We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, marvellous hosts”
other traveler has booked this property
The Amethyst Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Amethyst Room
Mackworth House Farm in the Domesday Village of Mackworth.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
The Amethyst Room
Mackworth House Farm in the Domesday Village of Mackworth.
The Curved Oak Staircase to the first floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mackworth, Derby, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Largoward
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, marvellous hosts”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for two nights in May. The location is superb: the views from the gardens spectacular. Our room was very well appointed (tea & coffee making facilities, complementary toiletries, free wifi). The bed was exceedingly comfortable and we slept soundly (too soundly - we were late for breakfast both days!). Our hosts couldn't have been more accommodating: nothing was too much trouble. breakfast was when you wanted it, not at a strict time like some B&Bs. Mackworth is so close to Derby, but you wouldn't know it is so quiet. Having breakfast on the lawn in the blazing sun (yes the sun does shine in the Summer) with friendly dogs and extremely unphased hens busying themselves around you just added to the relaxed atmosphere. A fantastic base to explore the Derbyshire Dales and the Peak District: looking forward to our next visit.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
Wow - Huge compliments for us. Thank you so much. We hope to welcome you back should you be here in the Midlands again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonrea...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good choice”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Absolutely fantastic place, the hosts were friendly and very efficient in meeting whatever your needs

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
Thank you so much. If you are ever this way again we'd look forward to welcoming you back here at Mackworth House Farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncrievi...
Perth, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely and peaceful”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I booked the upstairs room which had a separate small sitting area and a small kitchen. The bedroom was a really good size with comfortable bed. The sitting room had a big flat screen and SKY which was an added bonus. There was fresh milk in the fridge and an honesty tin for beer and bottles of wine, which was a nice touch. I didn't try the breakfast as I'm trying to lose weight. It is a short walking distance to quite a good restaurant , the Mundy Arms. Although it's next to a farm it was really peaceful and a really nice house with great hosts who would probably do anything to help you have an enjoyable stay.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Traveling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2017
Thank you so much for the feedback. This is a working dairy farm, but as you mention it a really peaceful place to be :-) I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here,many of our guests are repeating visitors - the breakfasts are quite substantial, so maybe you made the right choice :-)

Regards,


Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing