We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Club & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the St. James Resort the end of August. The experience was wonderful. The villas were clean,comfortable, roomy. We ended up doing the all inclusive for part of the trip and it was well worth it. I can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: villas were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,664
    1,022
    328
    164
    80
See reviews for
922
1,542
41
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

"No Problem" and "Your Welcome" with a real smile was my lasting impression of this Holiday complex and the island as a whole. The standard of food and service was just outstanding,we even got a golf cart delivering drinks on the beach.....The staff just made what was the most beautiful place even more so. Jaw dropping views from everywhere our party 36 did not have any problems for the whole stay....but for something special see Andy on the club Yacht for a day you will remember for the rest of your life...oh just one thing take lots and i mean lots of mosquito repellant

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a hundred plus to be near the action bars and beach ect....and seven hundreds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovegodnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I make no apologies for this gushing review. St James Club and Antigua will forever remain in my heart after our holiday here.

We arrived early in the evening and were welcomed with a choice of refreshing drinks and cold towels. Upon check in we were informed that we'd been upgraded to Royal Suites (and I couldn't remember what that meant even though I'd viewed the website a number of times!). We were escorted by golf buggy (always exciting) and shown to our suites. What can I say, we felt so incredibly spoilt, they are phenomenal rooms (see attached pictures) with bathrooms the size of normal hotel rooms.

Our view was of Mamora Bay (the beach that doesn't have the breeze) which is blissful both in the morning and especially in the evening as you can watch the sunset.

Royal suites have a large wardrobe with iron, ironing board, safe and LOTS of coathangers (always a gripe with us); a sleeping area with a huge bed (quite high off the ground), drawers and foot stools; a living area with comfy sofas, kitchenette (including a refrigerator); balcony with very comfortable loungers; finally the bathroom which has a two person size bath, a double shower (large enough for a football team) and double sinks. The rooms are air conditioned and have ceiling fans so you can regulate the temperature quite easily. The only feedback I would have about the rooms is that there is no mirror for shaving (or putting make up on) and whilst the bathroom mirror fills a full wall, it's not quite close enough for this. There's no full length mirror either but that didn't worry us too much.

The resort itself is very big and everthing is spaced out very thoughtfully. I'll work my way from the top back to where our rooms were situated;
1. Coco's - this serves really good quality snack and comfort food from macaroni cheese and burgers to salads. It's a very popular venue at lunchtime so you may have to wait but we could never understand why this annoyed and frustrated some people as the last thing I'd expect to be on a carribean island is in a rush.
2. Coco Beach - the wonder of this beach is the breeze, it's very strong and enables you to sunbathe without melting.
3. Mamora Bar - Right at the top end of Mamora bay with lovely staff serving drinks.
4. Mamora Bay - picture perfect but incredibly stiffling when it's really hot (which it was when we were there). I'd never complain about the heat but this is the beach where you'll feel it. All the watersports take place here and whilst we didn't participate, there's hobi cat, pedalos, scuba etc.
5. Docksiders - buffet restaurant serving really great quality food; highlights were the cream of chicken soup and the tex mex buffet (a great night). The bar at Docksiders is where the entertainment takes place and it's great quality but finishes too early at 10pm. The bar pretty much empties out after this. Elaine's a real treat and adds personality to the bar.
6. Jackaranda bar - just off from reception, this bar is air conditioned and a great place to enjoy a glass of champagne before dinner but in all honesty the bar is a bit soulless. There are no windows or view as such and it's very closed in which is a real shame, some colour and vibrancy would transform this bar.
7. Rainbow grill - breakfast is served here and whilst some reviewers have commented that they had to queue, we only ever waited a minute or two and as the staff become familiar with you, they know where you like to be seated which is lovely first thing in the morning. The choice at breakfast is vast and the food is of good quality. We also took lunch at Rainbow where you have a choice of the snack menu (similar to Coco's) and an extensive buffet. Dinner at Rainbow is a real treat; a la carte food served by wonderful staff with nice wines makes for a very enjoyable evening.
8. Boardwalk and pools at the Royal Suites; as we were staying in the royal suites we were able to enjoy these areas which are very quiet and absolutely blissful. The boardwalk has a number of sunbeds with canopy areas for shade but again as these areas face out onto Mamora Bay there is little or no breeze. Then there's the tiny adult pool which has spectacular views out at the very tip of mamora bay and finally the larger waterfall pool which is where we spent more of our time. This pool enjoys the breeze of Coco beach and has its own bar. It has plenty of sunbeds and shady spots so it's literally perfect!
There is also a pool and bar by Rainbow Grill (Reef pool & bar) but we didn't use that at all so I don't have any feedback to offer.

I haven't reviewed the spa as we didn't make use of it and it's worth mentioning the shop as if you run out of sun lotion or any other basics, they stock pretty much everything. I've just also realised that I haven't reviewed Picolo Mondo as we had planned to eat there but the food was so fabulous at Rainbow Grill and Docksiders we decided not to bother (the $35 surcharge didn't bother us, we just didn't feel the need). I hope this provides some reassurance to some readers as a number of reviewers felt they had to eat there more often.

The staff at St James are for the most part outstanding in the level of service and courtesy they offer. The odd member of staff who didn't really want to be there made us laugh rather than frustrate us though it's an odd contrast when 99% of the team are amazing.

If you're looking for an all inclusive resort with lots to do, lots of space, lots of variety and wonderful service then look no further. I'm hoping that we go back to St James in 2015 when England play cricket in the West Indies (if Antigua get a test) as I'd love to revisit.

Room Tip: If you can afford to splurge then book a Royal Suite, it's worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank finchaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

As the tag-along helper to my brother and his girlfriend with their 9 month-old, I am extremely grateful for having been able to experience these travels in Antigua. The Club was quite something - the grounds are very well-kept, the rooms were clean and the food was VERY good. The staff was super helpful and really friendly. There were quite a few activities available to guests and the drink selection was pleasant. Our room faced the Atlantic Ocean side of the peninsula and it was quite wavy so we do much swimming in this particular area. The beach on the opposite side was much calmer and this is where the aquatic sports took place. We absolutely loved the snorkelling possibilities around the island - we chose to explore much of Antigua with a rental car. A really good vacation spot, we felt as though we were the youngest ones there (we are in our early 30s...)!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel complex has almost everything, A fantastic location, two very different beaches and a choice of excellent dining locations.Easy access to Shirley Heights and English Harbour.The staff were really helpful and the all inclusive has a great range of drinks!!The golf trolley drinks cart on the beach is amazing and Alfred is a real character.Yes this is the Caribbean at its best.

Room Tip: Beach front are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

A very fiendly hotel. The staff will go out of thier way to help (except the miserable girl in water sports hut). The food is varried and of high quality.You have a choice of buffet or booking a la carte. Our low end room had superb sea views and was more than adequate. Watch the pelicans dive for breakfast. The hotel is isolated as far as walking is concerned but a 15 to 20 min taxi ride will get you to English Harbour or Shirley Heights (entrance fees about £4 to £5 ). An easy 45 min from the airport. Bars will serve branded spirits. Great Holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Superb hotel with excellent facilities. Our room faced Coco beach and we were lucky to be there in September when the turtles were hatching on the beach. The hotel staff will call your room if you wish to help guide the turtles to the sea and it was so touching to watch and to help. Yes, the seaweed is a problem but every morning 3 or 4 guys were out clearing it away. The pool was lovely, perfect size with plenty of sunbeds and I have to say, there are plenty of beds on both beaches as well. We used the canoes on Mamora Bay and that was great fun. The food was perfect. So much choice everyday and lovely to move around the different restaurants especially the Italian behind the tennis courts. We paid $35 each to eat at this restaurant (even though we were fully inclusive) but we didn't mind as it was so good. Its worth noting that we were offered to return for nothing to this restaurant a couple of nights later so that was excellent. And no trip to Antigua is complete without visiting Shirley Heights - beautiful sunset at the highest point of the island,with a bbq and dancing to reggae and steele bands. The hotel will arrange transport to the attraction. Well recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have free wi-fi and others have a very high charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaWestBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamora Bay
12.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,647 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
12.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
11.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club & Villas

Property: St. James's Club & Villas
Address: | Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. James's Club & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club & Villas Antigua/Mamora Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing