We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not deserve the 4 star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James's Club & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Does not deserve the 4 star rating”
Reviewed September 21, 2005

Just returned from an 11 night break at this hotel. Not impressed with the shabiness of the rooms, our room had constant problems with the plumping, the enamel was wearing off the bath around the plug hole and it took all our strength to open up the patio door. The block we were in needs a total refit, however it may be on the list as another block was being refitted hence lots of noise and there is also construction noise from the villas some of which are being rebuilt!
If you can look aside from the shabby rooms and furniture in the Casino bar, the fact that at the first sign of a downpour the staff at the Reef Deck bar do a runner leaving the holiday makers to fend for thereselves you should have a good time.
On the upside the location is beautiful and very remote and private, if travelling with Virgin Hols the Virgins Ahoy on a Monday is a must and a great trip. Entertainment at the hotel not great but we went in slow season, the food is good although a bit samey in the Rainbow Garden at lunchtimes. The rooms are spacious but a bit shabby.
As for the staff it seems some of the younger members begrudge being at work and getting a smile from them is like getting blood out of a stone, however the older members of staff were very helpful and full of smiles. All our complaints and housekeeping issues were dealt with very promptly.
I would recommend this hotel but if they put you in a room begining with 1 then ask for another room especially if you have young childen.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank Happytripper1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,720
    1,055
    332
    167
    81
See reviews for
947
1,593
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2005

Mr. & Mrs Pritchard, Shropshire uk

I have to say I was extremely nervous after reading some of the reviews about this hotel as we had planned our wedding here with 11 guests!
We flew with virgin Atlantic and although very tiring it was a good flight. We arrived at VC bird airport, it is at this point you know your in the Caribbean! The pan band gives you entertainment while you wait to clear immigration for about an hour in the stifling heat, once through immigration is where the fun really begins! getting your luggage is a nightmare so be prepared! The drive to the hotel is amazing, taking in all the views and seeing how the locals live.
When we arrived we were greeted with a well needed rum punch while we cheque in. We did encounter a huge problem at this point, virgin had only allocated my fiancée and myself one room, so there were none available for the other 11 members of our group, It took over four hours to get the 4 rooms we needed and then they were given unclean so we had to wait further for the cleaners to arrive, as you can imagine after 36 hours awake and young children extremely tired this was unacceptable, this did put a dampener on the start of our holiday and I did get upset! The next day however was a new start and as we explored the hotel it really is beautiful and I was very pleased! The rooms are large and spotlessly clean with good air con and the bathroom has a huge bath tub! The grounds were very well kept with some beautiful plants and trees ( look out for the aloe vera plants the sap work wonders on bites and sunburn!) All of our party got bitten a lot although I didn't see many mosquitoes so take some strong repellent. As you will probably know there are two beaches the Atlantic has a wonderful breeze and is so relaxing, the little drinks buggy drives up and down the beach on a regular basis serving lots of drinks. Mamora beach is so picture perfect but unbearably hot, the water is calm and its great fun to have a go on kayaks or other water sports they offer. Make friends with the yellow lady, she has a little stall selling souvenirs, she is great fun and very friendly!
In the evening we had a choice of three restaurants, the docksider is all open overlooking the water, Rainbow garden is cooler but not as picturesque. At Piccolo mondo, there is a surcharge of $35 we got a voucher to eat here once all-inclusive, we saved it till our last night, all I can say is WOW! its the best meal I've ever had, the food in all the restaurant were excellent along with the service. We did encounter a few unhelpful ignorant staff but on the hole they were kind & pleasant
On a Sunday night you have to go to Shirley heights its so much fun, they have good food, strong rum punches and the best music it really is memorable! (if you don't have too many of them punches that is!).
We went on a few trips the Wadadli cruise is good fun, a good way to top up your tan while seeing the whole island. Montserrat is expensive but I would pay it again its breathtaking defiantly worth the money.
We got married on the first Friday of our holiday, if anyone is thinking of getting married here book it! we had the best day, its well organised, beautiful decorated location and the minister who does the service makes you at ease and and said some really special words.
If anyone is put off by anything they read I would erg you to ignore it and get your own experience, this is a great hotel we had a fantastic time.
Thanks for reading

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
42 Thank metz256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2005

What can say! me and my new husband went out there on our honeymoon! the hotel and the island exceeded our exectations!
We had a free upgrade room in the bay suites, it was lovely, the room gets cleaned on a daily basis which was good.
The food was fantastic, we were on the all inc package and we certainly ate very well! there was great variety of meals throughout the day and the waitress straff do look after you.
Whilst we were in antigua we did trip called xtreme adventure which was amazing, we swam with the stingrays and did lots of snorking and travelling around the island on a luxurious speed boat! v.v.good!
We also took a trip into St Johns which is the capital city, interesting but good, worth while going there but only for a couple of hours as there isnt loads to see.
Whilst we were at the hotel we spent most of our time on the beach, the water is like a clear bath, gorgeous and very calm.
The casino bar, a definate place to go if ur hot, good airconditioning! lovely staff, very comfy. The actual casino was good too, very easy to spend your money though id say!
All in all we had an amazing honeymoon at St James Club and would definatly go back there someday.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2005

me and my husband have just returned from a wonderful relaxing, very hot two weeks at the beach club at st james. it was wonderful, it,s our first time to the carribean and we could,nt of picked a nicer place. we arrived on friday 26 august after a five and a half hour delay with virgin atlantic [not a very good flight and the delay did,nt help]. we were very tired, but very pleased when we saw our room we upgraded to a supeior room which was right on the beach. it was a nice size room with a massive bed, t.v, large bathroom and a well stocked fridge and a nice bottle of rum, and of course the wonderful air con[ which was much needed]. we found the staff to be really nice only the odd one to spoil it, but in all they were very helpful. the maintenance staff were very good and would sort out any problem very quickly. there are two beaches, the atlantic side is more cooler with a lovely breeze but alot more sea weed but still very nice and there,s the carribean side which is lovely but alittle too hot for us. there are four swimming pools as well. there are four restaurants to eat at, but if you are on the all inclusive you could only eat at coco,s and two nights a week at the rainbow garden and the docksider [which was our favourite] and there is an italian restaurant, piccolo mondo which is nice too, but you have to pay a surcharge of $35 which is not alot really. we were very lucky because it was so quite they shut coco,s in the evening so we could eat in the restaurant that we liked with out paying a surchange [only at piccolo mondo did you have to pay]. so we had breakfast and lunch at coco,s and mainly ate at the docksider. the food at coco,s was o.k not brillant but at the other restaurants were much better. the only thing i was disappointed with was the fruit, not much to choose from and not enough [but the desserts made up for it]. the cocktails were really nice my favourite was the club special. there is entaintment in most evenings [the crab racing was funny] to be honest we were so tired from laying about in the sun drinking cocktails and eating dinning that we rarely made it pass 10 o,clock. we did go to shirely heights on the first sunday we were there and that was fantastic, good music loads to drink and the sunset was amazing. we also hired a cab for the day with another couple that we meet and want round the island, we saw some fantastic beaches it was definetley worth doing. st.john,s the capital is o.k if you like diamonds [what girl does,nt] but not much else apart from souvenior shops still a great place to see. in all the beach club at st james is a great place to stay at and antigua is defenitely worth seeing. we would go back in the future. so if your going have fun i hope this review has helped.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank blingblinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 29, 2005

We have just returned from a two week stay at The Beach Club at St James's and we thought it was wonderful. Two holidays in one really. We stayed at the Beach club on a room upgrade and had access from the patio to the beach down 4 steps... It was a wonderful holiday and the most of the staff are quite friendly and happy although that doesn't account for all of them ...(you get rude and miserable people everywhere these days and staying at the best hotel doesn't guarantee otherwise.).. on ordering ice cream for my son one day the waitress said " that fat bladk lady wants more ice-cream!!!" . But that aside the majority of the staff were friendly and happy.

The Beach Club side really was wonderful and cool with the Trade winds and after breakfast we would often go around to the Caribbean side and enjoy the water sports and palm trees of Mamora Bay.

It was a lovely place the only thing that left a little to be desired was the repetative menu which after two weeks left us wanting to get home and get some spicy chicken and mangos something they simply did not have there. Bland was the kindest way to describe it and that was generous.

One of our friends met Colin the cochroach at breakfast one morning he was hanging around in the sugar bowl..... at Coco's.

The only cochroaches we saw were outside the villas on Mamora Bay side. Our room was clean with a only a few sugar flies. Although we were eaten alive with midges or sand fleas we did not seem to have the usual mosquitos.

All in all a good holiday with little to complain about really.

Would we go again. I think so but we would only stay for 10 days max (due to the food). Seven days would not be enough to cram in the helicopter ride to Monseratt or the swimming with stingrays or Shirley Heights or Nelson's Dockyard or Tropical Forest for the day or many other sights you end up going to ohhh and remember to hire a car for the day and if you do OJ's os a great place to eat and check out the beach....

It was great and I could go on forever.....enjoy!!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2005

Good hotel, great location, fair food and most of the staff very friendly although several let the team down!
We stayed at the beach club for 2 weeks and from what we saw of the St James club, the Beach Club is probably the better of the two, even though you can only dine at one resturant on the all inclusive basis.
Our bigest gripe is about the drinks. Firstly if your on the beach you have to keep a good eye out for the lesser spotted glof cart with drinks on it, blink and they are gone. Also the drinks are watered down , but in fairness to the hotel, a quick word with the manager and the problem was sorted. On the whole its a good hotel which would deserve a 3 1/2 star rating but not 4 star, i mean plastic cups at the bar( whats that all about ? ) all in all a good hotel but watch out for the jelly fish, loads of people stung.
If your looking to book try the Grand Pineapple. FANTASTIC!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank camperx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay,Essex,England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2005

We stayed in The Beach Club, part of the St James Club resort, and overall we thought this was a fine resort, and just what we wanted for a 2-week beach holiday in some luxury in the tropics. We booked The Beach Club for June 11-25 on an all-inclusive package from Virgin Holidays at 1299 GB pounds each (we thought this a good price before we went). On the way out from Gatwick our Virgin economy seats on the 747 jumbo were Ok for the 7.5 hour flight, with good in-flight films and the food was pretty good. The luggage allowance had amazed us, being per person 2 x 32 kg cases (very heavy!). The taxi transfer from the VC Bird airport to our hotel (organised by Virgin) was a bit of a nightmare and I told the driver and Virgin when we got there after 30 mins (for a '45 min transfer time') that he drove much too fast and ignored all the hazards (like bends and other cars) - luckily our later taxis during our stay were ok. We had a super room on the upper floor overlooking the palm-clad Atlantic beach (see pictures attached) with its lovely constant breeze. The room's air-con in the daily 30-degree heat was very efficient, and a ceiling fan was also a boon. The room had a very spacious bathroom with huge bath and excellent shower, and a very large balcony. There was a coffee-maker (no kettle) and a fridge and the TV could get CNN and some local channels, and each block had an ice-maker downstairs. You could drink the tap water as the supply comes from a desalination plant. The package provided 4 meals a day at the Coco's Restaurant (including afternoon tea with sandwiches and cakes) which was fine for us -
Coco's we thought was a delightful, open-sided wooden restaurant over-looking one of the pools and the breezy beach, and was open and airy with a fine ambiance, and friendly staff who generally served you quite quickly. Many meals were buffet-style so you could eat as much as you like from the varied menus of mostly delicious food. And of course being all-inclusive, you could have as many drinks as you like brought to your table - e.g. cocktails or wine by the glass etc, and after you could order yet more (all day) from the bar (including bars on the beach and a beach drinks buggy that toured both beaches during the day with free drinks - brilliant). Sometimes the evening entertainment singers were rather good. The free watersports included excellent sailing on Hobiecats or Sunfish, windsurfing lessons - and kayaks and pedaloes (but both these had no back rests so were very hard work). The extensive and well-maintained grounds, with security-gated entrance, were a pleasure to stroll in and so beach vendor pestering was not a problem here (nor on the rest of the island we found). We hired a car for 6 days via the Virgin rep from Dollar, but found it poor value at 250 GB pounds for a soft-top jeep with air con - you could probably get a better deal booking a car in advance from your home country. However it did enable us to visit the island's best sights (e.g. the view from Shirley Heights and historic Nelsons Dockyard, while St Johns the capital was colourful, crowded and hot) and some of its superb beaches - our favourites were Grand Pineapple Beach (see photo), Fryffes Bay and Hawksbill Bay - all within a 45-min drive and all had palm-shaded areas, fine sand and sheltered seas for safe swimming. The resort also offered fine tennis courts - but the weather was too hot to play - although the table tennis table at the St James Club end of the resort was popular, and there were at least 4 swimming pools. We avoided the promoted excursions, except for a visit to the island of Montserrat (still a British protectorate) to see the volcanic eruption devastation of recent years. Overall we thought the resort and the package was excellent value for money and we'd go there again - with Virgin.

Helpful?
53 Thank antiguabuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamora Bay
12.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,735 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
12.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,319 reviews
11.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club & Villas

Property: St. James's Club & Villas
Address: | Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your St. James's Club & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club & Villas Antigua/Mamora Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing