We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love coming back to one of my fav holiday destinations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Club & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love coming back to one of my fav holiday destinations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Thank you St James Club...yet again for a wonderful vacation. My family stayed from Dec 22 2013-Jan 2 2014 and had the best time!
This was our 3rd time to this hotel ... we always love it....and will come back for many years to come.
Coco's beach is my son's favorite... he loves to snorkel and play in the waves....!
Our room in the Papaya Bldg is always perfect... stepping right out onto the beach... the view is amazing.
Staff always are happy, kind and go out of their way to make our time there perfect!

Room Tip: rooms on Coco's beach are our fav! Love the view... love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunkin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,668
    1,023
    328
    165
    80
See reviews for
926
1,543
41
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in the Royal Suites for a week.

The good:
The location, Coco Beach is beautiful, the bay side was OK too. The Island of Antigua is amazing. Most of the staff, particularly the ones we interacted with regularly were friendly and treated us well.
Enjoyed the pools by our suite although the adult pool should be bigger and have a bar.

The bad:
Service was awful, we had to call for towels multiple times after rooms were already cleaned. What was taken out of our room was often left outside our room, sometimes for days.
The CoCo Beach bar and food place we went to once, it was empty but still took 20 min to be seated, another 25 min to get our order taken.
The food quality outside of Piccollo Mondo was horrible. And to eat at Piccollo Mondo we had to pay extra.
The hired entertainment was below people I have seen on our NY Subways.

I would not recommend or return to St. James Club based on our experience. I feel I grossly overpaid for this trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bimmerny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your recent stay at the St. James's Club. We appreciate your positive comments about our staff. Our staff is our biggest asset and we are proud to have such a dedicated group of service minded individuals working at the resort.

We are disappointed that your stay at The St. James's Club did not meet your expectations. The St. James's Club enjoys a well deserved reputation as one of the Caribbean's most popular resorts. Much of our success can be attributed to our very loyal repeat guest customer base who visit year after year. This is because The St. James's Club consistently delivers a fun-filled vacation experience to our guests which is communicated to our staff personally and through various guest surveys and online forums. The vast majority of our guests enjoy our accommodations, dining experience, grounds and most importantly, our amazing staff that are committed to greeting every guest as if they were welcoming them into their own homes. We are sorry that you were not pleased with the dining options. The St. James's Club offers a wide variety of local and international cuisine among our four restaurants dotting the resort. We understand that dining is subjective but we sincerely craft our menus with a variety of choices to please every palate.

We, at The St. James's Club are committed to providing impeccable service and delivering a most memorable vacation experience. We hope to welcome you back so that you may enjoy our hospitality which we are known for once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great hotel great staff with a choice of a windy beach or a hot beach

wide choice of rooms and places to walk

on site car hire is good if you fancy a jeep to drive round the island which we did and it was great

also shirley heights on the sunday night for the music food and drink is well worth the effort if the weather is good

we truely enjoyed our stay and would go back again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I visited St James over Easter 2013, with our two daughters aged 1 and 6, looking for a luxury holiday but one that was child-friendly. Check-in was easy and welcoming (greeted with a choice of cold drink in a spacious & comfortable reception area). Our room had a fantastic outlook, with a wooden deck leading down directly to the quiet beach (mamora bay side) - this made it a great place to be while the baby napped, as we could sunbathe and be beachside whilst still being next to her.

The great thing about this resort are the two different beaches, one scenic and beautiful with waves crashing, and the other side (St James) shallow (to a point) with lots of watersport and a great swim / play area for kids.

Friends stayed in the villas higher up on the hill (self catering, we were all inclusive with the beach room) and the villas were very well set up and very spacious.
There was a choice of pools, a great range of water fun to keep the kids amused, but what we noticed most was the friendly family feel, with many groups returning year on year - as their children grow older there is a teens club which looked v popular (one big re-union of friends it seemed !), this let the teens have some independence in a fully safe environment.

For the little ones we found the kids club disappointing, unenthused staff and not a great deal on the activity side, but this didn't spoil the break at all for us as we rarely use kids clubs (our older girl made friends and was off with other families half the time anyway).

Staff in the restaurants were exceptionally friendly, all made such an effort with our two girls.
Staff at reception when we had an issue with the laundry service were less than friendly, pretty rude in fact which did let down what was otherwise a wonderful trip.

We wanted an element of luxury for the adults, without it being pretentious or overly stuffy, and somewhere with a family feel, and we got exactly that.

I'm not sure if I was single or looking for a couples holiday that this would be the one, though having said that, there were many adults only areas (inc a pool) that we didn't explore.

The range of food was great for about a week - bar snacks, a casual restaurant, more formal one, adults only one etc, but for longer than that we did explore the surrounding area's restaurants for some variety (Nelson's Dockyard is only a short cab ride away).

Shirley Heights on a Sunday evening, to watch the sunset is an absolute MUST. Real highlight of the trip with an amazing barbeque, cocktails and party atmosphere.

Room Tip: Beach rooms on Mamora Bay have a wonderful outlook, but are just one room. The villas are much more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraJoanneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Visited St James Club December 1 2013 to December 15 2013. Been to this resort several times.The nice thing about St James is the employee's. Most are very happy. I was in Antigua several years ago at Rex hotel and found Antigen's friendly and helpful. The fitness team Super Dave, Colin ,Jakeyma and NormaLynn added fun to vacation. Over in Docksider great service from Gloria, GlenRoy , Pricilla and Troy. The evening movie theater and carribean cooking class is a nice touch. See you next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake2280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We returned to the St James Club after getting married there in Aug 2013 - the minute we left we wanted to return. Again in December, the resort was excellent. A warm welcome, a fantastic room (we had a premium room with views over the sea, which was large, very comfortable and private), polite and engaging local staff, immaculate gardens and resort cleanliness, brilliant pools and beaches, great activities, spa, gym and entertainment, and the food and drink were top notch - it really is heaven, no matter what you are looking for from your holiday. Watching the sun set over Mamora bay bar on our last night was magical. It was almost Christmas and the trees and decorations were being put out and we met many people who were all set to stay for the festive season - Santa turns up on a speed boat on Christmas morning! We'll be planning a return in the summer and perhaps Christmas 2014. A definate high reccomendation for couples and families alike.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are wonderful, but we found the premium rooms more private. We went to a 1 day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

By far the biggest problem at st james is the general manager. He is hard to find as he doesn't wear a uniform or name badge. But when you do find him don't bother trying to complain. Very rude and arrogant and he was also intoxicated in jacaranda, calling on his staff to bring him more alcohol.
All of the problems at st james lead back to the top.
Let's start with the food.
Overall poor. Weird food choices. Come to the Caribbean for chinese or thai food? No neither did I. Be careful with the buffet food. Nearly always cold and to make things worse they re-heated cold food, chicken, rice and fish. Very dangerous. Food summary .. breakfast at coco, but never go any other time.
Avoid rainbow at all costs, lazy dis-interested staff. Docksider is not much better. Piccolo is great, but you have to pay $35 each to go. Beach BBQ great.
Accommodation tired, dated and noisy. You can hear every noise in the rooms above and to the sides.
Gym.... its just broken.
Wifi... broken too... quicker to post your emails. As bad if you pay $10 a day to have it in the rooms.
Pools... kids pool war zone... coco's pool full of kids with life jackets flippers snorkel etc and jumping in covered in sand when we were there? Being encouraged by parents. Adult pool filthy royal suite pool restricted and reef pool full of thugs throwing rugby balls around and people diving. Lack of management means all safety rules ignored.
Night life non existent. Jacaranda has a disco, like a bad holiday camp and it is absolutely freezing cold.. Over active air con. Or you can do karaoke in coco on sunday, or bingo maybe ?
Be careful with water sports, they are not very good with the safety side.
When we were there it was full of badly behaved kids, don't go if you want peace and quiet. The parents seemed to have no morals or consideration for others.
St james is also quite remote taxi needed to go anywhere.
In summary tired and dated accommodation, poor food, un-usable swimming pools, poor freezing night life, screaming brats and a poor manager.
There are lots of better cheaper resorts on antigua.
Steer clear of the other elite resorts as well.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oakwoodfencing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamora Bay
12.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
12.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,219 reviews
11.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club & Villas

Property: St. James's Club & Villas
Address: | Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, West Indies, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. James's Club & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club & Villas Antigua/Mamora Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing