We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. James's Club & Villas - All Inclusive
Nearby Hotels
$420
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
$132
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
$266
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
$108
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Point Antigua(English Harbour)
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nonsuch Bay Resort(Freetown)(Great Value!)
$370
$357
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlisle Bay Antigua(Saint Mary's)
$575
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua - All Inclusive(Willikies)(Great Value!)
$377
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Curtain Bluff Resort(Saint Mary's)
$700
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,640)
Filter reviews
3,640 results
Traveler rating
1,868
1,139
362
178
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,868
1,139
362
178
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater sportspiccolo mondoatlantic siderainbow gardena la cartest jamesbeachfront roombeach frontper personall inclusive packageshirley heightsroyal suitenightly entertainmenttennis courtscatamaran tripbay beachgreat resort
Filter
Updating list...
2,053 - 2,058 of 3,640 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location with beautiful beaches and very nice accommodations. I recently stayed here for a friends wedding. We were on the all inclusive plan.The food is less than average and the drink selection was very poor. Personally I like good wine and high quality vodka neither of which were available. Breakfast at Rainbow Garden was the best meal of the day. Dinner was mostly buffet style at Docksider Grill with "casserole" type selections.At the Calypso evening they offered curried goat ... seriously I'm drawing the line at that! You can eat off the menu at Rainbow Gardens and their lunch selection offered more than just burger and hot dogs which were on offer at Docksider Grill. The Wedding ceremony was well done and they even provided a pink golf cart for the Bride. It rained right after the wedding ceremony and unfortunately the hotel does not offer a good alternate venue for sharing cake and champagne , we ended up in the Jacaranda Lounge/ nightclub at 4.15pm!Piccolo Mondo had a much better menu selection, the food was superior and well worth the up charge per person, the band added to the atmosphere of this rather elegant setting.Overall I would say this isn't a bad deal for the money but if you were there for more than a week the food and nightly entertainment would get monotonous. I would really like to see free wi-fi throughout the resort even if they added an extra charge rather than everyone congregating in the lobby for free wi-fi.The Spa treatment was ok but minimal service are offered at this facility.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janaples61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. Guest comments are very important to us as we strive to deliver a stellar vacation experience and work hard to consistently improve all aspects of the resort.

St. James Club Antigua offers four distinct dining experiences with a wide variety of high quality fresh food which reflects the wonderful cuisiine of the Caribbean as well as international flavors and style. In addition, we have four lounges and bars offering a variety of cocktails, wines, fruit punch and soda. The vast majority of our guests truly enjoy the culinary experience at the resort which they typically highlight in surveys and online reviews. We do offer something for everyone to please every palate!

Here at St. James's Club we believe in 100% guest satisfaction and is what we strive for. If you are looking for a fantastic Caribbean get away in Antigua then St. James's Club is an excellent choice which embodies the true Caribbean beach experience and it is all just steps from your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was at St James in April 2013 and I stayed in a Royal Suite room. Very clean and spacious, with an amazing view of the bay. The staff is professional and everything you need they are very helpful. I would totally recommend Piccolo Mondo restaurant, for a nice romantic dinner, even if you have to pay (not included in all inclusive package, but is only $35 more/pers) it is worth every penny. The beach is nice and the water sports are are great.
The only thing I would recommend is to buy some bottles of water for your room (bottled water is not included in the all inclusive package, I really did not like the taste of the tap water.

Room Tip: Royal Suite rooms are close to all amenities.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anniemarie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in St James for 11 nights in April 2013 with our 8 month old daughter. We found the resort perfect for her, nearly everywhere is accessible with a buggy, so good for wheelchairs too if needed.

We got upgraded to a villa which was a pleasant surprise and also ideal with daughter. Villa had loads of room, we had our own kitchen for sterilising etc and all rooms were air conditioned.

While the food is mostly buffet style, it was a very high standard, we never had any reason to complain. You can at all meals also choose off a menu so are really spoilt for choice. The food was really good quality too and the choices were not 'cheap food', so you could get steaks, swordfish, seafood etc. having been to other all inclusive resorts this was by far the best for food quality.

The all inclusive drink option was brilliant, you could literally have any drink they had, as lot as they stocked it, had international brands too like Pimms, Pernod etc. We loved the daiquiris, could have drunk them all day, mango and pinapple were our favourites. The beach buggy was also fab, he drives round the beaches and pools delivering drinks to you, so you didn't even need to get off the sun Lounger.

We used the watersports facilities, kayaks, paddle boarding and sailing is all free. No limit on use, was great to get to see around the bay. Tennis courts were also good, was too hot in the day to play but played early morning and evening.

Daughter loved the sea and pools, are quite a few pools so never felt crowded. Staff in all restaurants were brilliant with her, could not do enough to help. Some see a bit distance in the beginning but once you get to know them, they are all lovely.

Visited Nelson's dockyard and has lunch in Catherine's cafe, food was amazing we both had lobster. Would definitely recommend. To get there either drive round or get a water taxi (we used m and n) which you can find at the end of Nelson's dockyard. Cost $2 a person and takes about 2 minutes.

St Johns shopping was not amazing, went as had to buy some pressies but duty free is mainly jewellery, watches, bags. If you don't want or need these, there are some market stall vendors but not much else.

Overall we loved Antigua, found it perfect with baby as she was in and out the pool and sea all day. Resort was really good and would definitely like to go back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fivestartravellertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went to St James club in April 2013 for two weeks
We decided to go here due to the size of the complex as its one of the biggest on the island and the decent reviews that trip advisor had given
Rooms are fairly spacious with a super sized bed and plenty of draws for storage, bathroom is also pretty big with a huge shower & two sinks - but no bath!
We went for the sea view room, which was lovely with a balcony and enough room for sun loungers
The only problem some visitors my have is the location of the room safe, which is located on the floor at the back of a built in wardrobe - so elderly, or non mobile customers may have trouble with this.
Buffet style is the normal for breakfast/lunch/dinner although there is a set menu for the like - buffets are a bit simple & can get a repetitive but are always good
Location is superb with plenty of walks in and around, please note you are in the middle of nowhere but hotel does have a 24 hour taxi rank in house, St Johns is only 25 mins away - don't bother getting a $50 taxi when you can get the hotel to organise a cheaper taxi at $25 for two people which will take you into the duty free street in St Johns
You have the option of 2 beaches the Caribbean side "Mamora Bay" which is cleaned daily and has the stillness of a millpond, so is really good for small children
This beach also has all the water sports facilities on this side - this is also the hottest beach as their is no wind, and can get really uncomfortable at times, a beach bar & snacks are a short walk away on this beach
The other beach is "Coco Beach" which isn't as clean, but you do get the Atlantic wind, which is very pleasant - this was our choice for the holiday - it also has the "Tut Tut" man (Alfred) who comes around 3/4 times daily with drinks - when he has a day off your lucky to get 2 a day
Both beaches are completely different, and are a welcome contrast being a peninsula hotel
Nightly entertainment isn't what this hotel is about, but they do have various bands on while you eat dinner, you come here to relax and nothing more
Staff are very friendly and are very polite, and nothing is too much trouble, the only issue we had was the poor attitude of the Cocos Restaurant staff - which often resulted in a rolling of eyes and a tut when you asked for a drink - I think they put the bad staff up in the hills at Coco - but that is my opinion
The only other point I need to make is the dockside chef/server being totally disinterested and rude when serving the main course - as was the checkout girl when you hand your keys back after your stay

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bigbadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We love coming here every year. The staff is first rate, and the location offers both an ocean side beach and a more gentle beach side beach. We thought that the food in the Rainbow Garden restaurant was so much better than last year that we went back again (we were not on the all inclusive so we could eat on or off site). Piccolo Mondo, the Italian special restaurant, is always a treat and well worth the extra cost. One important thing about St. James's compared with some of the higher priced resorts on the island is that you have more choices, more activities, and more down-to-earth staff and customers - no snooty types here! It feels like home every time we come and it takes about 5 minutes before we feel totally relaxed - can't get any better than this!

Room Tip: The Bay Suites are the best rooms unless you are in a villa on the hillside.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CDCNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews