We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with excellent staff on a lovely carribbean island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Club & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed at st James' club between 10th and 20th of September where we had a lovely holiday and made some great friends. We stayed in a beach front room which was modern, spacious, had an enormous bed and the largest shower I have ever seen, coupled with a large balcony with a beautiful view of the beach/sea. The hotel has 2 beaches the main 1 being the atlantic side which is large and has a nice cooling breeze and the bay on the other side which can get very hot without a breath of air, but is where all the watersports take place. As people have previously posted on here, there is a seaweed problem on the atlantic side this time of year however it really doesnt ruin it and the hotel is doing everything it can to clear it with a large team out every morning clearing it up before most people are even awake. All the restaurants on the resort are really good and a la carte is especially nice, however as Sept/Oct is usually quiet here the hotel was probably at no more than 40% occupancy which was nice however because of this on some evenings they only had 1 of the 2 main restaurants open (docksider/ rainbow garden), which was fine as both were good restaurants. But on the evening the docksider was the only main restaurant open it really struggled, it appeared it had far more guests that evening than it normally would have with no additional staff so my one piece of advice to the hotel would be to ensure that when this occurs to increase staffing levels, but this is a small gripe about otherwise excellent restaurants with excellent staff. I would also recommend the picolo restaurant for a special treat as this serves a lovely lobster and the service there really is impeccable and does justify the extra cost for a special evening.
The bars are equally good with almost every cocktail you could possibly imagine available along with a good local beer on tap. The staff here were again excellent however Marlon has to stand out for special mention, a very nice guy with some brilliant cocktail making skills.
We also booked a catamaran trip through the hotel for $93 us per person, which takes you from the hotel round to the english harbour and then on to do some snorkelling (if your lucky you will also see some turtles), you then go round to the carribbean sea side of the island where the water is much calmer and clearer and where you are provided with a lovely lunch, get to spend some time on the beach before heading back to the hotel, an excellent trip with all you can drink throughout the trip and again a special mention has to go to andy the captain and his team who really teach you a lot about the island throughout the trip and make a pleasant enjoyable day, defenitely reccomend this.
If you do plan on going out of the resort on a trip or just to visit local area there are usually taxis on standby nearby but try and ask reception for sam/samuel who is a local taxi driver but is better than a tour guide, knows everything about the island, is so friendly and not expensive, would really reccomend this guy every time. He can also take you to the airport.
Overall this is a great resort with lots to do and lots of variety but the staff here really are the difference and having visited lots of different carribbean islands, antiguan people are by far the friendliest and nicest I have met.
Well done st James' and see you next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,175 - 2,181 of 3,548 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

The location is idyllic,the service great,staff really helpful and friendly,relaxed ambience,extensive buffets, spacious rooms, very safe resort.....just wonderful. The hotel is situated on a peninsula so you have the choice of a secluded bay or the breezy Atlantic side. My husband and I loved the cooling trade winds on 'Windy Beach' whereas our teenaged children enjoyed the heat and slightly younger clientele on Mamora Bay and the various pools. We couldn't get over the size of the rooms - we had an ocean view room with balcony - a gorgeous view to wake up to. St James' is about a 45 minute drive from the capital St Johns and the more populated west coast of Antigua and is near English Harbour and Shirley Heights Lookout( fabulous views and Sunday night 'jump up' - steel bands and BBQ)

Room Tip: Ocean view to the Atlantic side-seemed more spacious than others we glimpsed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Figgy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I find that it is important for readers to understand who I am and how I travel, as reviews are very subjective as to a persons experience and preference. As an agent I have traveled extensively throughout the Caribbean, to both all-inclusive and non-inclusive properties. I do not travel to lounge around the pool all day, I travel to get out and experience a destination. We always rent a car so that we can see as much as possible. Our personal preference is generally for non-inclusive properties based on our travel experience. However, I must say that the St James Club is one of the best all-inclusive properties that we have stayed at. If I could provide a rating of 4.5 I would. The extra half a point would be because the staff at the resort were really fabulous. Based on amenities and experience this resort is a very solid 4 star and you can book without hesitation.
I would like to say that the people of Antigua are really very friendly, and helpful. Because we drove all around the island, we got to speak with locals alot, and this really stood out to us. There were not vendors at every turn trying to see their wares, and when we did encounter this, a "no" was all that was required, and that was that. No sad stories or relentlessness like you get on some other islands.

Rooms - We stayed in the Royal Suites, and I would say that this is well worth the extra $$. The rooms are spacious, beds are super comfy and bathrooms are large, with a huge soaker tub. If you watch TV while on vacation, you won't be disappointed - tons of channels available, pretty much the same as at home. If you need the internet while you travel, you have WI-FI in your room if you are in the Royal Suites. Otherwise you will have to go to the lobby area. But WI-FI was very reliable. The Royal Suites are situated in their own area with two small pools for these guests only, and it's own bar (Sabrya is awesome).
If you don't stay in the Royal Suites - go for the Reef Rooms. As with most hotels I would not recommend booking the cheapest room category.

Food - Absolutely no complaints about the food or service. It was great, there were lots of options, dinners are a la carte (except Caribbean night was a buffet), and yes while we were there some nights one of the restaurants are closed. This is not unusual, as you have to give staff a night off! We actually did not try Piccolo Mondo, but only because while we were there it was really super hot and my husband couldn't bear the thought of wearing long pants. But we were also very happy with the menu options in the other restaurants. Reservations are required at Docksider and Rainbow Room, but they are a little flexible on this - one night we were about half an hour late, and twice we did not make reservations - and they accommodated us no problem. Keep in mind though we were there during low season, I wouldn't recommend doing this when occupancy is high. Coco's is always available and the menu stays the same there, and the food was great there too.
Complaints about birds in the restaurants - well what do you expect! this is the same anywhere when you have al fresco dining. But I noticed that they are regularly feeding the birds in a section off the Rainbow Room in order to draw them away from the terrace - clever, never seen that before.

Beach - there are two beach areas here, one is on the Atlantic and the water can be alot rougher here, there is also more of a breeze here. This is better for snorkelling. Then there is the beach on Mamora Bay, which is calm and the other watersports are available here. When we were here it was way too hot for us to spend much time on the beach.

Grounds - the grounds here are beautiful, lush and well cared for. Although things may seem to be a distance apart, they are not really. It only takes a matter of a few minutes to get almost anywhere on the resort. There are ramps for wheelchair access, and really not many stairs to climb, so people with mobility issues should be perfectly fine here.

A great stay, thank you St James Club!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank tripdesigner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A great resort with lovely beaches. Staff on the whole are friendly. A little snobby at times as are some of the customers who are lording it up as if they own the place. The beach drinks buggy is a great respite from the heat. The food is very much the same most days although there are some different variations. Overall a good resort with branded drinks. A little stuffy and dress code is insisted on.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmdcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great secluded location with direct access to 2 beaches and watersports. The Royal Suites are lovely and spacious with balcony overlooking Mamora Bay. Multiple pools but the Reef Deck pool is the only large enough for a decent swim. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Check-in and check-out was very efficient and drivers were on hand to help you around the resort in golf buggies. Great selection for breakfast in the Rainbow Garden restaurant but didn't try out the other restaurants. Good fish burgers from the Mamora Bay Bar on the beach. Live music in the Docksider bar in the evening. Just a 10 min taxi ride to Shirley Heights and English Harbour if you fancy getting out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smars12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I spent a week at St. James Club in Antigua last week and had a fantastic stay. The service was 10 out of 10, prompt, efficient and always pleasant. The food was decent and the rooms where great. We stayed in an Ocean-view room which was very spacious and comfortable. It had a microwave, stove and fridge along with all the cutlery and plates that you would need. The room came equipped with a 40 inch flat screen tv in the living area and a 26 inch flat screen in the Bedroom. Excellent air conditioning and absolutely no insect issues. The washrooms where spacious and modern with a tube that could easily fit 2. There are 4 pools to choose from, 4 restaurants ( one that you have to pay $35.00usa per person , even on the all inclusive plan) and many bars, surprisingly supplied with premium brand liquors such as Hennessy. Our Porter Vincent was more than helpful and the food and Beverage Manager who is originally from Wyoming, left us feeling as though we where special guests. I would recommend the St. James Club to anyone who is looking for a classy, private intimate vacation.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We are a family of 5 so we had 2 rooms. Overall the rooms were very good which they should be since they were the "suites", although the showers were very poor. The staff were by and large fantastic except at the very end. The food was disappointing. The buffet restaurant was in the best location but the food was bland, boring and very unexciting. The a la carte food was ok but in such a barn of a place you didn't want to linger. The quick food restaurant was probably the best. Breakfasts were very good.
We were staying on a deal and flying on my wife's Airline retirement deal. When we checked out we explained that we might not be able to get on the flight that night. We were assured by the duty manageress that if that was the case we could go back and they would honour the same deal. Needless to say we and 2 other families staying on the same package couldn't get on the flight so we taxied all the way back to be told that they wouldn't honour the original deal.
We spoke to an ineffective manager who couldn't or wouldn't help. They were going to charge an additional 30% to our original deal. We ended up leaving and going to the Trade Winds Hotel who couldn't have been more helpful. So all airline staff beware!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed the Premium rooms, but are sorry you had an issue with the shower. We were only notified of this on the day of departure, any sooner and we would have been able to rectify it during your stay. We try and deliver a wide range of cuisine across our restaurants to appeal to all palates, so it is disappointing that you found the food bland and boring. With regards to your check out and return to the hotel, we are not in a position to charge the Tour Operator rates we apologise for any confusion caused. We always wish our guests to leave satisfied with their vacation so it is regrettable that this was not the case. Thank you for sharing your experience, all points will be passed onto Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamora Bay
4.7 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
658 reviews
12.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,943 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
11.6 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,075 reviews
10.8 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club & Villas

Address: | Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range: $337 - $953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, West Indies, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. James's Club & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club & Villas Antigua/Mamora Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing