We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice secluded bit of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. James's Club & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Lovely resort which is set in many acres of land. Done most of Sandals in Caribbean so was bit apprehensive going here. I didn't need to worry, excellent variety of food and restaurants, the staff excellent and very friendly. If you like a lot of entertainment at night then this isn't really for you as it's pretty much out on a limb, but dont misds getting a cab to Shirley heights, phenomenal views.
Rooms were well sized and very clean with great views. the dive shop excellent with great dive master and daily trips out to nice dive sites. (PADI)
We preferred the calm, lagoon side, idyllic and mostly child free!! You must get your reflexology on the Beach by piper, what a guru! $40 pr treatment, well worth it!!
Dont forget your duty free shopping at the port, it takes a good forty minutes to get there, so dont do as we did and assume they are open late, they all closed at 5 pm we got there 4.10pm!
Only complaint was that this is a hotel allocated to the Virgin flight staff. Our bunch were magnificent the first week, but second week it was like being amongst 18 to 30, we went in May, Virgin have still ignored our compliant!
If you like fishing, then get out and get the deep sea catch, the restaurant will then prepare the fish to your hearts desire. fantastic.
Loved the resort, beauty spa wasn't great. Many choices of where to stay on the resort during the day. Great range of alcoholic drinks and snacks. The restaurant where you have to pay the supplement for, go! The lobster was out of this world in the most romantic settings.,
def go back. x

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EssexMinx07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,401)
There are newer reviews for St. James's Club & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,334 - 2,340 of 3,401 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is absolutely my favourite hotel in the world! I have stayed here five times now and I can't wait to go back. I've been with family, on a girls holiday, and with a large group of friends (all in our late 20's). This hotel has it all; beautiful views, enormous rooms, the best all inclusive drinks options I have ever come across, fantastic restaurants, loads of activities - including hobbycat sailing and kayaking at the hotel - and there are always quiet spaces on the beach or by one of the pools.

The restaurants offer very different atmospheres and menu's, I would recommend the Docksider most nights if you're a fan of seafood or fantastically cooked local meats, but you have to go for at least one meal at Picolo Mondo, for which there will be a supplement, but it is worth it as it is beautiful, and there's always an excuse for lobster and champagne! The organised activities (e.g. evening entertainment) at the hotel aren't great, but that's probably not why you're there. I wouldn't suggest anything other than the all inclusive option; it includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks and burgers at the beach bar, and afternoon tea every day, also all cocktails (including house champagne!) from 10am to bar close.

If you want to get out of the hotel, you can do one of many day activities, there are several on offer with Virgin or organise one yourself before you go; we went kayaking through the mangroves and on a Landover tour (very brief). You absolutely must go up to Shirley Heights on the Sunday night; and listen to the locals when they say "beware the rum punch". Get there before sunset, and all taxi's prices are fixed by the government and return, so you can arrange with your driver when to get picked and he'll be there.

Whilst you're at the hotel, there's a kiddies club which means there really aren't many children on the beach or by the pools, there's a gym which although small has enough equipment for the number of people there at any one time; and is air conditioned. There are bars around the hotel and on the beach; even a beach buggy which brings alcoholic and fruit drinks to your sunlounger! There are other hotels on the island and some nearby that offer more glamour and romance, but if you are after a holiday that is fun, friendly, and leaves you wishing you could stay there forever, this really is it.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms directly lead onto the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Maddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is a great place to stay. Food was great. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thegirlsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Thank you, we are delighted you enjoyed your vacation. Please come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I celebrate our wedding anniversary date each year on a different tropical island. So for our 4th year anniversary (September 2010), we picked Antigua. We stayed 5 nights at the St. James's Club in one of the new suites, which was very nice. Overall though, we would say we were just somewhat satisfied with the resort, but not completely in awe of it and would not recommend this resort to our family or friends who were to visit the beautiful island of Antigua.

First off, the resort grounds are beautiful and the two different beaches offers a variety of beach activities and scenery. This resort does not have the clear blue water of the typical Caribbean beach, since it's on the Atlantic side of the island. The beach on the Mamora Bay side of the resort was more like that of a lake, with somewhat murky water and no airflow. The Atlantic side beach of the resort had a breeze but came with the warning of jellyfish, so we swam with caution whenever we did get into the water. I tried to go snorkeling on both sides and was utterly disappointed as I did not see much of anything as both the Mamora Bay side was murky and the Atlantic side was too cloudy. So, book a snorkeling tour if you want to see colorful, tropical fish while you're on Antigua!

The restaurants were good, so no complaints about the food. The entertainment at night was lacking, and trust me, we are not bar-hopping party people, as we came to relax and enjoy quality time with each other-but this resort really was lacking in the this area in the evenings. There was almost the lack of evening entertainment, compared to all of the resorts that we have stayed on in other tropical locations.

In terms of the rooms, our suite was nice and luxurious, as it was in one of the new buildings that they've added within the last couple of years. It had a king size bed, a step down living area with a sofa and coffee table, and a whirlpool tub along with a walk in shower in addition to two sinks in the bathroom. They do have a few buildings that are the older ones, with rooms that needed some updating, so make sure you book one of the suites if you want a more spacious room with updated amenities.

The major complaint that both my husband and I had was the inconsistency of service from the staff members. Some of the resort staff were very friendly and helpful, which is what we've come to know of staff working in these tropical island resorts. However, this was the first resort where we've encountered some not so friendly staff, who appeared as if they just hated their job, which made it very unpleasant for us whenever we needed something from them. The one staff member that stood out as the least friendly was the lady grilling the food at the beach bar/grill on the Mamora Bay side. She never smiled, and we had to greet her whenever we wanted something from the all-inclusive bar/grill that she was running. It wasn't until my husband tipped her $5 USD that she gave him a smile and showed us some friendliness. Given that we tipped a couple of bucks each time we would order something from the beach bar/grill, her unfriendliness towards the customers on the beach was really bothersome to us. This type of inconsistency on the level of friendliness from staff members made us not to want to come back to this resort, along with the other reasons listed above.

We've been to the Tahitian Islands, the Hawaiian Islands, a few times to Riviera Maya, and a couple of the Caribbean Islands, and out of all the resorts that we have stayed at, this was our least favorite--due to the location on the island (pretty far drive from the airport), lack of clear blue water/beaches, lack of good snorkeling, and inconsistency in the friendliness level of the staff members that worked at this resort.

Room Tip: Any of the suites are very nice and spacious with upgraded room amenities.
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank SMH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not have a positive experience at the Mamora Beach Bar and Grill. All our staff are trained to provide a consistent level of customer service, so we are disappointed to learn that this was not the case during your stay. Thankyou for taking the time to inform us so we can deal with the matter. We were pleased to see you enjoyed the grounds, accommodation and dining options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was our second visit and this time with friends so pressure was on but should not have worried.We arrived the last week in May and forecast not good but we had great weather.Food as before wonderful a big thanks to the girls at the Rainbow Garden and also to sandra for great omlettes.We know that there was not going to be lots of entertainment but we found it better than before. A big thanks to Ebony on Reception and to the legend that is Alfred,what a star,we had great chats about the island. Some reports say that staff are not friendly,rubbish,if you speak to them then they answer you and they get use to you.Would we go back for a third time?you bet we would.

Room Tip: We have had all different rooms,higher floor quieter but all good
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Another Very, very, very disappointed ….!!!

Got Villa Unit thru exchange with Interval International. Our stay was completed on August 2011. Telicia Thomas, Office Administrator at check-in was very sweet and courteous. Also our golf cart driver who took us to the room was nice and very courteous. Villas are spacious and very nice. TV’s are updated with lots of channels available to watch which is good. We had rain all week so it was nice to relax. We were book automatically for the restaurant buffer for dinner since we were told they do that for all customers on their first night. We were not committed to the All-Inclusive plan option because we want to try the food first since we had the option of cooking at the villas. Paid $55(usa currency) per person and did not include tea or soda which is extra. In the USA any $55 includes your drink and coffee. We were displeased with food items on the buffet. Only restaurant we used on the property. After that we cook or visit restaurants out of the complex.

Guest Service was bad ….. I agree with others on this forum. Some of the employees seems to enjoy disappointing the tourist. Seems that they do not offer any incentive to their employees consequently you accept the situation or go somewhere else.

There are 2 beaches, Atlantic side, very small, with turquoise water indeed, but full of seaweed and jelly fish. Mamora Bay, muddy water, not at all what you'd expect from a Caribbean Island didn’t get in at all. Leave the resort for better beaches, believe me, there are really beautiful beaches on this island.

Sports Offered …. Deep Fishing Boat on dry dock we never were told even though we request information because my husband want it to go fishing. We did go out and fish on the small boat and have. Take cash to pay because we couldn’t charge it to the room.

Overall, we were very disappointed and couldn't wait to leave. Surely will not recommend it to anyone. I won’t take my family to this resort again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank cocolafl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I am reading the other reviews and had to comment. First off we are not hard to please and some of the problems we blew off for the first few days. It was only after things happened on a consistent basis did I start to get upset.
Lots of miss opportunities. That was the way my husband describes this place. We arrived around 3:30 and were greeted with rum punch. Yum. However, we were told our room was not ready. We took a walk and came back twice. They could not give me a timetable for the room. It took almost 2 hours. The rooms were ok. Dated. Mopped everyday but do not think they move anything to clean. Found a fake fingernail on the end table and they actually folded a ripped towel on the rack with the rip facing out. Beds and chairs not really comfortable. They grounds are very pretty. Looks very much like the pictures. Several pools but the main action (and full bar) are outside the lobby. Went into Shirley Heights on Sunday and shopping in St John's. Make sure you have cash even for the shuttles(taxis). There is not an ATM at the resort. There was one outside the airport if you need it and plenty in St Johns( Remember the $27 pp departure tax is in cash too)
I did enjoy the food but the service was spotty. It was very difficult to get a drink - esp at the buffet. It actually became a joke. We would also order a drink and it would never come. Again this was not every seating but 2 out of the 3 meals. Sometimes we would not even get water. Some wait staff we working really hard and could have forgotten and some were rude (We always said please and thank you- I was a waitress before) The dining room was very disorganized. However, Picolo Mondo made up for it. Food was great and we were asked frequently if we were ok. It all should have been like this. Apparently some staff work on island time too. One bar was not staffed until an hour later and I called the spa for 45 minutes to make an appointment (after being forwarded to the front desk- who transferred back me to the spa.) Massage was very nice. I never complain but when checking out I mentioned I was disappointed. All I was given was a sorry. The seaweed is unfortunate but they took great measures to clear it. The beach side has a great breeze. There could have been more in the way of nightly entertainment. Only one bar was open and got busy for someone who wanted a water or soda. Although we did have a mini fridge it was empty. The gift shop was very expensive to buy water or drinks. This resort was s very hit or miss. Met a few ladies who had great service and a few people in the same boat as us. I also disregarded the negative reviews here because I am not difficult to please. Wish I didn't. I would not go back if they offered it for free. I would not risk the frustration. Good Luck.

Room Tip: Nice breeze on beach. Other side hotter but prettier view.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank alohagirl444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamora Bay
12.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,879 reviews
4.7 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
591 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
10.7 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
12.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club & Villas

Address: | Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range: $314 - $1,158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James's Club & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club & Villas Antigua/Mamora Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing