We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Le Dauphin”
Review of Le Dauphin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Dauphin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Dauphin
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fort Dauphin
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We spent 2 nights here (due to flight availabilty) after visiting Berenty and were very pleased. Le Dauphin is next door to La Croix du Sud (newer with an South Seas/Asia look and is favored by tour groups) and is owned by the same family. The owners are French and Le Dauphin hotel and food reflects this. Arrangements for visiting Berenty are made through this hotel--one booking for airport pickup, transportation to Berenty, Berenty guide, and accomodations at Berenty. Just email them at Le Dauphin.
Excellent Internet is available and free at La Croix next door.
There is also a very good botanical garden with lots of lemurs near Fort Dauphin that we visited. Here, the lemur babies were on the backs of the mamas incidating that they were somewhat older than the babies at Berenty where they were still clinging to mama's stomach. :)
The food is quite good and we looked forward to the meals.
TIP: If you walk outside the front door, turn right and walk toward the water, you will intersect a street with a gas station near the intersection. The gas station has a "Boutique" attached which sells snacks, water, etc.

I would definitely recommend Le Dauphin and/or La Croix next door. All meals for both are taken at Le Dauphin.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Le Dauphin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Paupie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank しまくま
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank supertramp966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teracchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabouanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Dauphin hotels
0.8 mi away
Talinjoo  Hotel
Talinjoo Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fort Dauphin
93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lavasoa
Hotel Lavasoa
#2 of 2 in Fort Dauphin
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lamarina
Hotel Lamarina
#2 of 3 in Fort Dauphin
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Croix du Sud
La Croix du Sud
#1 of 4 in Fort Dauphin
67 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Le Dauphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dauphin

Address: Boulevard 1 | BP 54, Fort Dauphin 614, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Fort Dauphin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fort Dauphin
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the hotel La Croix du Sud, the hotel-restaurant Le Dauphin ** will seduce travelers and regulars with its 23 rooms and bungalows and its large garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing