We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was just about adequate - room was dated and needed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Donington A50
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shardlow
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Hotel was just about adequate - room was dated and needed refurbishment. Shower didn't work properly. I certainly wouldn't pay £49.99 to stay at Days Inn in Donington. The quality of the food at the food outlet was extremely poor and expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 380 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Staff were pleasant, and my complaint is mainly to do with location of hotel incurring very substantial expenses in Taxi fares which I had not anticipated, as a/c to information provided,it was 3.5 miles from Airport !! I paid 40 pounds Sterling on Taxi Fares. Courtesy Bus would be an asset, Dining facility very poor with 2 choices advertised on already basis menu not available.


  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Anna-mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I booked online at Booking.com.

It asked what days I wanted to stay, I said 19th, as I was arriving at 3 in the morning. I booked a room for 3.

When I arrived I got given a double room. When I went to ask I was told that they had no room for me.
This is because despite me arriving on the morning of the 19th, I was not allowed to check in till the afternoon. This meant that I should have put down I was arriving on the 18th.

That's the problem! It was no longer the 18th, but I couldn't check in on the 19th. There was no day that I could have checked in on.

They ended up charging me more than what I paid for.

Everything that the night receptionist promised me was dismissed by the morning receptionist as well. So all the information we ha been told was wrong.

If I knew how much it would have cost I wouldn't have bothered going. I would have went elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Vivian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Good quality, clean & comfortable. Facilities more than adequate. Only criticism is the 11 mile distance to the Airport when the Hotel is advertised as the 'East Midlands Airport'. That's a £20 taxi ride! That said, at £36 it was excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Room 22. We weren't happy with the breakfast because the coffee maker wasn't working, and two additional slices of plain bread were .99p which we considered excessive so we didn't have any. We had already paid for our breakfast. We were not happy with the room because the fan in the bathroom wasn't working. The bathtub had dirty marks on the bottom. However, when we asked for an ice bucket and extra milks for the room, we were happily accommodated by the front desk attendants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a party of 21 staying at the Donington Days Inn.
All staff were so helpful and friendly they couldn't do enough for us. A lady called Viv on reception was amazing and looked after us from booking taxi's sorting our rooms and just being friendly and welcoming. The rooms were better than expected (a little dated but I've seen worse!) but most importantly they were all clean and a good nights sleep with no noise disturbance!!
Couldn't fault this hotel at all and I'm a picky person!! Cannot praise the staff enough.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Thank you to all the staff for a pleasant stay on the 8/2/14

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The hotel is well postioned for the main trunk road to Derby, it was a shame that I could not get breakfast as this was delayed due to a power cut which occured in the night, other than that the stay was very comfortable

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shardlow
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham EM Airport Donington Park M1
4.1 mi away
Best Western Nottingham Derby
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
453 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kegworth Hotel & Conference Centre
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Donington A50? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Donington A50

Address: A50 Westbound, Shardlow DE72 2WW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Shardlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shardlow
Price Range: $44 - $1,400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Donington A50 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free parking, a fully licensed bar, buffet breakfast and 24-hour reception, Days Inn Hotel Donington offers free Wi-Fi just off the A50 road. Rooms at Days Inn Donington feature private en-suite bathrooms, free Wi-Fi, and flat-screen TVs with Freeview. Some rooms also offer fridges, snacks, and bottled water. Located on the A50 at Shardlow, the M1 and M6 motorways are easily accessible from Days Hotel Donington. Donington Park Race Track in Castle Donington is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Donington A50 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Derbyshire
Derbyshire Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing