We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good concept, friendly staff”

The View Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The food is Modern Scottish featuring fresh local produce from a seasonally changing menu. The cooking style is all about ingredients and the dishes are not over complicated letting the flavours speak for themselvesFront of house is friendly, relaxed and informal –the décor modern contemporary with impressive designs… Nothing has been overlooked which makes them stand out from the crowd and definitely worth a detour.There’s a reason The View is called The View - it has one of the most impressive views over the River Tay. On a summer’s day, it's clear, sparkling and beautiful. When the weather isn't quite so accommodating, it's dramatic, striking and ever changing.It’s the perfect venue for exclusive private functions such as Birthdays, Anniversaries or Weddings with stunning views across the Tay and catering for up to 70 people its ideally equipped for any special occasion. CLOSED ON MONDAYS.. TUESDAY - SATURDAY MEALS SERVED 10AM-2PM & 6.30PM-9PM OPEN ALL DAY ON SUNDAYS- MEALS SERVED; 11AM-2PM & 5.30PM-7.30PM
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were 5 adults including a visitor from Germany, and picked the restaurant, just to try somewhere different. We were really pleased with our visit. The "tapas" style big starters/ little main courses were all super. We had a good variety covering many items on the excellent list. we also had a couple of bottles of the N Z Sauvignon Blanc which was really good and complemented the food pefectly. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Try it...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 301 of 389 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a great restaurant, friendly staff and unusual menu. A contemporary menu that offer a the dishes as both starters or main course. Ingredients are sourced locally. Wonderful ambiance and a spectacular view over the river Tay.

Thank S_Ceris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stvrview, Owner at The View Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

S_Ceris.. Thanks for the great review.. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments.. Glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon .. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Came here with my mum. She'd been before when they first opened and thought it had been expensive but she says the menu has changed. We both loved it and had one of the food with wine deals. Fine, you don't feel really stuffed full when you leave but it's all good quality food and we think with the wine, it is a good deal. The place was half full and the views are great. We'll definitely be back and will recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stvrview, Owner at The View Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

laura m.. Thanks for the great review.. Really appreciate it.. Glad your mum gave us another try and enjoyed her meal.. We have tried to structure the pricing in a simpler format at lunch time and are going to be rolling that into our dinner menu soon as well.. Hope to see you again soon .. steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have been here many times now and can't fault the place at all. Although we live within closer aras who have many places to eat we always prefer to drive to The View as you know what you get is 1st class.

We arrived last Saturday afternoon without a booking and even thought there were many full tables and a larger family being catered for they managed to fit us in, table for 2 at the window..... perfect!
We had 2 savoury courses for £10.95 followed by dessert, coffee (for the driver) and a gaelic coffee for myself - you must try this, it's the perfect ending to a lovely meal.
As always the food was perfect, great selection for both meat eaters and vegetarians, portion sizes perfect, presentation an art form in itself and staff were so accomodating considering they were very busy. It's such a friendly welcoming place daytime or evening the setting is always perfect.

I can't recommend this place higher and already planning our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank littledancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stvrview, Owner at The View Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

littledancer.. thanks for another great review.. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us your comments and glad you enjoyed your lunch.. Hope to see you again soon.. Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

A Sunday lunch with two children, my wife and my mother in law may not induce a ripple of pleasure in many men, however I had been looking forward to visiting The View at Wormit for a while. Previous trips by my wife always gave good reviews.

The atmosphere was fine, a bit quiet, but also initimate, with tables limited to perhaps 15. The idea is simple. Scottish and fusion tapas, served as dishes about the size of a generous starter, priced between £6.25 and £7.75. The menu suggests a couple of dishes per person for lunch, with a deal price of £10.95 for two dishes.

A children's menu offers, cheesy pasta, sausages or chicken strips, with options of peas, chips, potatoes and beans for around the £5 mark.

I honestly cannot fault either the service of food. Exceptional stand out dishes were the Haddock Risotto full of deep fish flavours with a perfect rice, a delicate and flavoursome Parmesan Tart, and Spinach and Pea Pakoras that were crisp, light and beautifully spiced; actually these alone put many, many top end Indian restaurants to shame. The children loved theirs too, with our three year old declaring the pasta cheese and chips 'the best'. We also had a sharing platter as a starter, plenty for three, with the flatbread strips showing the chefs attention to detail and pride in his craft, seasoned with garlic, sea salt and fresh herbs. In reality, the platter was probably too much as the six dishes were very generous in size.

Overall, £65 got three adults and two children with wine certainly delivered excellent value for money.

There was also Sunday Roast option as full meal at £10.95, with a special board of other tapas.

Finally, the front of house service was friendly, smart and engaging. We felt we were in very competent hands from start to finish. I look forward to me next visit, and if you're in Dundee or St Andrews it is worth the detour.





    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brianfegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stvrview, Owner at The View Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Brianfegg.. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this great review.. Its nice to hear when people enjoy our menu concept and appreciate the hard work of our kitchen staff who produce the dishes and the front of house staff who maintain the standard of service.. Hope to see you again soon .. Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant also viewed

Newport-on-Tay, Fife
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to The View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing