We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night weekend stay”
Review of Maryland B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maryland B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Alvaston B&B and Inns
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“1 night weekend stay”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Found this place at the last minute on tinternet after a late cancellation. The room (no. 1) was snug but had a very spacious bathroom and had everything we needed. Breakfast was substancial and im sure would have kept coming if we were in a hungry mood! There is a lovely big garden at the back to chill out in the evening, although the constant locking and unlocking of doors to get in and out did give the B&B a hostel feel to it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommyteee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
12
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2012

A Clean, Comfortable, Secure and Welcoming B&B that suited my weekly needs while away on Business. Would highly reccomend for the weekly traveller to Derby as ideally situated for Rolls Royce. Spacious room with en-suite power shower, WC and Freeview TV. Free WIFI also available.

Nice fresh choice of Hot and Cold breakfasts available and reasonable priced.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

I stayed at the Maryland for 3 nights over the first May Bank holiday. I was in the area as I am part of a historic re-enactment group who were performing at Elvaston Castle nearby! I was greeted by Sharon who was both friendly and welcoming and showed me to my room herself. I had booked a single en-suite and what a surprise when I found that my room had a double bed within it! What bliss. The room was clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate even though a bit more hanging space would have been welcome, but this was a minor issue. The breakfast was substantial and perfectly cooked! I would recommend this place and the only thing I would change would be to have curtains at the bedroom windows as opposed to blinds! Thank you Sharon - I will be back if we ever come back to Elvaston Castle again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladydiam0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I have been staying here for approximately 7 weeks whilst looking for more long term accommodation to rent in the area as I am going to be working here for 5 years. The couple who run the B&B are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Although they don't offer evening meals they are more than happy to warm meals in the oven or microwave for you, and unusually, breakfast starts at 6am which is ideal when you have to be on site for 7. The rooms are clean, bright and spacious and the en suite bathrooms look as though they have recently been refurbished and are kept spotlessly clean. I would be more than happy to stay here again should the need arise.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Stayed here for one night and we were made to feel very welcome by the owners .Everything was clean and tidy , the bathroom was nearly as big as the room , the bed was comfortable , tea and coffee making facilites, tv and dvd combo , clean towels . Breakfast was a choice of Cereal , orange juice , tea , coffee , sausage , bacon ,egg , beans and toast . It's location is about 2 miles from town . Lots of parking available too .
The phone number is --

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celticbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2009

The service was excellent, room spotless. excellent en-suite bathroom.
The dining area was so comfortable and felt great privacy as there were plenty of room between each table. The breakfast was very enjoyable and felt the whole experience relaxing. I would highly recommend this B&B to any one. I have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels and could honestly say this was better than some of them.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquelineandcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

This is really a quiet, peaceful & excellent place to stay. The thoughts and efforts the owners put into making guests comfortable, were outstanding.The bedrooms are clean, cosy and modern with central heating .The bathroom is equipped with power-shower, towels and toiletries.The room has TV with Combi DVD and the internet can be acesses free of cost,the password for the network can be provided by the owners.The rooms are spotlessly clean with everything you would get if staying at a 4* hotel including tea and coffee making facilities.It lies On the main bus route to EM Airport,and buses to City Centre available from outside the property.Local shops also nearby.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarpreetLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvaston
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,784 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
1.3 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Derby Pride Park
1.5 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryland B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryland B&B

Property: Maryland B&B
Address: 1083 London Road, Alvaston, Derby DE24 8PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Alvaston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alvaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maryland B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maryland B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing