We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and Enjoy the beauty of the island and People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Club & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relax and Enjoy the beauty of the island and People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just spent a glorious week at St. James's Club and everything was superb especially the staff of the club who were so friendly and helpful on all occasions. With smiles and warmth that truly made us feel welcome. The amenities are excellent from the rooms to the bay activities. We took advantage of the spa and it was very good but it is just getting started so it is not fully built out to accomodate all the normal services one would expect. Having said that the massages were excellent and performed at a level of a highly rated facility. The food was good but the high end restaurant Piccolo Mondo did disappoint with some bland food that was not what I expected. They will need to take this up a notch to make it worth the extra cost. The biggest asset of this resort are the staff and the location.

Room Tip: The reef rooms are great with the ocean breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,670
    1,024
    328
    165
    80
See reviews for
926
1,545
41
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Amazing beaches at this resort. Excellent quality food and drinks. Rooms are average but with great ocean views. Staff is very helpful and polite. I found the beds very hard with low quality mattresses which is my only complaint. The food and drinks are very expensive if you don't buy all inclusive package. I would recommend this resort and hope to go back again sometime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canduro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went to this place and from the moment we arrived, i knew we picked up the right place to be.. we had 6 kids and 6 adults.. The place is GREAAT!!!! the Staff really makes this place.. Every single staff was just awesome, very friendly.. I felt like they were part of my family.. Specific staff, especially Keeta in the Rainbow garden restaurant, Traci from the Dock siders Grill and Glenn the Chef were Awesome, these guys worked extremely hard and went out of the way to facilitate our group... Chef made special food for us vegetarians - Roti, chick peas, Pizza, thai food.. I mean, these guys really go out of their way to accomodate.... The pools are really nice, fitness room is very clean at all times, our room was cleaned everyday. non motor sports were just awesome, we did kayaking, sailboating, paddle boating. Staff actually came out and taught us how to sail which i though was greatt.. The kids just a great time and didn't want to leave from the place; although we were there for 6 days - it was just short.. Really really enjoyed the place and would definately recommend St. James to friends and family...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at SJC over the Easter break with my daughter. Fabulous views from our balcony over 'windy beach'. The room was very comfortable and spacious and quiet! The food was excellent and having tried 3 of the 4 restaurants, I found the food faultless. The beaches were well maintained and quiet. It was so refreshing not to have loud music blaring! Hotel staff could not have been more courteous and helpful. I would recommend the trip to swim with Stingrays. $60 in a taxi (return) takes you out to Stingray City where the guides take you out to a reef where the Rays are! Amazing experience!
Would love to come back with my family as this is a Carribean resort hard to beat! Loved it!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gracedior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We visited the St James Club over the week of Easter vacation.. We wish we were still there.
Every year we pick a different island to vacation on. So this was our first and only (maybe not the last) trip to the SJC on the island of Antigua.
The resort is about a half hour car ride from the airport... And the cab fare was approx. $30 USD.

The resort is very large and spread out.. But not to worry .. They have several porters willing to give you a lift in one of the golf carts.
We were lucky enough to book a Royal Suite and ours was on the gorgeous bay and centrally located near 3 of the 6 pools on the resort. One of the pools was a Royal suite pool for a adults only. It was tiny but was very peaceful and tranquil with gorgeous views. Just around the corner was a medium sized waterfall pool that also had a bar there. This pool we never found to be crowded either. Then the main pool or the reef deck pool was fairly close that I did my daily water aerobics at 10:30 am with either Super Dave or Shannan. Both guys were enthusiastic and Shannan especially made it the class not too miss! Fun, fun, fun!! I miss it so much! Had so much fun with the other guests as well.

We never once came across one single staff member who we found rude or unfriendly. We met many hard working, lovely and helpful people. Just to name a few who deserve recognition are besides the activities crew.. Sorry but I just loved Shannan and especially miss him. Kersha, Tryphina and Dorothy whom we saw daily at the yummy breakfast at the Rainbow Garden. You could order off the menu or choose the breakfast buffet. They had an omelette station with 2 cooks and a total of 4 burners. More than we usually see at an all inclusive.. It cut down on the wait. They had choices of egg whites or egg beaters along with regular egg omelettes.

I was very happy with the food at the SJC. We thought it was better food than other all inclusives.
For those on a special diet.. Not too worry. So was I. It's stricter than a gluten free diet. Just lean meats, veggies and salads. The daily selection at both breakfast and lunch at The Rainbow Garden and the Docksider for dinner were perfect. I never had trouble finding any variety for my selections. Even vegetarians had lots of choices.
One night we chose to eat at Piccolo Mondo. A low lit romantic fabulous restaurant. My fiancée had a large piece of filet mignon that was excellent! This restaurant surpassed our expectations. Well worth the extra $35/ person USD.

A day trip that I would recommend is the partial day Catamaran trip around the southern part of Antigua with Captain Andrew and his 2 other helpful crew members.
We also did a couples body massage at beauty spa. I can not adequately describe how wonderful this experience was..

All in all.. We felt pampered, spoiled and not ready to come back. We still wish to be there!
We have wonderful memories and the most wonderful time.
I could add details about so much more.. How we got daily phone calls from staff to check on our stay.. Just to see if they could make our stay better. The resident manager Antoine Brown was always out and about on the resort checking things out. He was friendly and approachable.
There are so many others who just made us feel welcome and cared for.. But there's too many to list..
We did tip our waiters, waitresses and housekeepers.. But it never seemed necessary or that they were looking for a tip..

One last thing.. We were told that the resort had approx 600 people there that week. It never seemed crowded, or that we had to wait long for anything. Perfect for families, couples or singles.. So glad we ended up here. We loved it and would highly recommend it to anyone!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank livluvsunsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I traveled here with my 2 college-age daughters and a friend and her daughter. We had the best 7 days of our lives. The food was to die for, the beaches beautiful, the wait staff so kind and friendly, the hotel rooms clean and well kept. We met the nicest people that were staying there as well from all over the world. Most all-inclusives really water down the drinks- not here! There's so much to do around the island, you can never be bored.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms, but if you want to be on the water, you can walk right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

on our 3rd visit to the St. James Club we went with our entire family -- ages ranging from 8 months to 65+. We've enjoyed our visits a deux, but this time also saw the benefits for the younger set. The Kidz Club was terrific for our almost 5 year old, and we spent more time at the various pool options. And the staff are SO accommodating: puree some of this fruit for our baby? Sure. May we have the last table on the terrace for dinner even though it isn't set up? Sure! Pack sandwiches for lunch? Certainly!

Since the last time we were they they have really improved the fitness options - added equipment in the fitness center and are offering many sessions - power walks, stretching, water aerobics, pilates and more. CAUTION - they don't seem to just give out the activity lists so be sure to attend the orientation and/or keep a watch on the activities board in the lobby.

A few slips on the service side -- one day we realized the coffee hadn't been replaced in the room, but a query brought a week's supply. We left a coffee cup elsewhere and it was never replaced. Small things. But everyone is so willing and eager to be helpful.

We hope to be regulars!

Room Tip: We've enjoyed the Royal Suite rooms on the bay side - a little more spacious than the beachfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssherk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamora Bay
12.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
12.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,219 reviews
11.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club & Villas

Property: St. James's Club & Villas
Address: | Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, West Indies, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. James's Club & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club & Villas Antigua/Mamora Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing