We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. James's Club & Villas - All Inclusive
Nearby Hotels
$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
$266
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
$108
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Point Antigua(English Harbour)
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nonsuch Bay Resort(Freetown)(Great Value!)
$357
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlisle Bay Antigua(Saint Mary's)
$575
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$726
$296
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$354
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Curtain Bluff Resort(Saint Mary's)
$970
$776
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,637)
Filter reviews
3,637 results
Traveler rating
1,867
1,138
362
178
92
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,867
1,138
362
178
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater sportspiccolo mondoatlantic siderainbow gardena la cartest jamesbeachfront roombeach frontper personall inclusive packageshirley heightsroyal suitenightly entertainmenttennis courtscatamaran tripbay beachgreat resort
Filter
Updating list...
1,918 - 1,923 of 3,637 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from SJC and had a really fantastic time. Like others I had read the reports and concerns from some but our experience was entirely positive and whilst all resorts have issues with staff at times it was hard to relate to some of these comments. Treat people well and they will respond in kind. The hotel wasn't full which was a benefit, but the staff were all very friendly and regularly asked how we were doing (Rainbow restaurant particularly). The managers too were actively checking service and asking how we were doing - Jeff . The food was really good for all inclusive, we have been to a few over the years, but this compared well. Have read that some felt breakfast was boring and lacked choice. This really wasn't the case, fantastic fresh omelettes and fresh croissants etc. Scenery stunning, clean pools, and very clean rooms.

Mostly couples, some families, English and US, a good mix and met some nice people. We had X Factor team filming there for one week which was a distraction but interesting and didn't affect our stay. Entertainment every night, quality bands and whilst some said it was quiet we wouldn't have expected more, good background music whilst we chatted to other guests.

Being English would have liked a kettle, the tea as in US was below par. The gym needs a tidy up, and water at times had strong chlorine after taste.

A great stay, we will definitely return in the future. Lawrence

Room Tip: we had a standard bedroom and this had a sea view (room 103) and was great for us. Looked at other rooms but our needs were met at this level.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HarryAngstrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in the Royal Suites within the hotel grounds rooms 211 & 212 for two weeks.

The resort has all that you need for a relaxing holiday.

There are multiple swimming pools in the complex, a main pool, adult's only pool, Royal Suite guests pool only and others. The pools were fresh water pools and were maintained to a very high standard. Most pools had an associated bar adjacent which made it easy to get a drink after your swim.

The grounds a large and well maintained with staff working every day to keep thing looking good. You could walk around the resort very easily with good pathways and road system. If you needed you could call for a free lift in one of the many electric carts.

There is a well stocked shop on site, which appeared to be open every day and till very late. You could purchase most things there including simple groceries, drinks, ice creams, clothing and various souvenirs. Things can be charged to the room or paid for in cash.

Our rooms look over to the beautiful bay and located quite centrally for easy access to all areas. The room provided free Wi-Fi (which was quite quick), very very large double bed, a three seater and two seater settee, fridge, coffee /tea making facilities, sink etc., large TV with dvd player, ipod docking for alarm clock, excellent air conditioning and ceiling fans. The bathroom was also very good. Proving a WC, his and hers hand basins, walk in double shower, and the largest bath I have ever used. The rooms were truly excellent and will not disappoint.

The resort has many restaurants. The Rainbow restaurant served breakfast and lunch and some evening meals. The Docksider restaurant provided some of the evening meals. There was also fine dining at the Piccalo Mundo restaurant. This restaurant was located away from the apartments amongst the detached villas where the food and service were first class. You have to pay a small premium to use this restaurant but it was more than worth it. The other restaurant is Coco's where you can get a simple burger / pasta meal with chips etc. The hotel switched to provide buffet styled meals one day and a la carte dining on others, so that you always had a great choice of food and locations to eat.

The nominated main restaurant for that evening would also have a live band playing. The steel drum bank called "sticky and fingers" was a great show, The drummer was excellent, for all you music fans, and the lead steel drum player put on an excellent show, not to be missed.

Around the resort the staff were always friendly and polite and you would always feel safe walking around, even late at night.

The apartments and villas follow the gentle curves of the bay which provide a wonderful flat beach that was cleaned overnight, every night. This provided a fresh clean beach with sun-beds neatly lined up for the morning.

There is the usual array of water sports to enjoy in the calm warm waters of the bay.

The staff at the hill side located spa were excellent. you should spoil yourself to a treatment whilst there!

I found this resort a place where I immediately was able to relax, it was very clean with excellent bars and restaurants.

I would not hesitate to recommend St. James's to anyone. We truly had an excellent holiday.

We had the extra excitement of a film crew recording for the UK X-factor competition on our second week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Have just returned from a 10 night all inclusive family holiday at this resort. Have to say reading some of the comments on here just prior to the trip left my wife and I a little bit concerned as to what we would find. Well as soon as we arrived any doubts or concerns we had soon disappeared. The staff bar maybe one or two were so so friendly and helpful. They couldn't do enough for us and really fussed over our 18 month daughter. The hotel accommodation was very well appointed and you could literally walk out onto the beach. The water was amazing! The week we arrived the hotel had very low occupancy. We liked that! The two beaches were empty and you pretty much had them to yourselves. As for the food the restaurants are all to a very high standard. There is really a great selection of dishes available....a la carte,buffet depending on what you want. The drinks are premium labelled and there is a vast selection available to choose from. The entertainment is also very good in the evening. The drinks cart is invaluable and that patrols the beach throughout the day. All in all very good. The only negative is the wifi. It's expensive if you want it in your room so most people convene in the lobby to use the free wifi. Well in the lobby the wifi is poor at best. In this day and age the hotel should really get this sorted out and provide the service for free all over the resort. Anyway all in all a very good experience. We are very likely to return again soon as it currently suits our needs and is very child friendly particularly when the hotel is relatively quiet.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank 1879fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

What a stunning resort, beaches amazing, pools great, pool bar staff great fun, food average, service in dockside average , Rainbow restaurant awful , service disgusting, breakfast so so boring , same old, fruit if you love melon fine has nothing else , 3 star if you are lucky. Front desk unhelpful, rude , ignorant , complained to guest services told would get a call , afraid heard nothing but same old just do not follow up anything. Pretty pathetic ........... Suggestion sack your staff and start again !!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the St. James Club. We appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. We have reviewed your comments which we take very seriously.

Please be assured that the issues you have mentioned have been reviewed and addressed. We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent problems from reoccurring. Again we are sorry you did not feel you experienced St. James's Club genuine hospitality which we are known for, and can only hope you give us the opportunity to do a better job in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here in March and we had a fantastic time. Service was great, no waits for anything and the staff was pleasant and plentiful. HOWEVER, we recently visited the last week of August as we had friends that we joined that we had recommended this resort too. Needless to say I was very embarrassed at the decline of everything at the resort in only a few short months. The service from the staff was quite poor and very slow. Staff act as if guests are inconveniencing them (especially the evening staff at Cocos), the wait times for slow for food, only one restaurant is open at a time, and the food choices are very limited and are mostly buffet. The great reviews that are left on Tripadvisor are mostly from return guests who have already fallen in love with the resort based on their past experiences. I was one of those too but I cannot except the level of decline in service and value for your money at this resort as for the price you pay you should receive a lot more including stocked fridges, late night snacks, complimentary room service and all restaurants being included in the "all-inclusive" price. This resort lays off a lot of their staff in the low season as well as close some of the restaurants for certain meals which greatly and negatively impacts your experience.If you choose to go to this resort, go for high season between November and March and you will have a much better experience. Hope the resort starts to give more value for money and reinvest profits in the property. Highly recommend taking a taxi to see some of Antigua's other beaches that are much nicer than the beaches at the resort. Half Moon Bay is highly recommended and is one of the most beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nattie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the St. James's Club. We are thrilled that you had a fantastic honeymoon and returned with your friends.

We are very sorry you were recently disappointed with your stay. as you know we strive to deliver a most memorable and fun-filled vacation experience. We have addressed the issues you have brought to our attention and we continue to monitor our guests' experience on a daily basis.

We can only hope that when you seek a Caribbean experience that we once again may host you and make your third trip as fantastic as the first!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews