We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. James's Club & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. James's Club & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at St James Club from 15th September for 9 nights and didn't want to go home. We had a beachfront room, which was a really good size, with steps leading down straight to the beach and the view was stunning. We enjoyed the breezy side of the resort and spent most days on the beach there. It was very relaxing as the resort was only about one third full, which suited us. We were in Pineapple block, closest to Coco's which again proved a bonus as we could easily pop up for drinks and lunch and fresh towels. We could not find fault with anything, and yes the service may have been a little slower than normal a couple of time in Docksider when they were busy, but it was nice to sit back and relax and enjoy another drink whilst waiting! Picolo Mondo was really good (the lobster was to die for) and the service was outstanding. They made you feel really special and its worth going there for a special occasion. We ate there twice - the first time for our anniversary and the second for free for sitting through a short time-share presentation. This was not difficult as Paul was very friendly and there was no hard sell. We liked the resort so much that we bought a week in a villa so we will be returning next year for definite. The resort was beautiful and with watersports available if you wanted, it ticked all our boxes. It was big enough to enjoy walking all round for a bit of exercise, and although the sea weed meant we did not spend as much time in the sea as we would have liked it didn't spoil the holiday. I would recommend the trip to swim with stingrays at Stingray City - we were lucky enough to be the only 2 people on our trip there and it was fantastic. It was a fantastic holiday and we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Beachfront is great as you can get to the beach straight out of the patio doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andypoohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,641
    1,013
    323
    163
    79
See reviews for
908
1,522
41
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived back from St James's Club this morning and we didn't want to leave.
We stayed in a royal suite and would recommend this, it is not that much more money & the rooms are to die for. We had a fabulous view over Mamora Bay and watched the sunset from our balcony every day.
The rooms are a great size, easily the biggest bathroom I've ever used!
As for the rest of the resort, The staff here are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble and if they think that you are unhappy about something they take it personally and go out of their way to make things right.
The royal suites pool was so quiet, perfect for us and Sabrya was a gem. Although Joleen was only there on a couple of days, she gets our vote for star staff member. What a beautiful person.
With regards to the food, we never had the same evening meal twice, there was so much to choose from. We ate at Piccolo Mondo on 2 nights and the good here was great, however the Docksider was equally as good quality.
We were disappointed not to be informed of the managers cocktail party, which is held on a Monday night. But this was our only complaint.
We went on the sunset cruise from the Docksider jetty, what a great evening. The staff on the boat made it so enjoyable for everyone, even though the water was rough & we all got quite wet, it didn't make it any less enjoyable.
We would definitely return to both Antigua and St James's.

Room Tip: Royal suites are quiet and large, friends stayed in Hibiscus and loved their room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank givemediamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed last week at st James club for the 3rd time. Our first time was Xmas 2000 then again about 5 years ago. The location is still great but we really felt that the food and service had gone downhill. I don't want to play the place down too much as we mentioned our issues to the management. One of which was addressed within the hour. We mentioned the food was a problem as felt it was all mass produced and no nice salads etc at lunch time as you would expect in a 4 star hotel. The chef took Thr trouble to find my husband at breakfast and discuss the matter. He had only been there a week and was very keen to sort it out and was gratefull for the feedback. We only had 5 days there as our daughter was staying there so we did 5 days before moving to another island. I really hope the food improves as one day we may go back again.

Room Tip: We had the royal st james suite which was better. You get the use of your own pool etc with the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amandad43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are always delighted to welcome back guests; however it is disappointing to read you felt that standards in service and food have declined since your last visit. We are pleased that Management were able to address your issues promptly and that the new Chef was able to speak with you. We appreciate guest feedback and are always looking at ways to improve. We have taken your comments on-board and hope to welcome you back to the St James’s Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

What can i say about such a fantastic place ! Truly Paradise !
All the staff are magnificent and are so helpful and full of smiles and are so polite in speaking to you. Every meal we had while we were there was fantastic i could'nt fault one mealtime. The beaches are brill, if you want to bake in the red hot sun (like me and my wife did) use Mamora Beach and pull the lounger into the sea, its great, if you want and nice breeze while sunbathing use Coco Beach you dont overheat as much. The Mamora beach grill is great too, lovely burgers and massive hotdogs served all day. The pools were great and you dont have to fret about getting a lounger as there is always some spare. The trip we had to St Johns was an eye opener to see how these wonderful people live and spend their days and the shops were bustling some good bargains too. One thing i can definetley advise you to do is the circumnavigation trip on the 'MYSTIC'. A trip all the way round the island in a fantastic catamaran with some great guys who look after you, great food and great sights.

Two pointers to mention, make sure you use a Mosquito spray (OFF is the best) and you can buy it in the gift shop and dont use the room phone its expensive (phone box doesnt work). The island of Antigua is truly amazing and so beautiful, no wonder the likes of Clapton, Heskey and Armani have places there.
We will certainly be going again and staying at St James...Brilliant !!.

Room Tip: We had a Premium Room (beach facing) and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just returned from our 11th visit to St.James's Club and we had another wonderful holiday.We keep returning to this hotel as we are never disappointed,and from the moment we arrive we are met with friendly faces.This year we came for our wedding anniversary and we were upgraded to a Royal Suite which was fabulous and with breathtaking views of Mamora Bay,We found a bottle of champagne in the fridge and a lovely plate of fruit which was a lovely touch.This year the reception area had just been refurbished and looking lovely.We had wonderful weather and it was also the turtle season and although Jeff had us on his list for turtle watch,unfortunately they didn't oblige during our stay!Maybe next year Jeff? Thank you all so much for making our stay so memorable and special thanks must go to Jeff, Gem , Dana,
Alfred, 2 Marilyn's ,Kersha Cressida,& Verron.Look forward to seeing you all next year.

Room Tip: Suggest you upgrade to a premium room as all premium rooms have a sea view.If you want something a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveK256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for two weeks in august in one of the two bed villas, The villa was very spacious with a lovely view from the balcony. Decoration and fittings were very tired and in need of a refurb. We had maintenance out three times for different problems, though I must say they were quick to resolve the problems, and had a smile on their face. All the staff were very friendly.
Food was a problem, we were all-inclusive and there was very limited choice, especially when one of the restaurants was closed. If you don't like spicey food then you have a serious problem.
The location was very good and the mobile beachbar was excellent.
Entertainment was very limited and over by 10pm.
Despite the negative comments, we did enjoy our stay, it just wasn't what we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwfco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased that maintenance were able to address problems you had with your villa promptly and with a smile, it is disappointing that of course any problems arose in the first place. With regards to the furnishings and overall décor we do routinely renovate the villas, without knowing which villa you were staying in specifically it is difficult to address your comments. If you would like to contact us directly to discuss please do so.
We are sorry you were disappointed by the variety of cuisine and found it too spicy. We do try to offer a range of cuisine across the restaurants that will appeal to all palates, but we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the St James’s Club and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned from our 2week holiday at St James Club we enjoyed very good food and excellent service from helpful and friendly staff. It was quieter than expected and there was some upgrading being done to a couple of areas which did not disturb us but as others have stated Virgin staff in particular a scottish crew member was foul mouthed and gave a very bad impression of the airline .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flynba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the St James’s Club and enjoyed the food and service. We are sorry that you witnessed poor behaviour of the Virgin crew, your comments will be shared with Management. We hope that this did not impact on your holiday experience or your impression of the St James’s Club. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamora Bay
12.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,605 reviews
6.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
12.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club & Villas

Property: St. James's Club & Villas
Address: | Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, BookIt.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your St. James's Club & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club & Villas Antigua/Mamora Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing