We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best latte in the world”
Review of Lahar Cafe

Lahar Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Okato
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best latte in the world”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have travelled through out the world sampling coffees but the latte made here is the best - every year we come down to the naki for a surf trip and every time we stop for our breakfasts and coffees at the Lahar cafe there coffee is always to great standard -even the takeaway cups rock - dont change a thing.
regards
Paulo

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fanifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    19
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
1 review
“Awsome Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excellent food, couldn't fault a thing. I just love this place will go again! I constantly recommend this place to everyone. Nice scenic drive to the small township.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunterville, NZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in The World”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Group of 4 hungry people. Recommended by lady in supermarket in New Plymouth. Made the journey and would have crawled over hot coals to get the food, the service and the atmosphere. Busy, busy busy place teeming with good vibes, good food and great service.
Well done Okato, you match anything in 24 countries I've visited.
CB

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiBruces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good coffee and fantastic breakfast croissants. Looks to be a favourite of the locals. No long wait but always seemed to be buzzing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank allcornersNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
148 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect food - Great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went here for lunch yesterday with a group of 12. The service was great and all of our 12 meals came out at the same time. There was another large group dining at the same time so we were impressed by this as its not a very big place. The service was quick and friendly. Our meals were beautiful. All 12 guests were really happy with there choices again not an easy thing to do. The eggs were perfect and the mushrooms amazing but everything was so yummy. Will definitely go back here - well worth the drive from town. Great atmosphere. Thanks

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mosscopeekotrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lahar Cafe also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Lahar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing