We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James's Club & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence
shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a great family holiday. Although on arrival we were told the hotel was full and we had been upgraded. We were a little dubious having booked 2 beach front rooms as my son & 4 yr old grandson were with us.. It turned out that we were given a beautiful villa on Mamora Bay.This was truly breathtaking.2 large bedrooms both with bathrooms & showers.kitchen/dining room/lounge, patio +BBQ. 4 steps and on the beach. Fully equipped even with children's toys etc. watching the sun set was amazing. the setting was like breathtaking and would recommend anyone asking for an upgrade to a villa. The bay was shallow and calm. Ideal from babies to adults. Had we been in the beach front rooms they are on the Atlantic side where the sea is very rough and not ideal with children. Basically a room with a bathroom small patio or balcony. Would not have liked being in one of those. Not worth the extra money.
The meals were ok and a little repetitive.not much entertainment and everything seemed to close down around 10pm. We all had a lovely holiday but felt that the staff could has been a little less robotic and made an effort to get to know there guests. On leaving I don't think any member of staff except our maid even knew we had stayed there. Would return to the island but not this hotel.Thoroughly recommend the Excellence Catermaran trip with snorkelling that was wonderfull. The staff were friendly great atmosphere lunch was delicious snorkelled on a deserted beach or lazed around for a while before cruising back. A relaxing holiday in a lovely setting but not able to walk anywhere off site and around 40 mins to get anywhere by taxi. Need to know anymore please ask me. We stayed for 8 days before flying on to Barbados to see more Cricket which was lovely my review on the Turtle Beach in Barbados is well worth reading and worth a 5* rating.hope you enjoyed my report and should you go have a lovely time. We have lots of happy memories of our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a villa if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RO49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,719
    1,054
    332
    167
    81
See reviews for
946
1,593
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,015)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Just want to say "Thank you" for a wonderful week at St James Club the week of Feb 8th, 2014. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary so we were upgraded to a beautiful Royal Suite overlooking Mamora Bay! It was breathtaking! The entire resort was beautiful, the food was amazing, and the staff were incredible. A special "thanks" to Pearl in the main dining room, she went out of her way to make us feel special. Loved every minute of every day at St James Club. Would love to visit again some day!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank conchrepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Overall we had a great holiday, but didn't feel that the St James's Club staff did anything to enhance our experience. My wife and I don't consider ourselves to be high maintenance when traveling, but service was average at best. The general staff were friendly and abundant, but did not seem to do much by way of productivity. We stayed for seven days and every single day without failure the resort would run out of clean towels. The beach and pool chairs would be covered in used towels by the end of the day. There was no one cleaning up the towels to make sure that they were being washed and refreshed. Used cups would pile up on the beach and pool deck. Again, no one in sight to help with upkeep. This may explain why the Mamora Bay bar ran out of cups on occasion. The food and drink was very inconsistent around the resort. It seems that there is very little communication between outlets and not much of a proactive approach by staff to make sure that the guests are properly serviced (maybe due to the all-inclusive nature). The overall resort decor, grounds and feel were very nice. The resort covered a large area so it never felt really crowded, and you could always find a quiet place to sit and relax. The drink cart frequenting the resort was a nice touch mainly because of Alfred and his charismatic interaction with guests. Heather was also a gem; very friendly and always made sure that the guests around her were well cared for. I would return to the St. James's Club without the all-inclusive package, if I frequent Antigua again. If service is important to you, stick to resorts in Mexico or St. Maarten.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dpeck6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your very positive comments with us about your recent stay at the St. James's Club. We thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We are sorry you were disappointed with the service. The vast majority of our guests acknowledge our friendly, gracious and hospitable staff as one of the hghlights of their visit.

We do hope that we can once again host you and extend a very warm welcome and most of all deliver a memorable and unique vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great location. Great resort - terrible food for a good resort - people are really really nice. Not happy with Virgin, awful flight experience, awful transfer. The agent, Tracey, was more interested in selling tours.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Valued guests,

Thank you for your recent review of the St. James''s Club. We greatly appreciate your very positive comments and are pleased that you enjoyed the the location and resort.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the dining options. We have reviewed our guest comment cards and customer service reports, and we received very high marks for our dining and bar service this year. We understand that dining is subjective, and everyone has their preferences, which is why we work so hard to provide excellent menu selections, varied dining venues, and terrific service.

We do hope that when consdiering a sun-filled Caribbean vacation that we may once again host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were so excited to be going on holiday, and weren't too worried about our hotel as we felt the only thing that mattered was the weather.... But the St James Club hotel was so fantastic we couldn't not leave a review!!

I was travelling with my brother and mum and first off, we were upgraded to a villa which was a huge treat in itself. The villa was spacious and cool, and although there were areas which 'could do with an upgrade', it really didn't matter. The villa even included a blender so when we went to St Johns we made sure to buy some fruit to make a smoothie!! We ate at the Docksider on the first night which we were apprehensive about considering some bad reviews we had read... No problems here, the food was delicious! We all felt pretty podgy about half way through our holiday as we couldn't stop eating the delicious food! Our routine was usually Rainbow Garden for lunch and breakfast, and Docksider for dinner. All meals were excellent and we couldn't believe the A La Carte menu was included in the cost!

In the day we enjoyed cool Coco's Beach, drinks from Alfred's beach buggy and water aerobics with Norma Lynn, Jackiyma and Super Dave. A great laugh and some good exercise too. We also couldn't believe that all of the water sports were included in the all inclusive cost! Amazing, sea kayaking was fantastic and if we had stayed longer I'm sure we'd have tried more. My mum did power walking every morning which was great for her and got her going for the day.

The staff were fantastic, everyone was so friendly and kind and made us feel great! From waiting on staff to the reception to the bars, everyone was fab. Drinks were fantastic throughout the holiday too, we particularly recommend banana daquiris and banana milkshakes! Everyone we spoke to, from Massachusetts to London to New York, was having a fantastic holiday and agreed they would love to go back. A final note to add is the hotel was apparently 77% full when we were there, and there was no fighting over sunloungers, queuing at restaurants or feeling crowded out at all.

Everybody working at this resort seemed to be striving for the guests to have a wonderful time. I cannot understand the negative comments as this hotel was one of the nicest I have ever been to, and we are not the kind of family who hope to go to the same place twice.

Last things - St Johns is worth a look, Shirley Heights is fabulous so make sure you go on a Sunday for a different kind of evening! I agree you aren't spoiled for choice in terms of entertainment at St James Club, but I'd rather the select items of entertainment be really good rather than shoddy acts you can get in all inclusive hotels... Everything about this holiday was wonderful, all I can say is book it! Say hi to our taxi driver Spencer, and our only area of improvement for the resort is an on-site mini pharmacy would be really useful as the nearest pharmacy is in St Johns. Thanks for a great time and we hope to be back next year!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a villa and would choose a villa again... the extra space is fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raddlebarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Clean hotel. Dated rooms( the club room)....staff was hot and cold, but that really does not bother me, because nobody tips ( lots of CHeAp Europeans ), so it's hard to blame them. Good pool selection. Food was a pleasant surprise ( breakfast needs an upgrade). Grounds are very clean, but beach has way too much Seaweed and very murky waters, I'm guessing this is due to its close proximity to the bay. Would not go back to Antigua. Nice island, but once you leave the resort, extremely run down. Do Not go to St. John , shopping is terrible and area is sketchy At best.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay with us at the St. James's Club.

With regard to the seaweed that you experienced, this is a natural phenomena which is effecting many Caribbean islands. The seaweed is sargasso and is being washed down from the Sargasso Sea. We work tirelessly to clear the beach effected and ensure that disruption to guests is kept to a minimum, we are sorry that this impacted on your vacation.

The vast majority of our guests truly enjoy every aspect of the resort including the accomodations. watersports activities, dining options and our genuinely gracious and hospitable staff.

We do hope when consiering a fun-filled Caribbean vacation that we may once again have the pleasure of hosting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The property is large... 100 acres, you will never be crowded or search for an empty beach chair. There are two beaches, Mamora beach, which is dead calm and usually without much of a breeze. Coco beach which is the Atlantic side, cool and comfortable, excellent snorkeling. The best snorkeling being about 300 yards out just past the first break, 15-20 ft deep and usual only slightly wavy. Expect to see stingray, manta ray ( I saw one), conch, lobster, barracudas, parrot fish, skates, tangs, and a pile more that I cant list.

The room we had was a premium room, generous in size fairly well kept and clean. Wide open sat tv, so you can watch your news back home, as I watched Canadian news. Note that the A/C is only active when someone is present in the room and both the front door and sliding glass door are closed, electricity is expensive in Antigua, not a deal breaker, you will get a good night sleep. As for the beds they are as most resorts, firm, if it is too firm house keeping will provide you with a mattress pad, or myself simply asked for an additional blanket and slept on top of it. the bathroom we had was recently renovated, large double pedestal sink and a large soaker tub.

Food provided in all inclusive pkg was good, we like a better dining experience and opted to pay an additional $70 US per dinner to dine at Piccillo mondo, who's food was excellent, especially the lobster, well worth it. Reservations and dress code are in effect for Piccillo mondo. Just a small note about the water, it is reverse osmosis, desalinized water throughout the resort so you need not purchase any water, unless you need a bottle to refill, which is what we did. R/O water is the cleanest water you will ever drink, so leave the Imodium at home not needed on resort. A mini fridge is provided in your room (unstocked) for you to put things such as a water bottle if you want a cold glass of water at night or such.

Staff is as per usual friendly and helpful, but they are people too, so if you tick them off for some reason, ie. always complaining about everything, I'm sure they will be faking that smile.

As a total package well worth the money, the second best trip I ever had.

I have been to:

Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia/ now St James club st lucia
Sandals la toc st lucia
Sandals Grand St lucia
Rex Grenada/ only beach front property Rex is a 3 star op, I wanted to see Grenada
Almond village Barbados/ In transition to sandals I believe
Almond Club barbados/ Purchased by St James club also
Almond Cassurina Barbados
Riu Negril Jamacia

I liked the St James Club the best. Only my wedding in Barbados topped this resort, but I was getting married right. Yes the sandals properties are better looking and the rooms better, but they have poor locations in St Lucia, and I dont think I ever got a meal worth more that $9.99 at Sandals, didnt even have to option to pay extra and get a top restaurant. If you wish to pay more and contribute to Sandals mega marketing budget, go there and eat crap food, Similar with the Riu chain, $ 9.99 meals on resort. The last tip I can give is if you are able to get a mid week flight, you will notice the prices are much lower, probably because of the airline. We went thursday to thursday and saved $1000 CDN.

Enjoy St james club we did!!

Room Tip: Get a premium room it is centrally located to everything, and when I say premium room I dont mean ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Art D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamora Bay
12.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,845 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,734 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
12.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,317 reviews
11.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club & Villas

Property: St. James's Club & Villas
Address: | Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James's Club & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club & Villas Antigua/Mamora Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing