We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The View Restaurant

The View Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The food is Modern Scottish featuring fresh local produce from a seasonally changing menu. The cooking style is all about ingredients and the dishes are not over complicated letting the flavours speak for themselvesFront of house is friendly, relaxed and informal –the décor modern contemporary with impressive designs… Nothing has been overlooked which makes them stand out from the crowd and definitely worth a detour.There’s a reason The View is called The View - it has one of the most impressive views over the River Tay. On a summer’s day, it's clear, sparkling and beautiful. When the weather isn't quite so accommodating, it's dramatic, striking and ever changing.It’s the perfect venue for exclusive private functions such as Birthdays, Anniversaries or Weddings with stunning views across the Tay and catering for up to 70 people its ideally equipped for any special occasion. CLOSED ON MONDAYS.. TUESDAY - SATURDAY MEALS SERVED 10AM-2PM & 6.30PM-9PM OPEN ALL DAY ON SUNDAYS- MEALS SERVED; 11AM-2PM & 5.30PM-7.30PM
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went for Saturday lunch, with my elderly mother, where the table service was outstanding from friendly & attentive staff. She had 2 dishes from the taster menu, where smaller portion size suits her appetite, whilst larger "sharing" seafood platter & fudge cake with cream for me. Great views over the Tay to Dundee, nice ambience, on the pricey side though well worth it as a treat for the food quality & dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank primerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stvrview, Owner at The View Restaurant, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Primerh.. Thanks for the great review.. Really glad you enjoyed your lunch with us.. Hope to see you again soon .. Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    78
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly Chilled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Went for the first time with a friend. Staff very friendly and helpful. Smaller portions which are perfect to share. Great views. Great setting. Lovely wine list. Will most definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beckibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice and freindly staff !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had visited this place before the present owners took over and had found it to be good value for money with nice food .I was pleasantly surprised on my visit this time as the food was quite good but nothing to rave about ,the Tapas style menu was good with an excellent variety of food ,it was nice to be able to share .We had three dishes between the two of us but would definitely say it was pricey for what we had ,you have to pay extra for things like chips and veg.
Enjoyed the visit staff were very pleasant and attentive ,but don't think I will be back ,in my view not value for money

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stvrview, Owner at The View Restaurant, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
James T.. Thanks for giving our restaurant a try.. Sorry you didn't like the food we served as much as the previous business but we felt we wanted to try something a little bit different and it doesn't suit everyone.. Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Food and atmosphere always great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Have visited the view a good few times now for evening meals. Each time the food has been great and the specials are always a hit! Excellence service is always given with a friendly atmosphere provided. The taster sized meals are great as it spreads out the food and doesnt leave you feeling stuffed after. And the view of the river and bridges is one of our favourites.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaylesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our meal, great view over the river. Enjoyed the tasting menu options, great variety of fresh food which was presented very well. Both of us like different food so it was good to taste each others choices. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, certainly will be returning for another visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stvrview, Owner at The View Restaurant, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
AlisonM.. Thanks for taking the time to leave us this fabulous review.. We really appreciate the feedback .. Hope to see you again soon .. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing