We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant and relaxed atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banlung Balcony Guesthouse & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 26 Banlung B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The restaurant at ban lung had great cheap food. There is also a large flat screen tv if you wanna watch some movies. It's also a great place to see the sunset over the lake.

The rooms are ok and worth the $7 (with hot water). They're not too clean but you can't expect too much for the price. My only criticism was that one of the employees charged us for a tuk tuk ride to the bus station even though they advertise free pick up and drop off to the bus station. This is because we booked a round-trip ticket in phnom penh and didn't book our return ticket with the guest house. It seemed a little ridiculous given that he was already taking another couple to the bus station.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 124 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Over looking a lake with a grand old time feel to it this place is a catch. The place has a feeling like the hotel in the shining (don't worry not scary in any way). The rooms were big and generally clean although the walls look like they're falling apart. We had a lot of ants crawling around the room but that was the only bother of the place. Again typical shower on the toilet setup. Very cheap and reasonable considering the feel of the place. Staff super chilled, friendly, helpful and efficient. Andrew who runs it is always happy to help. DVD player with a good selection on films on a huge flat screen. Wifi in communal area but not in room but not a bother considering how great this place is. Food was pretty good in general. Some of the local dishes were a little bland. All in all well worth it. They are also putting morning glory on the menu soon!!!! And they have an avocado tree!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleekul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This place should do better even though it's just a backpacker accommodation charging $2 for a bed and up to $7 for the largest double room with a bathroom and fan. Our $7 room is very basic, the interior is quite rundown, the shower was weak, cleaniness is passable but no bench or hook in the bathroom, let alone wardrobe. We stayed for one night and moved to an a/c bangalow at Lakeside Chheng Lok for $20 a night and we were very satisfied. The newly opened Phak Dara next door charges only $10 for a room. We think it's better to compare before settling in an accommodation, there are quite a few around the lake and in the town.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I've been through this town twice, & each time it's left me with memories. Something unusual & special about this little outpost at the far corner of Cambodia. And the Balcony is a good place to experience Banlung. Wooden rooms in a big old local-style house, not for the fussy as there are insects & bugs around. But for a little town like this, & at $5 a night, it's a winner. Of course, if you need your first world service, try Terres Rouges down the road at 15 times the price, but surely not 15 times the value.
Same owner as The Balcony in nearby Kratie. If you like one, you'll like the other.
As with everything about small Cambodian towns like this, the staff are a bit sleepy, but they get what you want done sooner or later if you give them a chance. And the sunset/dusk across the lake with a cold beer in hand in the bar/restaurant is a stunner.
You could do better, but you could spend a lot of time fussing around instead of enjoying the surroundings too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterStk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This guesthouse was located next to the lake offering nice views and has a very nice common area to relax outside with comfortable chairs, pool table, decent food (great pancakes) and dvds (but have insect repellant as there were lots of mosquitos when i was there).
The highlight was the trekking trip organised by the guesthouse to the National Park for a very good price. Our tour guide, Vuthy, was excellent, spoke well english and really ensured our group enjoyed our expeiance.
I would highly recommend the stay in the guesthouse and their trekking trip and our tour guide.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylwia90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Set in the former house of the Khmer Ratanakiri governor, this guest house offer a variety of rooms. The upstairs rooms are more pleasant and some are both impressive and comfortable. The manager and his deputy know the area like the back of their hands and you can depend on them to organise well-priced tours on motorbikes. They also rent motorbikes. Ordinary bikes cans be rented for free if you only want to pedal your way in the town vicinity. Excellent atmosphere in the evening. Free wifi and big plasma TV in the restaurant area. Snooker/Billiards table for the sports aficionados. THE place to stay in Ban Lung

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I never usually respond to a tout but I had spent 6 hours in Stung treng waiting for the bus to Banlung so when i got there I just thought well there is no harm in looking... and I'm glad I did.
The guesthouse is an ex-colonial building now owned and run as a local family business. We visited in the low season and so there was probably only about 8 guests in the whole place so it was extremely quiet. The rooms are large and good value for money. We had a shared bathroom but this was no problem as there are not too many rooms sharing the facilities but there are also ensuites available if you prefer. The restaurant has lovely views of the lake and the food is nice and good value too, and you can check out the tours or activities that are on offer there.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming and helped us to hire a motorbike and with any questions we had as we'd just arrived from Laos. They even gave us a wake-up knock and arranged free transportation to the bus station when we left Banlung.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banlung hotels
0.2 mi away
Terres Rouges Lodge
Terres Rouges Lodge
#2 of 9 in Banlung
207 reviews
0 mi away
Ratanak City Hotel
Ratanak City Hotel
#6 of 9 in Banlung
9 reviews
0 mi away
Ratanakiri Paradise Hotel, Restaurant & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ratanakiri-Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Nature House
Nature House
#5 of 26 in Banlung
48 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tree Top Eco-Lodge
Tree Top Eco-Lodge
#2 of 17 in Banlung
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banlung Balcony Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banlung Balcony Guesthouse & Restaurant

Address: 6th Village | Labanseak Commune, Banlung 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Ratanakiri Province > Banlung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Banlung
Price Range: $10 - $10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Range of rooms for independent travellers, from dorms to rooms with A/C and hot water, in former Governor's mansion overlooking Boeung Kansaing. Peaceful garden setting with separate restaurant/bar/lounge area. Full tourist facilities available, including currency exchange, local tours and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Banlung Balcony Guesthouse & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing