We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't get any cheaper than this” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backpacker Pad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpacker Pad
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any cheaper than this”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

At $4 for a room with two double beds, it doesn't get any cheaper than this. The rooms are clean but it kind of feels like a closet converted into a room. Can't expect much for the price. The food is also good.
The place isn't located around the lake and with little to no lights or tuk tuks in ban lung it's a bit difficult to visit other restaurants after dark. The employees also stayed up very late and were very loud at night so it was a bit annoying trying to sleep. Most annoying was the fact that their website and employees informed us that there was hot shower available. The hot shower didn't work. I can understand that for $4 that might be too much to ask for but don't advertise it if you don't have it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    9
    8
    14
See reviews for
Families
0
13
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mataram, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed with my girlfriend in december, quality/price is ok.. room stinked a little but nothing unberable.staff is funny. ANd as others commented, mr.sophat is an educted businessman that knows how to help you but his trekking is not about seing jungle or wildlife but more having a good time with really friendly guys in forest close to a natural park. the guide and the ranger made the trip and cooking as amazing. The downside was ,not a single animal spotted and just guys cutting the last big redwood trees with chainsaws.
If you are looking for a jungle experience, book it with time and go to the real natural park.
LAst time the ranger had seen anything wild dated to late 90s.
so 1 star for the trekking and wildlife experience but 5 stars for the bamboo cooking experience and really good people.

Backpackerspad is a place to stay with small budget. food ok..staff really nice..

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clausmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakse, Laos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

at backpacker pad's you'll find a place that has everything to offer what a traveller could wish for. the rooms are basic but the beds are comfortable. with fan and shower. cleanliness is average but when you'll be back from exploring the terres rouges you'll find it very difficult to keep anything clean from the red dust that is covering you.
the food is good. and the manager mr.sophat is a really nice guy, very helpfull with all sorts of things..
in a nutshell, it was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samuelit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

In my opinion, the nicest place to stay in Ban Lung! Friendly staff, good rooms, cheap, great breakfast and Mr. Sophat is willing to tell you more about the things you can do around Ban Lung (we had the opportunity to visit a high school and donated sime books for the school's library).
Furthermore, we booked a 2day-1 night trekking at Backpackers pad which was really fun and a great experience. Good food, great guides, beautiful nature and a good sleep in a hammock in a jungle!

Xxxx

Sophie and Valerie

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiekrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

From the moment I arrived at Backpacker Pad, Mr Sophat was very kind and attentive. I had booked my accommodation online, but had also brought along a few extra travelers with me who had not previously booked a room. It was no problem for Mr Sophat to find space for these travelers to stay the night as well. Additionally, Mr Sophat sat down with a group of us (7 people in total) and carefully explained our options regarding a jungle trek. He asked each of us what we would like to experience from the trek as he wanted to ensure that we were all catered for respectively. The guide (Mosquito Net), ranger (Blanket) and porter (Hammock) that Mr Sophat organised for our 3 day, 2 night trek were incredible! We were all very well fed and looked after each day and had a wonderful experience engaging with local villagers. On our return to Backpacker Pad we celebrated in the comfortable lounge/restaurant area with Mr Sophat as well. Overall, my experience at Backpacker Pad was excellent. It is cheap, the food is delicious and Mr Sophat is a genuine, caring owner who is doing a fantastic job! Thanks again Mr Sophat!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaJG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackpackerPad, Owner at Backpacker Pad, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hello Emma,
Thank you very much for your good review. I am very excited to read your meaningful words and would happily like to share this with my staffs that we have been doing a lot of better things for our friends as clients. I am very happy when you and your friends like my hostel Backpacker Pad. Moreover, it is the best thing to inspire me to keep working very hard to offer the better services as possible. You mirror me to see what I have done well and what not.

How is your travel holiday? where have you been so far? We all miss you so much. We remember you very well. Please keep in touch because we are good friends. Thus, I really want to hear from you desperately. I hope you are keeping well and wish you good luck all the time. Lots of misses from Backpacker Pad. Mr. Sophat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Det, Laos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

After a long and arduous journey from Phnom Penh, Backpacker pad was the perfect remedy. Picked up free of charge from the bus station by a very polite young man, escorted by one of the six tuk tuks in the area, I felt like celebrity. On arrival, to the small, modest hostel I was instantly welcomed by The Sophat family. The owner was very friendly, speaks good English and has a wealth of knowledge on the local area, which he is more than happy to share. The rooms are nice, comfy, all with a fan but still kept me cool. Good central location, in a beautiful area of Cambodia. Good, simple food always served with a smile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackpackerPad, Owner at Backpacker Pad, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear my friend,
Hello, how are you? I am very sad to know that you have got to move because you are very good friend. You have left me and my family great review about my hostel. We family and staffs are very happy to listen to it. And I am very proud of your behaviors toward our culture and the way you adjust to solve the problems. Finally, I would like to wish you good luck with journey to Laos and other parts of the world in your life. Moreover, Happy New Year to come ! Great smiles from our family Backpacker Pad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

On first arriving everything seems very welcoming - a charming host, a nice bar area, pool table, and a nice chilled atmosphere that made you think this could could be a relaxing, easy place to stay

So chilled and relaxed however, that no matter what you are doing, at 10 o'çlock the lights go off, the shutters come down and you are made to feel that perhaps you ought to be in your bed and not keeping the staff out of theirs. Surely they could keep the lights on, and one of the staff stay up a little longer if there are people still in the bar area?

Mr Sophat, initially charming, and speaking fantastic English, ultimately left us a little disappointed. After explaining to him that we had turned down a trekking tour with another group because we wanted to use his agency, he promised to organise a trip for us, Must have been something we said, as he promptly disappeared for two days, and when he came back said nothing to us. Needless to say we booked our trekking elsewhere (with the absolutely excellent Dutch couple).

The rooms are basic but ok - you can't expect the Ritz for a few dollars a night - and it is situated a few minutes walk from the centre of town, and also from the lake.

We just left thinking it could have been so much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maccers145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackpackerPad, Owner at Backpacker Pad, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Sir,
Hello, how are you? where have you been so far? I am sorry that it takes me for a short while to reply your review. Thank you very much for your review because it is the most important feedback for my hostel to learn from. Honestly, I welcome and would like equal hospitality to every guest no matter they are from, who they are and what religions they believe. As a matter of fact, after reading your review, I consult many and many times with my staffs on what we have done on the issue that you have already mentioned. The point that we turn off the light around ten o'clock is our big mistake because we have you as our guests staying in our hostel. I am sorry I should not have done it, but on that day we didn't have any other clients except you so we decided to go to bed a bit early. We are meaning to react on your good decision for your amazing trek at all because you are well-educated enough to make your decision, judgement and you have more freedom of choice. I am very happy already with your warm stay at my hostel. Thus, please feel open about me. Respectfully, I am happy with everybody as long as you treat me as human. Last but not, I am running a hostel for long term so my vision is to offer lean rooms, great services to customer and would also like to wish you good luck and trip on your holiday. Again, thank you very much for your constructive review. I regard it as my lesson in the way of business.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,
Sophat
Backpacker Pad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banlung hotels
0.0 mi away
Banlung Balcony Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Tree Top Eco-Lodge
Tree Top Eco-Lodge
#1 of 17 in Banlung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#1 of 24 in Banlung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ratanakiri-Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Terres Rouges Lodge
Terres Rouges Lodge
#2 of 8 in Banlung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ratanak Resort
Ratanak Resort
#5 of 24 in Banlung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker Pad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker Pad

Property: Backpacker Pad
Address: | Village 5, Labanseak, Banlung, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Ratanakiri Province > Banlung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Banlung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpacker Pad is a family run guest house in Banlung. Mr. Sophat formally the manager of Lake View Lodge and his family has just moved to a new place which is strategically located between the lake and city center. The geust house is doing the same jobs such as accommodating, catering food and beverage, organizing day tours and extreme jungle treks (Sophat Tours).Furthermore, Backpacker Pad offers a new dorm bed for $1 and $2 per night. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is amazing. Furthermore, the guest house also provides free WiFi, pool table, DVD player and pick up from the bus station. We are Backpacker Pad staff is very happy to welcome to your stay at our place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Backpacker Pad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing