We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming bungalow for a decent price”
Review of Tree Top Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tree Top Eco-Lodge
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Charming bungalow for a decent price”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Our bus to Ratanakiri was really late. We arrived at 1am in the morning and the Treetop people were there waiting to take us to the hotel. (We should have arrived at 5pm.)

On the hotel: Good location (right in town and walking distance to many restaurants) comfortable bed, nice bathroom (fairly clean except for some bat droppings or something, but it's an "ecolodge"), room comes with a deck and hammock. The tofu, mushroom and cheese burger at the restaurant was yummy. Nice views on the treetop deck.

Bring your toothbrush, soap and shampoo as it wasn't provided.

No complaints.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EthanandJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    72
    33
    10
    10
See reviews for
15
92
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Basic but really nice.
Great views, relaxing patio with a hammock.
As it is a hut, everything is open and at night we had a bit of a problem with some animals in our room, rat or squirrel, still not sure which one, came to visit us a few times.
Food was good and well priced.
Our room only had cold water while we reserved one with hot water. staff did not care to help us out.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rebra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I was very excited to check out this place as it seemed to be a very nice option and I reserved several weeks in advance. Unfortunately, the bus we took to get there broke down and when it seemed obvious that we would not make it there the same day (they stopped us in Kratie and said they wouldn't take us any further contrary to what they had said earlier, but that's a different story).

I paid someone to use their phone and called to warn the hotel that we would not make it that night as this seemed like the right thing to do. I doubt many people take the trouble to do this and I'm 100% certain that we weren't the first people not to make it to Ban Lung because a bus had broken down in Cambodia... I also proceeded to tell the person I spoke to that I could and would pay for the room if they could not rent the rooms for that day (we were several travelers). He seemed upset at first, but upon my financial offer he became nicer. Once again, how many people offer money for rooms that they don't use when no deposit has been made?

When we finally arrived the next day we were totally exhausted and happy to be there (after all, it had taken us 33 hours to reach Ban Lung from Siem Reap). The person at the reception told us that he had never spoken to me and that he had canceled our because we hadn't shown up. He also told us that the number in the Lonely Planet was not the correct number but that of his boss in some other place (???). I tried to get some clarification, but he was very rude and unhelpful. I found this very juvenile and silly because I honestly would have paid him for the previous night's rooms which we had never used, but that offer expired along with the disrespectful attitude and the fact that we had no room.

A person staying there who witnessed the scene later told us that she had considered changing hotels because of how badly we were treated by the person at the reception (owner or manager?). We were also told by other hotel residents that the staff was rather pushy with tours and that they charge more than nearby agencies (both for treks and for transportation).

In all fairness, the place does have a very nice view, but I could never recommend it to anyone because of what happened. Also, if you do book this place, try to arrive early because you may have to find another place to stay if they don't honour your booking (and there aren't many places in the area)...

Lastly, and on a different topic, I failed to see anything 'eco' about this lodge. There was rubbish all around and no environmental efforts were to be seen except for the chopping of trees to build more bungalows.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gohabsgo2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights when we were in Ban Lung. After a 12hr bus ride from Siem Reap it was a very welcome sight to see someone holding up a sign to our bus window with out names on it! We were able to avoid all the touts and hop on some motorbikes and 10 minutes later were relaxing on the lovely deck of the lodge. The views were great from the restaurant/deck area and we enjoyed pretty sunsets. The lodge was also helpful in organizing motorbike rentals and were able to provide us with maps so that we could take a trip to Voen Sai on our own. The bungalow was cute and had a nice sitting area. Our one complaint is that there was a huge ant problem in the bathroom and a steady stream on a journey to the trash bin and back. Kind of gross but they never did get into the main room though I was a bit paranoid after that :-) Overall would recommend staying here. Good customer service and accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Tree Top Eco Lodge is situated in the outskirts of Ban Lung Town in the province of Ratanakiri. The whole lodge is constructed in wood with gangways connecting the bungalows with the main area. We paid 7 USD for a twin room with cold water.
The bar was well stocked and the food okay. The fantastic view from the main area during breakfast comes with the seven dollars. Okay the comfort are not perfect but what can you expect for this price. If I ever come back to this area I will stay here again.
The charm factor is very high.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerrSvensson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

These reasonably priced bungalows are a great place to spend a few days relaxing and taking in some of the adventures around Ratanakiri. There is also a reasonably priced bar/restaurant for when you just want to kick back and take it easy. The bungalows are simple and have varying levels of comfort (AC, hot shower etc) to suit your budget. Be warned though, the prices will double for the big Cambodian holidays.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srobots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2011

There are some nice people associated with this place. However the Kind Mr.T was very helpful when two tourist were wanting to go watch cock fights. I think that many people who have gone there/will go there need to bear this is mind. Personally I couldn't see much 'Eco' in Treetops, just Dollar Signs and some rubbish.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank limey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banlung hotels
1.1 mi away
Terres Rouges Lodge
Terres Rouges Lodge
#2 of 9 in Banlung
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#1 of 26 in Banlung
42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunset Village
Sunset Village
#4 of 26 in Banlung
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Flashpacker Pad
Flashpacker Pad
#9 of 26 in Banlung
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yaklom Resort
Yaklom Resort
#7 of 17 in Banlung
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ratanak Resort
Ratanak Resort
#5 of 26 in Banlung
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Top Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Top Eco-Lodge

Property: Tree Top Eco-Lodge
Address: Phum No.1, Laban Seak, Banlung, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Ratanakiri Province > Banlung
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Banlung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tree Top Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree Top Eco Hotel Ratanakiri Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing