We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
31
5
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshair salonbeautiful rural locationat short noticeamethyst roomthatched cottagefull english breakfastone nightstayed herepamperingrobespropertyderbyshire
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 37 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2018

The place is in a rural area, very quiet but also well connected. The owners, specially Peter, were nice and helpful during the whole stay. Rooms very clean and spacious. Breakfast and dinners fantastic, no complicated dishes very well prepared. Peter asked every day what we would like to have. Thank you so much again!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rrios248321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Owner at Mackworth House Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

thank you so much.
we loved hosting you here.
kind regards,


Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Visited here this weekend. As soon as we arrived we felt like part of the family, Mark made us feel welcome, he couldn't do enough for us, full of local knowledge too, you were fantastic and made our stay perfect. Full English breakfast set us up for the day! This old farmhouse is set in a beautiful rural location yet only 5 mins from the main road. The farmhouse itself is basic, but enchanting, we had the amethyst room with use of a communal bathroom, this wasn't a problem and rooms were provided with dressing gowns. Our bedroom overlooked the front country garden with a thatched cottage across the road. Ample off road parking. We didn't want leave.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Owner at Mackworth House Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Thank you so much for a lovely review. Hope we can have you back here again someday :-)

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018

Well run and comfortable B&B. Quiet country position (occasional noises magnified at night). We would have preferred en suite but the shared facilities were fine - only two rooms sharing. Prices comparable with less characterful places in the town. Everyone friendly - even the dogs!
.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank msmyth258284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Owner at Mackworth House Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

thank you for your favourable review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Had afternoon tea with schoolfriends. Fabulous spread , lovely setting,glorious weather so sat out in the shade of the trees. Delightful company and lovely hosts. They even welcomed my friend’s dogs for the event.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Owner at Mackworth House Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Thank you :-)
Really pleased you had a great school reunion here. Always happy to oblige :-) Can't always promise the fabulous weather which you enjoyed on your visit but the food is usually guaranteed :-)


Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

We booked the apartment at the top of Mackworth House Farm and it met all our expectations. The rooms were light and airy, the bed extremely comfortable and the linen and towels clean and fresh, with an appropriately sized towel for all sizes of person! The provision of botanical shower gel, shampoo and body lotion together with a vanity set, shower cap and overhead shower gave a feeling of luxury absent from so many chain hotels. The attention to detail and kindness of the owners was unparalleled in our experience. We can also recommend eating at the property where the standard is way above that of the local hostelries.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carolball701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Owner at Mackworth House Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Thank You, Carol.
We are thrilled with your kind comments and review.
I hope, one day, we can welcome you back again :-)

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews