally and in a friendly manner.
We tended to soak up the rays on the breezy Atlantic beach in the morning and then take advantage of the watersports (Hobie cats and Kayaks) in the afternoon on the hotter lagoon side.
Food was very good (unless your expecting fillet steaks and lobster), especially breakfasts. Although I expect it could get a little repetitive for a second week. Drinks were readily available, including the golf cart which tours the beaches.
I've read some reviews which moaned about the seaweed on the Atlantic side, but this is raked up 2/3 times a day, starting at 7.00 a.m., and is not a problem at all. OK if you want a really stunning caribbean beach then you need to go to the West coast but then you won't get the facilties or privacy of the St James.
Whatever we needed was sorted out promptly (Taxi to Turner's beach - 3 mins, Broken toilet flush - 10 mins!).
Overall it delivered what was promised.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank UKMarkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 14, 2006

We also had a letter about building work piror to our 10 day stay, but when we arrvied we didnt notice the work one bit. Seriuosly, we forgot it was even there, we didnt hear it once you can't see it from any where except one of the pools if you look over the walls and down below. Dont worry at all about the work i promise you won't even know its there!
The hotel was great, its a really nice resrt, well liad out, gorgeous beaches loley sea, delicous food. I don't see why people moan they obviolsuy have way too high standards! Its a truley lovely hotel and you should look foward to your stay! Hope i have helped

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2006

Wonderful place for a wedding or honeymoon. They handled all of the cumbersome aspects of organising a wedding for us and accommodated our requests for things that werent on the standard list, so we simply enjoyed the day. Excellent kids club. Laid back atmosphere. Simply fabulous honeymoom upgrade room (huge).

  • Stayed November 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WhamBarQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2006

We have just returned after staying 10 days at the Beach Club and I must say we had no complaints whatsoever, the staff went out of their way to be helpful and were very friendly. Room was excellant, very clean, bathroom large, always hot water at peak time. No hassle for sun beds, ample supply (no need for the 5.30 a.m. dash to put towels on beds). Resturant service very good, food very good, drinks in ample supply and no waiting at the bar to be served. We used both beaches, but mainly stayed on the Atlantic side, was cooler, but beware the sun! Took a trip to Sirley Heights and went on the Virgin Ahoy (recommend this trip) then took a morning out to visit St. John's not too much there but felt very safe walking round, very good for duty free and jewellery so bought all our goodies there. If your looking for a very very relaxing holiday with "Chill Out" time then this is the place to be. What we found refreshing from this Virgin exclusive holiday was that people were NOT drinking from 10.00 a.m. in the morning until 01.00 the next day, so no rowdy behaviour round the pool etc etc etc. We used Virgin Twilight checkin at Gatwick and Chill out Checkin in Antigua....brilliant service. Very good value holiday would visit gain.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank ritahoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 5, 2006

Great location, two wonderful beaches, friendly & helpfull staff, pretty good food - what more do you need?
For our two small children the kids' club was excellent and the bay beach is the most child friendly I've ever seen.
We booked late so only had a choice of premium room, but it was fine, large, nice view & clean . The súites & villas looked outstanding. We also stayed 'room only' but food & bar prices were ok for the caribbean.
'Docksider' & 'Coco's' restaurants were great, the other one 'Rainbow' wasn't quite as good, but for a largeish hotel it was fine.
Downsides- well, to be really picky in some spots the buildings need the odd touch up, and it was sad to see guests who think it's ok to leave cig butts & old drinks all over the beach, but it doesnt spoil the overall feeling of the place.
This isn't the fanciest hotel on Antigua, & we certainly didn't pay a fancy price, but it is definitely one of the nicest! Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 26, 2006

Went to St. James Club February/2006

Stayed in the Bay Suites Very clean and Large
Food in the Rainbow Rest. Excellent!! A different Choice every night very well prepared and presented. Staff extremely polite and courteous at all times. We highly recommend this resort and will be staying there from now on. We read the reviews before going. The negative reviews are simply not true. We have visited Antigua on many occasions and were searching out various resorts. The search has ended we will always stay at The St. James Club!!

Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamora Bay
12.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
3,704 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
12.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,292 reviews
11.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club & Villas

Property: St. James's Club & Villas
Address: | Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, West Indies, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your St. James's Club & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club & Villas Antigua/Mamora Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing