We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
46
27
2
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
27
2
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car half board black forest balcony towels spa tv cheese internet bed
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 79 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2017

The hotel and restaurant flawlessly combine Black Forest tradition with modern amenities.
Pro: The staff are anxious to please, some speak English well, Shuttle service can be provided, spa is beautiful, rooms have towel warmers, wheelchair accessible, arrangements can be made to accommodate dogs, small conference room will hold about 20 comfortably, ski lift to top of the mountain is just across parking lot- incredible view. Hiking trails adjoin site, some rooms have balconies, windows open, radiator heat - no air blowing across the bed or air conditioner noise, half board is available. WiFi , breakfast (outstanding) and parking included. Family owned and operated.
Con: not close to other restaurants, shopping, town. No phone signal.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, prefer the view of the mountains to the back.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateg1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Great location if you want to be quiet and relaxed. Good value and we would recommend booking half board as any other restaurants are a car ride away. Delux rooms are south facing with a balcony and great size to relax in. Rooms have both bath and shower. Restaurant is excellent with limited choice on half board but we did not have any issues. Not a very child friendly hotel as mainly caters for adults on both winter and summer breaks. The waiter with blond highlights certainly did not like a baby messing up his restaurant !
Excelent spa, pool, sauna etc. As Brits we had to get used to mixed nude sauna and steam room..
Right next to the bubble lift to the top of the Belchen for cool summer walks with stunning views.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2016

We stayed at the Belchenhotel with family during Christmas 2015. Our whole experience was delightful. We opted for deluxe rooms with 50SqM of high quality accommodation and can honestly say it's one of the best hotel experiences we have had. The rooms are brilliantly finished, warm and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the mountain forest. The standard of equipment and furniture is exceptional, the rooms were cleaned daily and the bed linen changed every other day. A flat screen TV, safety deposit box and free wifi throughout the hotel completed the experience. One thing worthy of note is the construction of this new section of the hotel. The rooms are so quiet you cannot hear your neighbours, the lift or any plumbing sounds. To all intents you are sealed in a relaxing environment, unaware of your fellow guests.
Breakfast was typically German with an excellent array of cheeses, meats, fruits and cereals with tea and coffee available on request. We had opted for half-board as the hotel is 1090 metres up the Belchen and therefore quite a drive into the nearest town (Schonau) plus of course, this being Christmas, most places were closed. The evening meal was superb, consisting of 4 courses every night and no repeats. Food quality was excellent and the presentation and service were 5 star. All the staff were polite and friendly and the quality of delivery was top notch. We couldn't fault anything. I suffer from gluten intolerance and the kitchens coped with this every night with a tasty and beautifully presented alternative without question or fuss. Remarkable! Moving on, the facilities within the hotel live up to the standard of everything else. We used the swimming pool which is amazing and there is also a sauna, wellness spa & gym which we did't get round to using, but which was modern in design and looked to be very high standard.
The hotel is really very good and well worth a visit. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room with a forest view; it is well worth the extra!
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoverfly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We ended up in this area of the black forest at the end of the day and decided to stay at this hotel. Very quiet surroundings, went for a lite hike the next morning up Mt Belchen (not very long). Their food is very good and so is the breakfast. No complaints except that there isn't a whole lot to do around the hotel since the hikes are fairly short. They also have a nice indoor pool and wellness area (for an extra 6 euros). There is a fairly major extension to the building under construction but was not bothersome at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Belchen is a small village at the top of the mountain with a ski station. Great rooms, exceptional service, stunning view and a nice warm pool. Great breakfast and ask for a tomato soup and a Schwarzwalder Sauerkirschensteak at dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fabiopY7098NX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews