We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
St. James's Club & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Antigua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Splendid”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I visited the resort at an invite by his friend and we enjoyed it so much that we spent our first anniversary there and everything was great! From the royal suite 801 to the food to every staff member we meet and was greeted by. St James Would be a definite recommendation from us to everyone.

Special thanks to Troy. Bowen for all of his efforts and thought that was put into making our anniversary one that won't be easily forgotten.

Keep up the excellent work.

Alwyn & Thea Anthony

Room Tip: Royal Suite 801 is absolutely fabulous with a great sea view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,721
    1,056
    332
    167
    81
See reviews for
948
1,594
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Overall, the St. James Club is marginally better than a value-based or mid-level all-inclusive destination. If you are looking for quiet, consistently decent food, and a genuine staff willingness to solve unexpected problems with your stay, the 30-minute drive from the airport is worth it. The odd time we found the staff made mindless mistakes but overall they were attentive.

In short, this place is a recommended destination. It should be noted however, St. James lacks property maintenance all-round. If further investment is not made by its parent, Elite Island Resorts, St. James will continue to decrease in ranking.

PROS:
- 3 Tier Adults only pool
- Decent food (should be noted there were a one or two evenings the food presented was abysmal. The local fare was better when included)
- Spacious and clean rooms (you must upgrade from a simple king or double room - not suitable for any travelers)
- Warm staff that offers quick solutions (E.g. we had a broken AC unit and shower within one day and both were solved the day of)
- The paid ($35 / person) Piccolo Mondo restaurant on-site was baseline in terms of regular food from the resort. Shouldn't have to pay for that but understand it was all about the 'experience'. A nice evening nonetheless
- Gym was decent, clean and accessible

CONS:
- Free Wifi was excessively slow. Often dropped you from server (this is a tough point, I realize with this being a vacation and needing to disconnect from the day-to-day)
- Aforementioned point about investment and maintenance - resort to have a 'fix it when broken' strategy
- Entertainment repeated through the week. Seriously, how many times are you going to trot out the fire breathing / limbo routine?
- Difficult to find snacking opportunities between 12:00 - and 5PM. You either have to stockpile food from lunch (buffet or from daily menu) or make the trek to Co-co's bar for pub-style food. No health alternatives (fruit or veg snacks). I don't consider it healthy to have a burger or hot dog daily as I wait for dinner

I understood it mentioned while staying at St. James the cocktail bars and live music were enough to take nightowls into the small hours. If only that were true. If only I were perhaps 60 years old.

Room Tip: Baseline room is the King with Full Ocean or Beach view - anything less and you surely will be disap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just got back to the snow from a week in the sun and ocean. Loved the layout of the resort and having both ocean and bay side depending on what you want to do. The watersports were the best and the staff there were amazing, so helpful and funny. The food was good, not great, and Piccolo Mondo was amazing but closed for private functions for 2 nights. We enjoyed the ability to go to any bar and the cold beers and rum punches awesome and also plenty of lounge chairs no matter where or when you went.
Our room was in the older section which was ok where I think some people may not enjoy the smaller room, screen door, but the ocean front was beautiful. We took plenty walks and all the staff were friendly and asked if we were enjoying our stay. My only comment would be the nightly entertainment which was ok but not suitable to a younger crowd. All in all, loved the place, actually saw an octopus in the water and learned how to sail. What more could you want.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have been to St. James Club several times and it gets better & better. The staff are really helpful & friendly and we had a great time celebrating with friends. The "all inclusive" package is great value with 4 restaurants to choose from, all with good food & service. What we also like about St. James Club is the fact that on one side you have the slightly windy Atlantic beach with the sound of waves, great for getting a suntan and then on the other side the calm bay also with a lovely sandy beach and the complimentary watersports.

Room Tip: The Royal Suites are worth paying that little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, BC
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spend a week at St James Club in November 2013...we were five in our group - my husband and I, our 16 year old daughter and another couple. We had a lovely beachfront walk out room which I would recommen..we were in the Pineapple Building which is farthest from the lobby but easy to walk everywhere. We spent all our time at Coco Beach as it alwasy had a nice breeze. Found Mamora Bay just too hot. Resort was 80% full but did not seem busy. One reason we picked St James Club was so that we could snorkley right from the beach but this was very limited so if this is what you want I have heard that at the Verandah Resort you can walk to a nearby beach to snorkel.
Hired a cab for a day to show us the island and take us to St John's to shop - my teenager was VERY dissapointed with the shopping. I did buy my liquor at the duty free shop downtown and it was cheaper than at the airport but we found the jewelry stores better at the asirport.

Pros:
lots of chairs and palapas on the beach...beach cleaned very day of sea grass
towels not an issue
beautiful grounds
Piccolo Mondo food was out standing - we went twice as it was well worth it and such wonderful service. The first night we went they did not have lobster so ensure they have it before you sit down and start to drink - another table left after being told there was no lobster. Mamora 3 Tier pool was lovely - we spend the end of each day here enjoying what part of the sunset you could see...really nice girls at the bar here - Tonysha and Shakra - but very limited drinkins avaliable
Alfred delivering drinks on the beach was great..he is so friendly
Rodney at the watersports/tennis was really helpful and friendly
had fun in the bar off the lobby one night when there was a DJ - bartender here is pretty grumpy though!

Cons:
the snorkeling from the beach was very limited - it was at Coco Beach and the small reef was about 300 yards out - quite a swim without fins - we brought our own mask and snorkel but had to borrow the fins from the Watersports Center and you could only borrow them for morning or afternoon - very ridgid with their time. We went to borrow kayaks one day at 9:15 and were told they do not open until 9:30. You cannot take the kayaks out of the bay. The resort does take our a small boat of 12 people once a day to snorkel near the resort - worth it for $15 and a nice snorkel - so much of the coral is dead but you do see lots of fish.
lack of places to get a lunch time snack - the onlky place was Mamora Beach and it was such a limited menu and slow! drinks at this bar were very limited too.
fridge in room in not stocked - would have been nice to have beer, pop or water.
only type of beer is on tap - you cannot get a bottle of beer or any other type besides the Antiguan
The five of us ate lunch at Coco Beach restaurant once, it was slow ans bad...we do do take out tuna sandwich another day which was fine. Did not know until the last day that we could have had breakfast buffet there as our information pamplet said it was only open for lunch and dinner.
they cannot make a mojito even thought they produce rum in Antigua
We ate at the Docksider on the nights we did not go to Piccolo Mondo..food was good but two nights there was a terrible smell close to the water - we had to move our seat as it was terrible - smelt like gas to us.
We paid for WIFI in our room but were never able to pick it up - had to go to the lobby for it
Room/beds are fine - nothing fancy. Do not leave anything on your deck as my husband had a pair of sandles taken

WE enjoyed out holiday but I would not go back to Antigua - I like to see somewhere new each hoiday. It was a nice quiet resort on beautiful grounds...There were never any drunken rowdies and relly no children while we were there. Make sure you have a St James Club Special - it became our favourite drink!!! Mesage me if you have any questions

Room Tip: beachfront on the lower level with walk our deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The resort was clean, friendly and all-inclusive. The restaurant, Rainbow Garden, was outstanding in their service, breakfast buffett, and dinner menu. The upscale restaurant, Piccolo Mondo, was in a beautiful setting with only a fair menu. The beaches, of which you had a choice between, the Atlantic Ocean or a quieter Manora Bay, were clean and well served by staff.
We would probably not return because of our desire for a warmer water front. All in all it was a most pleasant retreat and very special for families. Great Tennis courts and rurrounding grounds. The farthest point from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggyjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The beach is very clean and has mobile bar driving around the beach to serve the guest drink. The beach that our room located was very windy, the ones on the Bay side is a lot calmer. A few restaurants to choose from for dinner and they serve different food each night, a couple restaurant has live music. Good food. We had the room walk out to the beach and was relatively clean. Although, I did found a few roaches in the room and one on my dinning table but it's the tropic after all. The ceiling is very thin that we can hear people upstair walking, closing door, dragging chair around, loud enough to woke us up every morning. The servers/workers are helpful but not friendly - could use a smile.

Room Tip: In term of room service if you tip the maid you will get flowers and they make your room nicer. We d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiTrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamora Bay
12.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,736 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
12.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,319 reviews
11.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club & Villas

Property: St. James's Club & Villas
Address: | Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your St. James's Club & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club & Villas Antigua/Mamora Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing